We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Lancaster hotels

Royal Kings Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Market Street, Lancaster LA1 1HP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
46%
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Lancaster
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
KCP2013 Monterey, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (40)
  • Photos (20)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
16
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed one night when visiting the Uni. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable for a very reasonable price. Great central location and good breakfast. Stayed one night when visiting the Uni. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable for a very reasonable price. Great central location and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location - close to Lancaster train station, castle and easy access to M6. There are a few restaurants around. The rooms are very comfortable, but the furniture etc is worn out. And the lift is probably 50+ years old !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suva
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night but were made very welcome by friendly staff at reception, even though we checked in quite late at night. The budget rooms are small (It's an old hotel) but adequate with a good bathroom. Inclusive cooked breakfast was very traditional - if you don't like black pudding, opt for bacon and eggs! Overall good value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad to hear that despite the age of the property you still found the hotel to be value for money. More

Banstead Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleased to read elsewhere that this place is soon to be refurbished. (By my reckoning, it's first since VE day). The hotel is falling apart at the seams and only the helpful staff are its one redeeming feature. Avoid like the plague until the place gets its long overdue makeover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for noting your comments. I am deeply sorry to hear that you did not like the Hotel. Many people even before the refurbishment find the hotel to be full of character and suitable for their needs. It is regrettable to me that you did not find it so but we are happy that we can still satisfy many... More

Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Near the transtation . Walk 5 mins could find a supermarket and market street. Very convenient . The reception is nicely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for noting your comments. I am pleased to hear that you found our location in the heart of the city to be what you were looking for More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

on arriving in Lancaster we found the hotel by default as we got caught in the one way system not realising we had already gone past the entrance to the hotel car park so we parked in the road opposite where the castle is and walked to the hotel.on finding the car park later it is small so don't expect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling disappointed following your stay. We have always been honest about the condition of the hotel and we are now finally in the position where we can get really excited about the pending works to the hotel. Regrettably the hotel will... More

Hatfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights and in fairness to the Hotel they told in advance the lift was out of order, points to note when you reach your floor the landings are huge so they could be a bit of a walk to your room. One of us did have room 314, the cold tap did turn but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for noting your comments. Our refurbishment is due to start in September of this year and this is the first time that the Hotel have ever mentioned a refurbishment despite what the local people may have heard. We are delighted that our new owner has seen the full potential of the property and wishes not only to restore... More

Reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I only found out about the lack of non-functional bath tap before breakfast and when I went to mention it - reception was deserted. Taps don't get into that state overnight. A normal tap turns at least 360 degrees and not the 10 degrees that I could manage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to note your comments following your departure. I am sorry to hear that you found the bath tap stiff in your room. I can confirm that we have checked it and it does work but it is indeed stiff. We are confident that small issues like this will be resolved in the refurbishment. I... More

Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Retirement is wonderful - a day course in Lancaster, then time to see the area before returning home. So day course duly enjoyed, then 3 nights in the Royal Kings Arms. As many have already said, an excellent location with super staff - special mention to the lovely Charleen who went out of her way to be helpful. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your comments following your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff and the accommodation everything you were looking for to make your stay an enjoyable one. More

Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We needed to be close to the Railway station to catch a steam excursion train so the location of this hotel was just perfect being only a few minutes walk away from the station and having free parking. The staff were great and helpful and check in was very smooth. The room we had, overlooking the car park was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley S, Manager at Royal Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your comments following your recent stay. We are all very exited about our pending refurbishment programme which is due to start within the next eight weeks as this will really help to improve the tired décor in the rooms. I am delighted to hear though that in spite of the Hotel's age you were... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Royal Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 75 Market Street, Lancaster LA1 1HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lancaster

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lancaster with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Kings Arms stands in the shadow of Lancaster Castle in the heart of Lancaster, one of England's most historical cities. This attractive period hotel offers 55 en suite bedrooms providing guests with modern comforts expected from today's traveller. The Brasserie Restaurant and bar with its delightful Minstrel's Gallery, offers superb cuisine and excellent service, creating the perfect setting for a romantic dinner. If you wish to step out of the historic town of Lancaster, surrounding attractions include the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, both within half an hour drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
55

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Kings Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer