We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Hotel

52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bell Hotel
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    131
    75
    28
    8
See reviews for
32
197
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (320)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed one night on way to Cornwall was impressed and will go back did ask about booking in on way home but was it was fully booked. We had evening meal in the restaurant and it was excellent, breakfast was good but service was slow but staff all very nice. Good real ale in the bar with live music on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerald W, Thank you for your review of The Bell. I am pleased that you found all aspects of your stay good, and you enjoyed the live music on Friday night. I do apologise for slower service during breakfast on Saturday morning, everyone came down for their breakfasts within 15 minutes of each other, which put the pressure on... More 

Guildford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Pros: location - near the weir and the abbey. The old part of the hotel is quaintly rustic. Good parking and friendly staff. Most even speak English. Has its own restaurant plus a selection of nearby restaurants if you want to get out. Reasonably priced. Plenty of parking for guests. Easy access to the motorways. Cons: creaky floor boards -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew H, Thank you for your review of The Bell hotel. It is always good to receive both positive and negative comments, that way I can put measures in place to put things right. So what have I done ? We have recently had a full bed and mattress audit so we can see what needs attention. I have... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my mother for a birthday break and we had a superb stay. I was a bit wary due to some poor reviews but needn't have worried as everything was lovely. The rooms were what you paid for- basic accommodation which was clean and comfortable and friendly helpful staff. The breakfast was delicious as was the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Motty69, Thank you for your review of The Bell, following your birthday break. I was delighted to read that you had a superb stay with us, and that the food and service was also great. I look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Creaky floorboards! What do you expect from a 17th century building? I have very acute hearing and was not aware of any ringing of the abbey bells. This was our first visit to the Bell and we found all of the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable and well tended by the housekeeping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peter m, Thank you for your lovely review of The Bell. I have shared this with all the staff, as they enjoy hearing when our guests have had a good experience here. I look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 2 nights in March. I found the room to be very basic and in bad need of updating. The staff were not rude, they were polite but i got the impression that they did not want want to be there. Car parking was full and i found the food adequate, if that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hopperNo2, Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I do apologise that we didn't met all your expectations during your visit. I do hope that this will not deter you from using Old English Inns again as several of our hotels have had more recent refurbishments than us. I have an on-going maintenance plan for all... More 

Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Tewkesbury is a lovely town and The Bell has a good position near the Abbey - we didn't notice the bells! The hotel is pleasant, has character and friendly, attentive service. The only disappointing issue were the very creaky floorboards immediately above our room and that of our friends - try and avoid rooms 14 and 27!The room itself was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GloucestershirePhil, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to The Bell. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and weren't disturbed by the Abbey bells. We are looking at ways to reduce the squeaky floors above room 14. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager More 

Malvern
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were meeting up with our son and his wife in Tewkesbury and looking for somewhere to have brunch at 11am on Mothering Sunday, Unfortunately, our first choice of the Abbey Tea rooms was closed as was the Church restaurant, so we decided to call in to the Bell Pub to see if they were doing food at that time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pencroft, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were not that pleased with your breakfasts. I wish you had mentioned this to me when I cleared your plates, as Manager I would have preferred to know whilst you were here, so that I could have tried to put things right and apologised to... More 

West Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went there last weekend (28/2 to 2/3) and we really enjoyed ourselves. Tewkesbury is a lovely place and the special deals you can get from Old English Inns through Saturday's Daily Mail made it even more inviting. (<£60 for 2 people for 2 nights B&B) The hotel is run very smoothly by a dedicated team of people for whom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear totters_2000, Thank you for your review of the hotel, following your recent stay. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing to my attention about the window in room 21, I have asked maintenance to look at this immediately. We too are about to become members of CAMRA, as we now rotate... More 

Leicester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 3rd short break at The Bell and it was not quite as good as the 2 earlier visits. This time we were here for 2 nights with family (5 adults altogether). We had 3 double rooms (3, 5 and 7) and, while 3 and 7 had lovely double size shower cubicles, room 5 had a bath with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lindiloo26, Thank you for your review of the The Bell. I have spoken to the staff on duty during breakfasts, and appears there was a small misunderstanding regarding how porridge can be eaten before a cooked breakfast. The waiter is not from England, but now he understands this can happen, he is prepared for the next time. I apologise... More 

NEWPORT WALES
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a stay at this olde worlde inn. Lovely charming pub the staff were very pleasant and helpful. A special mention for Ryan, who as the face of old English inns was a consummate professional. Service was excellent. The food is good "pub grub", however the breakfasts are excellent!! Being somewhat aficionados of Olde English Inns, having stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LLEWLLEW, Thank you for your review of The Bell, I have passed on your comments to Ryan, who was delighted to hear how much you appreciated his hard work. Maintenance to rooms continues, and it was great to hear you enjoyed your visit. Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question