We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Tewkesbury B&Bs / inns

The Bell Hotel

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Bell Hotel to your Saves list
The Bell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
69%
Ranked #5 of 14 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Happytravelllers Leicestershire
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    92
    53
    16
    4
See reviews for
21
145
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took advantage of an offer and we had a really good value for money weekend We asked for a quiet room and we were given the last room on the landing which was lovely and quiet Although small the room had everything you needed, shower room was a bit to small for comfort but the shower was powerful The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The Bell. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that staff service, friendliness and efficiency on top of the good food and excellent breakfast made your stay a great one. One by one we are re-painting the rooms, and should have this completed soon. I look forward... More

Cirencester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to a golden wedding do there this weekend and the food was fantastic we would eat there again no probs its very clean hotel and the nice staff are happy to help you and you are right next to the abbey and theres lots of parking

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The Bell. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the Golden Wedding function, last weekend. We don't often receive reviews on TripAdvisor from functions, so this was a delight have. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager More

Rushden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

3 night stay at the bell hotel, very efficient check in , warm welcome.large car park . wonderful location opposite the Abbey. Had dinner in restaurant each night, good service & excellent value .would stay at the Bell again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The Bell. I am delighted to read ow much you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again when you next visit us. Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager More

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights on a deal,room 6,first floor,at front,overlooking abbey and road.Room was not a bad size,clean but a little tired. the staff were lovely, always ready to help.the reception was not always manned, but this was because the staff were multi-tasking in the bar and restaurant. Old english inns food always good price and quality, especially breakfast. Had some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The Bell. I will share your comments with the team. Over the coming months all rooms with receive a 'sparkle' and we do have an on-going maintenance program to ensure that we keep The Bell looking its best. I'm sorry that you had some trouble parking on the 2nd night of your... More

Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived in the hotel we were greeted by smiling faces, good humour and courtesy.The checking in experience was easy and hassle free and everything was explained in detail.The room was small but comfortable and the en-suite bathroom was both spacious and well equipped including complimentary hand wash and lotion.A minor point is that the corridors and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of The Bell Hotel. It was a delight to read how much you enjoyed you recent stay with us. I will pass on all your comments to the team and your personal thanks to Ryan of course ! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel later in the... More

Herefordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I returned to The Bell after many years. We stopped off for a drink to break our journey on a Tuesday afternoon having fond memories of the hotel. What a disappointment... There was no one manning reception it was closed up. Whilst waiting to be served at the bar, the staff seemed more intent on chatting to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments following your visit to The bell on Tuesday afternoon. I am sorry that we did not met your expectations on this visit, however if you would like to contact me directly at the hotel I would be pleased to discuss your visit further. Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in Tewkesbury for a late evening meeting and booked a room at short notice. Having stayed here before I have a realistic expectation of what I will get. I was very pleasantly surpassed on this occasion, my expectations being exceeded. Amy, the receptionist that dealt with my booking, was very helpful and engaging as we discussed room availability.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for such a comprehensive and positive review of your recent stay. Reading it made me feel very proud of my team and it was lovely for you to have gone to the trouble of naming each one that you had contact with. You are so right, we're not a 5* hotel - but... More

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a double room for a family party as the hotel was recommended. The room itself was very small and basic. The bathroom had mildew on the ceiling and walls and could have done with a proper clean. The floorboard by the bathroom door was broken and had to warn my husband not to stand on it. The radiator... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The Bell. I do apologise that you found room 24 not to be of the standard expected. Maintenance and Housekeeping have rectified all the issues that you mentioned and the room is now of the high standard that I expect for all the rooms at The Bell. The issue regarding the toilet... More

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Bell Hotel is very well located in the town with a good car park and the rooms are great. However the service we found to be sadly lacking. Everything seemed to be an effort and we were not impressed with the food. I am surprised to read other reviews where they state that staff were warm and friendly. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Bell onto tripadvisor. I will be speaking to the team regarding your comments about the poor service that you received, as this is not the high standards that I expect from them and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not met your expectations.... More

Wymondham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here 6th/7th March. This hotel is a wonderful old building, the staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. The food was good too, my only gripe was that there was no smoked salmon for breakfast. I must thank Gary the maintenance man for being so prompt at trying to sort out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review following your stay at The Bell last weekend. I am delighted that both Gary ( my very handy husband!) and Anwen assisted you and sorted out your room problems so quickly. I will pass on your thanks to them both. We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Bell soon.... More

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: 52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.