We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Solihull hotels

The St. John's Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Hotel amenities
The St. John's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The St. John's Hotel to your Saves list
45%
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Solihull
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Little_Rowse Nottingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    146
    141
    74
    59
See reviews for
52
118
23
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (490)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel for two nights because of work related purposes. I spent most of my time at the hotel as my boyfriend had to work different times to me. I spent time in the gym and the spa, that was wonderful! On the first night though the fire alarm went off 3 times within the space of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've just spent three days working and staying at the St John's Hotel and loved every minute of it. My room was well appointed, quiet, spacious, comfortable and with a huge bathroom. This was in the older part of the hotel and the plumbing was a little eccentric, but nothing that was a problem and the shower was just great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights after booking last minute in order to attend funeral. I got lost ( silly sat nav ) but a quick call to the hotel and I found it easily, brilliant location and easy parking on site. I had requested ground floor and was pleased to find I had been allocated a lovely standard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One night stay on business , room clean but a bit aged. Bar prices are high £4:60 for a pint. Informed breakfast started at six, when I got there this was wrong it's half past. Loads of parking space M42 short drive away. Loads of bars and restaurants nearby , football in most bars

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BMorriss Thank you for staying at the St Johns Hotel Solihull. I do apologise for the incorrect information that was communicated to you from the reception team, and the disappointment in some aspects of your recent stay. This will be passed on and discussed with my team I do hope this will not prevent you from returning in the... More

kenilworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at St. John's hotel after booking a superior room, sadly they had to change our room to a standard room due to a cold water problem in the superior room. The lady on the desk was very apologetic and told us they would have to downgrade our room she then told us we could have a complimentary dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pinkypetina Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologise that your preferred room type was unavailable due to an unforeseen maintenance issue however i am so please that your stay was such an enjoyable one, and your kind comments will be passed... More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival we were placed on the 3rd floor only to find the lifts were out of service and would remain so for several days but staff immediately responded to our request for a change. Full English breakfast buffet was very good, hit all the buttons for us and staff were very friendly and helpful, same for bar staff though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lyn61_11 Thank you for staying at the St Johns Hotel and for the feedback you have provided. I am delighted to read your stay was an enjoyable and comfortable one. The team will be informed of the great feedback you have provided. I would like to apologise that certain wines were not available during your stay. From time to... More

Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've reada few 'average' reviews or worse but trust me this facility is absolutely fine. I didn't use the bar or restaurant as Solihull has so much to offer, however, my stay was comfortable, quiet and fantastic value for money, including the airport parking deal. Clean rooms and beds with great linen, loevly bathrooms and fabulous public areas. On site... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear onetonyone I would like to thank you for choosing to stay here at the St John’s Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and have taken the time to write a review. Thank you for your positive feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very shortly. Kind Regards, Darren McGhee General Manager More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel earlier this week (it's September 2014) following a meeting with a colleague. The room was very clean and the bed incredibly comfortable. It was also good to be in a hotel that had aircon, but also had the option of having a window open! Dinner was great and the staff were efficient and friendly - as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernie F Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from you recent visit to the St John’s Hotel. I am delighted to hear some of the very positive feedback concerning your stay. I thank you and will ensure this will be passed on to the relevant teams. Your comments regarding our check in have been taken on... More

Romford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stayed here as my friend's wedding reception was happening here on the Bank Holiday Weekend. It's in a pretty drull area in Sutton Coldfield/ Solihull. Room was average and minimally presented and it was to be expected in the price I paid for it. Only plus here was the mini spa which has a gym, sauna, steam room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shamit P Thank you for reviewing your stay after your recent visit to the hotel. I do regret we did not meet with your expectation during your visit. The hotel is situated in Solihull which is a vibrant suburb boasting Touchwood shopping centre with John Lewis and house of Fraser. This is a great location for all the family... More

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel for one night and that was one night too long. Checking in, at the end of a looong day, took forever as there were only 3 people on reception (and only 2 could activate the room card) and there were several parties checking in at the same time. The place itself seems to have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nora C Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I can only apologise that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay with us. We always openly welcome constructive feedback from our guests regarding their experience of our hotel, whether positive or negative, as my management team find it to be an invaluable tool for catering for our... More

Do you own or manage The St. John's Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The St. John's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. John's Hotel

Address: 651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. John's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your The St. John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Johns Hotel

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The St. John's Hotel