We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Solihull hotels

The St. John's Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Hotel amenities
The St. John's Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The St. John's Hotel to your Saves list
46%
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Solihull
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Mark P
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    153
    145
    77
    60
See reviews for
53
123
24
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (507)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

great hotel for the £60 that we paid, clean and tidy, £8 was a bit steep for a glass of wine but hotels are all the same, all in all a decent stay,, cant really complain. reception was good, nice and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark P Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback after you recent visit to the St Johns Hotel. I am delighted to hear your stay was an enjoyable one. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Darren McGhee General Manager More

Lincolnshire, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As always this is a good value hotel overall. With such as big hotel there are are always going to be issues. This time on mu stay it has to be reception. While I and my friend managed to ter through reception without too big a trauma, it was obviously purely by luck. Before and after ourselves the queues were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scotty129 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The St Johns Hotel. We do value our repeat visitors to the hotel. I am most disappointed that we have fallen short on this occasion due to the reception desk. We recognise that a speedy and swift check in is an important part of the... More

UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here after friends party. Reservations are dealt centrally & it was quite a hassle so didn't expect much. Hotel not pretty from outside but quite nice inside. Rooms good size & clean. Breakfast was buffet & good choice but tea/coffee served to table & service was slow! Paid good rate for room so all worked out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Advisor37 Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the comments you have provided. It is with regret that we were unable to deliver our usual high standard of service in some areas of the hotel during your stay. I do apologise and thank you bringing this to our attention. I do hope to welcome you back... More

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a work conference. The conference facilities are fine although nothing special. The staff generally are also good with quick attentive service. The food was again edible but nothing special. It is pretty clear that the communal areas have been updated, but unfortunately the room that I stayed in had not. Everything worked so,no complaints,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard B Thank you for staying at the St Johns Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. I apologise your room did not meet up to your expectations during your recent stay at the hotel, and your disappointment in some of the facilities. You feedback is gratefully noted and is a crucial part of moving our... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Despite booking months in advance, and phoning 4 weeks before 4 of us were still bumped out to another hotel which pretty well spoilt our weekend. Also, they seem not very knowledgable about diabetes! I did explain I needed a fridge to keep my injection in they seemed unable to grasp the importance of this. My epi pen was left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minehead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

had just the one night here with work. The food in this hotel was outstanding - a really good selection. Nice bedrooms. staff were always eager to help and the hotel was really easy to find AND you are not charged to park there either. Would I stay there again - yes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SteveBevers Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us; I will ensure your kind comments are passed on to everyone involved. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Hotel. Your Sincerely Darren McGhee More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I should have read up on this before I got here, it has a very swish website but for me that is where the experience ended. Check in was OK, well it should be I was the only one checking in, but there was still some confusion over credit cards so still had a delay. The worst bit for me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard P In light of the comments you have made regarding your disappointment following your recent stay I would like to sincerely apologise. We do take all feedback very seriously and work tirelessly to ensure our customer service is to the highest standard. Your feedback is greatly appreciated I hope we have the opportunity at some point to show... More

Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overnight business stay - dead handy for centre of Solihull with plenty of parking and pleasant staff. My twin room was large, tidy and clean but the bathroom was a bit of a let down - broken/upraised floor tiles, no cold water from tap (stayed warm no matter how long you ran it. Bar was OK but as pricey as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear waspgunner Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is comforting to read some of the positive feedback you have kindly provided. I do apologise for some of the negative points raised. Your comments regarding your bathroom and your breakfast experience is disappointing to hear and will be addressed immediately by myself and my team. I hope to... More

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

well on return to my visit at the St Johns Hotel i was very disappointed. I came here around march time this year and was greeted by a well mannered young man receptionist. Who was possibly the best receptionist I've ever been greeted by. he told me everything i needed to know without a doubt. & even remembered my name... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katrina227 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The St Johns Hotel. We do value our repeat visitors to the hotel. I am most disappointed that we have fallen short on this occasion and that you did not experience the same level of high service you received on your last visit; we recognise... More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival, there was quite a queue to check in, a problem exacerbated by the fact that staff were keen to answer the many ringing phones behind the reception desk while leaving the customers in front of them to stand and wait. We even witnessed a staff member engaging with the next customer in line with a "can I help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SaIM007 Thank you for staying at our hotel and for the feedback you have provided. I am disappointed to learn that our offering did not meet your expectations of our hotel. There is certainly much effort devoted to achieving the highest of customer standards. I do sincerely apologies to you as we seem to fallen short in this instance.... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The St. John's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. John's Hotel

Address: 651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. John's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Johns Hotel

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay