We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The St. John's Hotel

651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Hotel amenities
The St. John's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Solihull
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
IantheWelshman Taunton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    186
    173
    91
    69
See reviews for
60
145
26
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (612)
  • Mar-May only
    (167)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (172)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for two days. The hotel has loads of parking and is easily reached off the motorway. The rooms are pretty std and a bit shabby! The staff were very friendly and courteous. The hotel has a small well equipped gym and the local area is safe and please to run in. The restaurant is Ok and has a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was shown to a room that smelt, had a mattress like corrugated metal and rubbish left on the floor by housekeeping - not impressed! After asking for a room change I was given a room with no smell and a larger, much more comfortable bed, very comfy actually. Many of the rooms here are past their best, whereas others... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in St. John's Hotel for a conference.The hotel seems quite inconsistent. The rooms seem a bit tired and standard but are fine for a place to rest your head. The power shower was brilliant but, as I said, it all seemed a bit inconsistent. The reception staff were lovely and friendly, as were the restaurant staff. Dinner was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed last week for 1 night for a business conference event - front of house rather nice, good first impressions and staff seemed good although service a little slow at the bar and in the restaurant for breakfast. Rooms were very tired, dated, broken and moving floor tiles in the bathroom, uneven floor boards under the carpet in the bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed over before flying off on holiday. Hotel was good, pool was a nice bonus but the main thing that stands out for me was the bed and the pillows were far and away the most comfortable I have ever used in a hotel, and I have stayed in a few! For this reason alone I will definitely use this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On their own website, the walking distance from the station to the hotel was given as a couple of minutes. I walk fast and made it in about 7 minutes - in the rain! The Reception staff when I arrived were not exactly warm and friendly. They told me I couldn't check in (I was early) because my room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sutton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the St John's Hotel for a conference last week. Standard room was barely adequate for one, so I'm glad my wife didn't join me. Nice to have a full-size bath, for once. Generally, facilities were limited and the breakfast buffet was poor. Staff excellent and friendly. Special mention to Jonathan on reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Solihull hotels

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here at the end of April for business. The location of the hotel is fine but I have to say that it is looking a bit tired, particularly the bedrooms. I tried to control the heating but it seemed to be permanently set to hot, I was unable to cool the room down which made it a rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lizm54 Thank you for staying at the st Johns Hotel I do apologise that certain areas of your stay fell short of our normal high standards of service. The comments received with be passed on to various heads of departments who will investigate the various points raised. Thank you for taking the time to highlight the various issues you... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here this week almost a year after my visit last year. I have known the St John's for years and used to stay in it years ago when an organisation I used to belong to used it as a base for their annual exhibition. I don't remember it being bad but after two visits I have to say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear familyivory, Thank you for reviewing your stay after your recent visit to the St Johns Hotel First and foremost I would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay and that we didn’t meet with your expectation during your two visits. I am pleased to hear some of the positive feedback provided which will certainly be... More 

Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two separate weeks on business. The first room I was allocated was a standard room miles from reception and the air con was broken, not switching off, leaving the room noisy and freezing cold in March! I therefore got upgraded to a bigger better room which was cosy and right near reception. This led to me booking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear K18UK, Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I am disappointed at your having to move rooms due to maintenance issues on your last say with us, but am glad we were able to provide a room better suited to your needs and closer to reception. I am glad you enjoyed our leisure facilities; the option... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay