We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Kings Arms

Hotel website
75 Market Street, Lancaster LA1 1HP, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Kings Arms
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    59
    41
    22
    20
See reviews for
32
54
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Loved our stay here would come back.breakfast was fantastic it was good for parking had an ironing board and a iron in the room.tv.tea making stuff and very helpful staff loved our stay very very good 😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The most horrible hotel, with the most horrible service possible. Room was dirty, plugs not working, bed was horrible, stinks of damp and dirt everywhere.The night porter guy talks to you as you are a little kid, trying to scare you or something!!! They charge you for car park, but there is no space to park the car. We parked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah M, Public Relations Manager at Royal Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear Shahrzad66, I am sorry that you seem to have had an issue with our car park. We ensured there was a space for you to park your vehicle upon check-in. Later in the day, you left the car park and found there to be no space available upon your return. An alternative parking solution was suggested and a refund... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

Kidderminster
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I paid £53 for a single room. I arrived about 11pm so quite late and checked in. The room was pleasant enough. Location is close to centre so excellent for that. Only critical point is that I was next to the main road, which was a little noisy. There was the main window which closed (single pain) then a further... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on 22 nd aug ' could not fault it for price .old world charm .staff very helpful .perfect location .yes it has a few issues .but nothing a lick of paint and a bit of wallpaper paste couldnt fix .very pleasant .if you want a hotel thats pristine book s 5star and pay twice the price .would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location ,poor ambiance.there is not a better location in this lovely city but that is all this hotel has to offer .window sills crumbeling ,a sock covering a appliance in my room ,wallpaper coming away from the walls .awfull .the sort of place that could be wonderful but would need a shed full of money spent on it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I recently stayed at this hotel. The décor is a little tired but it is not too bad. The staff are all very friendly and helpful - especially the Spanish lady on reception (sorry I don't know your name), they cannot do enough for you. The room was basic but very clean and the shower was good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First up, let's get the flaws out of the way. The one that really annoyed me the most was that I had breakfast included in my room rate, but then come breakfast time I was informed cooked breakfast was a whopping £9.95 extra, with the continental breakfast (which I'd already started eating!) was £4.95. I later found out that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed here before on a few occasions and love the old charm of the place. Yes it is a bit dated but that is part of charm if you want all soulless chrome etc stay at Travelodge. Staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help. Bedroom was of good size and very clean. Breakfast overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a place of service from a bygone era, but the aesthetics of a semi-derelict building. From checking in you get a gut feeling that this is a hotel desperately hanging onto the 1930's. To be told the doors are locked at 11pm, and to ring a bell for the night porter later than this, not keeping you room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has some mixed reviews, but for the location and price, it is a very good deal. The decor is a little old fashioned and the rooms would benefit from an update, but they are perfectly adequete. The bar and restaurant are very nice and the staff are pleasant and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.2 mi away
Penny Street Bridge
Penny Street Bridge
#2 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster
Premier Inn Lancaster
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Borough Hotel
The Borough Hotel
#2 of 23 in Lancaster
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay