We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Solihull hotels

The St. John's Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Hotel amenities
The St. John's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The St. John's Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Solihull
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Sinclair0504 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    158
    153
    78
    62
See reviews for
54
128
25
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (527)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

St John's is located in the centre of Solihull a short walk from the shopping centre. The general fabric of the hotel is now looking jaded and dated. The rooms are set on long corridors accessed by small lift or winding staircases. One route to my room on the first floor required traversing 4 flights of stairs and multiple sets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent one night here on 24 October. I enjoyed my stay. Parking was easy and free, the hotel and my room was clean and adequate. Breakfast was very good and gluten free bread was provided, though disappointingly it was placed uncovered next to 'normal' bread. I have emailed the hotel to request in future that it's kept on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nightingalelin, Thank you for your email and for the useful feedback you have provided following your stay. The points you have raised are certainly valid and relevant to future coeliac guests staying with us and will be put into practice with immediate effect. We would like to thank you for taking the time to air your concerns and I... More

Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As part of the CPHVA conference a gala dinner was held at St John's Hotel in Solihull. I am so pleased I did not pay for my ticket as the event was dreadful. The venue was cold and despite complaining ended up leaving. A basic 3 course meal in which they ran out of the vegetarian starters. My pregnant colleague... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rebsi Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent attendance at a charity ball at the St Johns Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies due to the issues experienced during the gala dinner. I do regret how disappointed you were with the evening and this could not be resolved on the night. There were a hugh number of vegetarians... More

Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I attended a Gala Dinner on Wednesday night,5th of November with my colleagues at St.Johns Hotel?The room was freezing and despite us complaining about it it never warmed up! The food was not worth the ticket price of £50.Stale bread rolls were offered and a slap of pate with the smallest piece of bread was the choice of starter.They ran... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susanne P Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent attendance at a charity ball at the St Johns Hotel. I would like to apologies for the series of unfortunate events you encountered during the evening. Your feedback will be addressed accordingly and passed on to all members of the team involved. Once again may I take this opportunity... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed in here this week after visiting the nec I was greeted by what looked like a lovely hotel. The hotel itself was lovely. On the downside the corridors were very loud and found the noise levels from above loud too. Staff weren't the most helpful either! That said I found the rooms very clean, spacious and the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Willm95 I am certainly disappointed to hear your comments with reference to our staff and that noise was an inconvenience during your stay. Thank you for your feedback this is an important tool and will be addressed appropriately. I do hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Darren McGhee General Manager More

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The gym and spa facilities are really good, breakfast is fine, wifi works in the room which is ideal. However, the aircon is too noisy and impossible to switch it off. Altough there is a controller on the wall but i am pretty sure it is not linked to the unit.i did not get any sleep from the noise. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear boldee1 Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at the St Johns Hotel. I am most disappointed to hear your sleep was interrupted due to the noise from the cooling system in the room. I do apologise for this maintenance malfunction and that this was not rectified during you stay. On the second hand I’m please to read... More

Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When I first booked in after a 15 min wait to be served I then had to change rooms. I had booked a double room and was given a twin room. At breakfast in the morning the buffet style food was luke warm had to ask three times for tea from a flask also Luke warm and stewed. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy C Thank you for staying at the St Johns Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. In light of the comments you have made regarding your disappointment during your recent stay I would like to sincerely apologise. We do take all feedback very seriously and work tirelessly to ensure our customer service is to the... More

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled with my son to St. John's hotel very pleasant hotel good staff made to feel at home nothing was to much bother excellent breakfast with very helpful staff bar staff very attentive will be staying here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Damien F Thank you for your feedback I am delighted to read you have had such an enjoyable stay her at the St Johns Hotel. I will ensure the team is informed of the great feedback you have provided. I look forward to welcoming you back to the St John’s Hotel. Kind Regards, Darren McGhee General Manager More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel to celebrate my Birthday,we only stayed one night.The duty Manager Sam made us most welcome and showed us to the bar and the waiter came with two large glasses of Red wine on the house,which was most appreciated.This hotel is a few minutes walk From Solihull town Centre .Which has a lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patsyann357 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from you recent visit to the St Johns Hotel. Your kind feedback is greatly appreciated and it gives me great pleasure that your birthday was an enjoyable and memorable occasion which you chose to spend it at the St Johns. I will ensure that you kind comments are passed... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have just spent a very enjoyable 5-night B&B stay at this centrally located hotel in Solihull. It is a very short walk into Solihull town centre, where there is a very good range of shops including the excellent Touchwood indoor shopping centre, where John Lewis is a main attraction. The town centre also has a wide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peterdlloyd I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you for your feedback. In light of the comments you have made regarding your stay I am delighted to hear you have had an enjoyable stay and your experience has been a very positive one. I regret you felt you had to... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The St. John's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. John's Hotel

Address: 651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. John's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Johns Hotel

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay