We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Lancaster hotels

Lancaster House

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Save Saved
You added Lancaster House to your Saves list
Lancaster House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
86%
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Josie R Lancashire, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (682)
  • Photos (97)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (154)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    198
    76
    18
    13
See reviews for
157
245
27
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Second time staying at this hotel. Nice relaxing place set in its own grounds just 10 mins from centre of Lancaster. Lovely rooms, pool and outside hot tub inside jacuzzi gym every thing you need, large comfy rooms with extra touches wine decanters ice machines on corridors. Food in both restaurant and bar scrumptious. As I said Lancaster 10 mins... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Thank you so much indeed for your very kind review following your recent stays with us. It's always wonderful to learn that guests keep coming back to see us and enjoy our hospitality. And thanks also for the tips on our location in proximity to Lancaster and Morecambe. I know the TA community always appreciate handy little pointers like that.... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The suites are fabulous, but need a good clean. There was dust on surfaces and the partition from bathroom to bedroom was filthy. The throw on the bed was marked. The other bedrooms were nice. The staff in the bar forgot about us and the meals were average in the bar. The lamb tagine was dried up and a small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Whilst it was pleasing to learn that you enjoyed certain aspects of your visit, I would like to apologise that there were shortfalls in a number of areas which I will of course look into and address immediately with my team. As I am... More

England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Another great stay at Lancaster House. This is now a regular first night stop-over whenever I travel to The Lakes. Comfortable rooms, outstanding service and food. This place and sister hotel The Midland at Morecambe keep drawing me back. They must be doing something right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Thank you so much indeed for the wonderful review following your return visit to Lancaster House. I'm delighted that you have enjoyed yet another stay with us and it's also great to hear that you've loved the Midland experience too. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to English Lakes Hotels again very soon. Kind... More

UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is the second visit we have made to this hotel and will now certainly be our preferred hotel for the annual European Christian Workshop at Lancaster University. The room is as ever clean and functional but perhaps could do with a bit of refit in the near future. a wonderfully comfortable bed. A nice touch is the welcoming plush... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your review following your recent return visit to Lancaster House. It was gratifying to learn that, overall you enjoyed your stay. We are awaiting a specialist part for the Ice Machine you noted which should be with us very soon. For the purpose of the TA community, I would like to add that there... More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel in lovely location. Main areas, restaurant, bar lounge all very nice. Bedroom ok - comfortable bed. Bathroom was tired - old shower, old bath. Bathroom wasn't clean - floor under sink was dirty, something had been spilt down vanity unit and not cleaned off. Towels had stains on them. Wifi was a frustration. Given code at check in but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was sorry to learn that there were a couple of issues which overshadowed what should have been a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. Rest assured, I have already addressed your housekeeping concerns with the team here and will ensure we don't have... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The service on arrival was smooth quick and professional, the room was the cleanest and most comfortable I have ever slept in, the bar was reasonably priced and the breakfast was the best I've ever had at a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Many thanks indeed for your glowing report following your recent stay with us. To be "the best hotel you've every stayed in" is high praise indeed. And I'm glad you pointed out our beds which we are very proud of here. A good night's sleep is of course the most fundamental service a hotel must provide its guests, therefore we... More

UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great food (breakfast - wow!). Good leisure facilities including a pool and gym. Nothing not to recommend it. The bathroom perhaps in need of a bit of updating and refresh but spotlessly clean and tidy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I was delighted you had a great stay and especially enjoyed our breakfast. It is the most important meal of the day of course, so we do try and ensure our guests are set up for the rest of the day with a "hearty brekkers" I hope we can tempt you back... More

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Lancaster house hotel as guests to a wedding. The room was a good size, clean and decorated to a good standard. As regular visitors to Lancaster this hotel is too far out of the city centre compared to the majority of the hotels. If you intend to spend a lot of time in town or do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review following your recent stay with us. I was glad to learn that, overall you enjoyed your visit. Our location is of course not "city centre" as you correctly pointed out, but we do see this as a plus, as its gives us the space, tranquillity and ease of parking that one often finds... More

Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are travelling and are looking for hotel, restaurant, gym & fitness facilities all in one spot then the Lancaster house is for you. We were travelling back to the continent from Scotland and stopped here for the night. It had everything we needed in one friendly and well maintained spot. Only complaints were that the rooms had no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review following your recent stop-over stay with us en-route back to the Continent. I was glad to learn that, overall you ejoyed your visit to Lancaster. I do hope we can tempt you back again if you're ever passing by and I am sure you will enjoy a much more efficient service in the restaurant next... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this very pleasant hotel looks a little like a motorway roadside lodge as you walk up to its entrance, but it is in fact full of character and warmth, once you are inside. For the second time we visited our son who is at Lancaster University over the summer (Masters) and found the staff once again friendly and welcoming. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review following your recent return stay with us. It was great to hear that you have been ejoying your visits to Lancaster and you especially loved the suites. I hope your son enjoyed his time in our historic city too, and who knows, maybe you will all be tempted back to our little corner... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lancaster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lancaster with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lancaster House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer