We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Solihull hotels

The St. John's Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Hotel amenities
The St. John's Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The St. John's Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Solihull
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
RossAVFC Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    158
    155
    80
    62
See reviews for
54
129
25
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (533)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (170)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed last week at the St Johns Hotel for the first time. As a regular visitor to solihull & Birmingham on business I usually stay at IHG group hotels in the area (Crowne plaza NEC, Solihull Holiday inn etc) due to my Elite membership to their loyalty scheme, but as some colleagues were staying at the St John's and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fru_T_Bunn Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent stay at the St Johns Hotel. I would firstly like to send my sincere apologies for the lack of customer service you have experience during your stay, and the many areas we fell short of delivering our usual high standard of customer service. I would... More

Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We purchased the one night stay via TriVago and the price was competitive. On arrival the receptionist was very polite and helpful. The double room was a little dated but functional (the toilet only flushed when 'coerced' however) but the main issue was the existence of load of small flies in the room. They were in the windowsill, curtains and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RossAVFC Thank you for taking the time to highlight the experiences you encountered during your stay. I do sincerely apologise for the flies in your room this is certainly not acceptable and has been raised with the housekeeping department who investigated to find a few flies had appeared to have entered through an open window. I am most certainly... More

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a medical conference, there were approx 400 of us at the conference (not everyone stayed at the hotel though) and many of us with disabilities and in wheelchairs. The care of the staff was 2nd to none, they were helpful and kind and made my stay a pleasure. Not once... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear northover2014 I am delighted to hear such great feedback as a result of your recent stay at the hotel. I am so pleased the event you attended was such a success. The entire team at the St Johns worked tirelessly to ensure the conference ran as smoothly and effortlessly as possible. We hope to welcome you back in the... More

Newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed overnight Saturday 22nd November whilst attending a presentation and dinner at the hotel. and booked a superior double room. We were allocated room 246. This room was very tired with only one bedside lamp, a chipped bath, no matter how you set the thermostat only lukewarm water from the bath tap. The view from the window was of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diana M Thank you for staying at the st Johns Hotel. I am disappointed the superior room allocated did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. I apologise for the maintenance issues experienced and thank you for bringing this to our attention. The view is unfortunately out of our control however I do hope we are able... More

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room were clean and public areas modern and spacious. What let's the hotel down is the receptionist who can't smile or say good morning. In fact most of the staff look sullen and depressed .. If they could be more enthused it would benefit everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert D Thank you for taking the time to highlight the experiences you encountered during your stay. I would like to apologise for the welcome that you received on arrival. I reiterate that this is certainly not the first impression we aspire to provide to our guests. The matter will be investigated further and relevant training and procedures will... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Was a little apprehensive about staying after reading some less positive reviews, but on arrival car parking was easy, hotel staff were friendly and pleasant, and I was able to check in without hassle. Room was clean, well furnished and a good size considering the price. Couldn't really fault any aspect of the stay and I would book here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tarun N Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Darren McGhee General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

St John's is located in the centre of Solihull a short walk from the shopping centre. The general fabric of the hotel is now looking jaded and dated. The rooms are set on long corridors accessed by small lift or winding staircases. One route to my room on the first floor required traversing 4 flights of stairs and multiple sets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sinclair0504 Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent stay at St Johns Hotel First of all please except my sincere apologies for the maintenance and cleaning issues you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us as a business moving forward and is taken very seriously. We are always open... More

Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent one night here on 24 October. I enjoyed my stay. Parking was easy and free, the hotel and my room was clean and adequate. Breakfast was very good and gluten free bread was provided, though disappointingly it was placed uncovered next to 'normal' bread. I have emailed the hotel to request in future that it's kept on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nightingalelin, Thank you for your email and for the useful feedback you have provided following your stay. The points you have raised are certainly valid and relevant to future coeliac guests staying with us and will be put into practice with immediate effect. We would like to thank you for taking the time to air your concerns and I... More

Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As part of the CPHVA conference a gala dinner was held at St John's Hotel in Solihull. I am so pleased I did not pay for my ticket as the event was dreadful. The venue was cold and despite complaining ended up leaving. A basic 3 course meal in which they ran out of the vegetarian starters. My pregnant colleague... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rebsi Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent attendance at a charity ball at the St Johns Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies due to the issues experienced during the gala dinner. I do regret how disappointed you were with the evening and this could not be resolved on the night. There were a hugh number of vegetarians... More

Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I attended a Gala Dinner on Wednesday night,5th of November with my colleagues at St.Johns Hotel?The room was freezing and despite us complaining about it it never warmed up! The food was not worth the ticket price of £50.Stale bread rolls were offered and a slap of pate with the smallest piece of bread was the choice of starter.They ran... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susanne P Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent attendance at a charity ball at the St Johns Hotel. I would like to apologies for the series of unfortunate events you encountered during the evening. Your feedback will be addressed accordingly and passed on to all members of the team involved. Once again may I take this opportunity... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The St. John's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. John's Hotel

Address: 651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. John's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Johns Hotel

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay