We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Lancaster hotels

Royal Kings Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Market Street, Lancaster LA1 1HP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
43%
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Lancaster
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Liz G Beverley, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (379)
  • Photos (54)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (95)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    110
    110
    73
    49
See reviews for
47
149
46
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Retirement is wonderful - a day course in Lancaster, then time to see the area before returning home. So day course duly enjoyed, then 3 nights in the Royal Kings Arms. As many have already said, an excellent location with super staff - special mention to the lovely Charleen who went out of her way to be helpful. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your comments following your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff and the accommodation everything you were looking for to make your stay an enjoyable one. More

Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We needed to be close to the Railway station to catch a steam excursion train so the location of this hotel was just perfect being only a few minutes walk away from the station and having free parking. The staff were great and helpful and check in was very smooth. The room we had, overlooking the car park was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your comments following your recent stay. We are all very exited about our pending refurbishment programme which is due to start within the next eight weeks as this will really help to improve the tired décor in the rooms. I am delighted to hear though that in spite of the Hotel's age you were... More

Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here recently with her parents and our two kids (age 3 and 7). We all loved it. We were using Lancaster as a base to get to the Tour de France in Yorkshire. The location is ideal, right in the centre of town, opposite a decent pub and a nice bar/restaurant, and just a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay and Thank you again for your lovely compliments for the team here at the Hotel. The staff work tirelessly to ensure guests can enjoy their time with us and it is nice for them to be able to receive positive feedback. I am thrilled to hear that your stay was... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son and I stayed as we were viewing Lancaster Uni. It's a short trip there by car and the central location of the hotel is excellent to look around a very nice and historical town. The hotel staff were excellent; helpful, friendly and very polite. The decor is slightly faded but it has a charm about it. The lift... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to note your comments. I thank you for your kind comments about the staff and the overall experience. We can only apologise for the noise disturbance but being city centre our location is sometimes as problematic as it is a great benefit. More

Herts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From a guest perspective, the hotel is an impressive historical building. There is parking available, albeit limited, which is a real bonus for a city hotel. Wifi was excellent. Service good. Clean. But despite the impressive building you can't help but be disappointed that the hotel is seriously dated. Probably last updated two or three decades ago and then on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your comments. I am delighted to hear that the staff shone through with the service we offer. You are correct to point out the age of the building and the décor but we are all very confident that the refurbishment works due to start in September will make a massive difference to the look... More

Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

pros: very central, easy walking distance from the train (about 7-8 mins walking without luggage), charming old fashioned lift. P Pleasing for any Dickens or Wilkie Collins fan as they stayed here. Lovely view from fourth floor over the town to the hills, spacious breakfast room. TV had good choice of stations. WiFi worked really well and was included in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for noting your comments. I am deeply sorry that you had issues with your room throughout your stay and I shall be meeting with the housekeeping team and the maintenance man to discuss your comments at length and see what we can do to rectify these issues as a matter of priority. We thank you for providing a... More

Coutts, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here May 25th-27th .Our room [3rd floor overlooking the City but no noise] was small but you have to consider that this was made so because of the en-suite. Remember that this is a very old hotel and there is not a lot you can do to it. The room was a little tired but it was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have a knowledge of the history of the property. If this Hotel could talk she would have some wonderful stories! I am sure when the new owners start their refurbishment they will be sympathetic to the age and history... More

Capel, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent the weekend at the hotel and found it charming-just how an English Hotel should be! It is true that there are some areas that could use some TLC, my room key fob being held together with staples, and the water from bathroom tap running back down the tap unless it was turned full on. However these were minor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for noting your comments. I am delighted to hear that despite some faults you found the Hotel to be everything you were looking for. The receptionists will be happy to hear your kind comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on a budget and didn't expect much. I wasn't disappointed! Not decorated since about WWII original elevator with wrought iron doors, so slow it made me take the stairs every time. Ridiculous parking. Rotting window frames in the rooms, paper-thin walls yada, yada, yada. I could go on complaining but it would only make me sound like I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your opinions following your recent stay. I am sorry that you felt our lift was slow, it is one of our original features and forms part of our listing. Many people have commented on it before and we have described it as our marmite lift, you either love it or hate it.... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel looked lovely from the outside, and the dining room was very nice, but I think our room on the fourth floor was the worst hotel room I have stayed in. Worn carpet, scuffed wallpaper, no hot water at the washbasin, towel rail falling off the wall, toilet moved every time you sat on it. Management cannot be held... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment following your stay. It is regrettable to me that the city centre noises kept you awake and we can only apologise for this, our location is one of our strongest points as well as placing us right in the heart of the centre which can lead to noise problems. I thank you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Royal Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 75 Market Street, Lancaster LA1 1HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lancaster

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Kings Arms stands in the shadow of Lancaster Castle in the heart of Lancaster, one of England's most historical cities. This attractive period hotel offers 55 en suite bedrooms providing guests with modern comforts expected from today's traveller. The Brasserie Restaurant and bar with its delightful Minstrel's Gallery, offers superb cuisine and excellent service, creating the perfect setting for a romantic dinner. If you wish to step out of the historic town of Lancaster, surrounding attractions include the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, both within half an hour drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
55

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer