We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Solihull hotels

The St. John's Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The St. John's Hotel to your Saves list
The St. John's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
45%
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Solihull
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
onetonyone Truro, United Kingdom
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    143
    140
    74
    59
See reviews for
52
116
23
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've reada few 'average' reviews or worse but trust me this facility is absolutely fine. I didn't use the bar or restaurant as Solihull has so much to offer, however, my stay was comfortable, quiet and fantastic value for money, including the airport parking deal. Clean rooms and beds with great linen, loevly bathrooms and fabulous public areas. On site... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel earlier this week (it's September 2014) following a meeting with a colleague. The room was very clean and the bed incredibly comfortable. It was also good to be in a hotel that had aircon, but also had the option of having a window open! Dinner was great and the staff were efficient and friendly - as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed here as my friend's wedding reception was happening here on the Bank Holiday Weekend. It's in a pretty drull area in Sutton Coldfield/ Solihull. Room was average and minimally presented and it was to be expected in the price I paid for it. Only plus here was the mini spa which has a gym, sauna, steam room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the hotel for one night and that was one night too long. Checking in, at the end of a looong day, took forever as there were only 3 people on reception (and only 2 could activate the room card) and there were several parties checking in at the same time. The place itself seems to have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel takes money as a pre-authorisation and it takes over a week with constant chasing to get the money reimbursed. The Complaints team bury their head in the sand and do not bother to respond to your feedback. Hotel restaurant and bar - extremely overpriced for what they serve. Receptionist rude and and offers no info about times of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for a week as part of a business trip. It was a comfortable stay - though there was only one person in the reception and had 6 or 7 people checking in at the same time. The breakfast was good and courteous staff. Also the decor was dated - so can't call it victorian, but just old. Otherwise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our group stayed at St John's 11th - 15th August, 2014, and having read reviews attributable to previous owners, we were indeed very pleasantly surprised. ALL of us were warmly welcomed, and all agreed that we thoroughly enjoyed the whole week. The quality and choice of food was excellent every day, (except 'supper' on 11th, - but that was just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for just one night as we had an early morning flight from Birmingham Airport. We booked a family room (456) which consisted of a king size bed with a sofa bed for my son .Check-in (and out) took seconds The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was spotless without a single mould stain and the shower was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Darryl George E Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your resent stay. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for bringing the sofa bed to my attention I do apologies for the uncomfortable nights sleep. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in... More

Nuneaton, warwickshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent 5 days at this hotel with my little grandson and my friend with her granddaughter. From the moment we walked until we left to come home we had a fantastic stay. It's brilliantly located near the town centre and touch wood centre..within walking distance. The staff are just amazing! They did everything to make our stay home from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked for a two nights stay last September 1st and decided to try their restaurant, Tempus. restaurant looks nice, well decorated so first perception is doesn't look cheap so food also might be good, not to say great since they charge 30 £ for a three meals course! Unfortunately the chef hasn't fill the gold standard service they say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NADEAU D, Thank you for your stay and for your comments. Our restaurant and Menu aims to cater to the varying tastes and pallets of all our guests and I apologise that on this occasion we were unable to do so. I am certainly disappointed you feel that the feedback you have provided is in any way discarded or... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The St. John's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The St. John's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. John's Hotel

Address: 651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. John's Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The St. John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Johns Hotel

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Solihull with
any amenities