We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Solihull hotels

The St. John's Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The St. John's Hotel to your Saves list
The St. John's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
46%
Ranked #20 of 21 hotels in Solihull
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Lisa F Templecombe, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (447)
  • Photos (44)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (90)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    133
    126
    64
    59
See reviews for
44
108
22
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Templecombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

At this hotel for a three day conference and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was extremely well managed to my mind. Very polite staff who went out of their way to make you feel welcome and always with a smile.. The food was first class, room clean and well stocked, plenty of parking and the added bonus of a spa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Contrary to negative reviews we spent 2 nights here for a conference and found the hotel greatly exceeded our expectations. The rooms were great, food sublime and hotel staff couldn't do enough for us - without fail they were exceptionally helpful, polite and friendly. A great choice for a conference venue!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have just spent three days at the conference centre and could not praise the efficiency of the staff enough.The rooms were spacious and very clean with lovely tolietries and water left every day.The facilities for a large or small conference were fantastic.Meals were excellent and as there were 200 of us,all food was fresh and piping hot.An Indian themed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Freezing and seedy rooms that look somewhat run down. With flies roving around to add to your joy! Overpriced. No answer to room service. I let reception ring for about 5-10 minutes before someone answered. When someone finally came up, although polite, could not help with the noise level and gave me an extra duvet to cope with how cold... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as part of a package for the British GP. Couldn't have been better. The staff are friendly and helpful. The place is clean and well maintained. Great food, and plenty of it. Ideally situated in the centre of Sollihul. Couldn't have asked for better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked two nights at St John's as we were going to see Dolly Parton at the NEC. Excellent location for NEC. We had a superior double room which was excellent. Evening meal was top quality...a wide range of choice of international foods carefully prepared and well presented. Excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly I must say the staff were all friendly and polite so no problems there the reception lobby and bar was lovely and from what I sore of the function rooms and restaurant looked great so a fantastic first impression. Unfortunately I think it has to be said the rooms need a significant overhaul. My room (which was requested as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited The St Johns in April, feel the need to write a review after seeing all the negatives!. We stopped on a 2 night break with dinner included on the first night and breakfast both mornings, could not fault a thing. Food was very well presented, good portions and wonderfully cooked. Staff were all very friendly and professional, enjoyed a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear holidaymaker398, I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to review the St Johns Hotel, Solihull following your stay. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy two nights in our hotel and do appreciate your honest and pleasant feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to The St Johns Hotel in the... More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in for one nightly only on a business trip. Room pretty basic. Had a checklist off the site I booked this off that my company supplied that they state is present in the hotel/ room etc but it was only about 70% accurate. View from room was abysmal and the hotel was very quiet. I would have thought as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night to meet up with family. Check in was simple. We were give a pass key for free wifi and directions to our room. We thought we could use the spa pool and gym before dinner but it's closed until 6pm every day so that was disappointing. Our room was a decent size with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nandm71, Thank you for your recent review of the St Johns Hotel, Solihull. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and am disappointed you were not able to enjoy the normal hours of the leisure club as there was essential repair work in progress during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The St. John's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The St. John's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. John's Hotel

Address: 651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. John's Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The St. John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Johns Hotel

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
180

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer