We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Hotel

52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bell Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    147
    83
    31
    12
See reviews for
38
225
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (365)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
Manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A group of us almost took over the hotel for the weekend. We had a very good deal for bed and breakfast, and we had an evening meal there on the Friday. Breakfasts were copious and there was lots of choice. We all enjoyed our stay. Rooms varied: mine was in the older part of the building and had floors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here as part of a large group visit to Tewkesbury Abbey over a weekend for 3 nights. The bedroom and the food we ate in the restaurant on the first night were both excellent, and the hotel overall is quite good value. However: In our bathroom we had a shower head attachment with no holder and no shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here a number of times with work. Great place and fantastic value for money. Fantastic views and bang in the centre of Tewkesbury. Very nice bar. Breakfast was decent (veggie option being egg on toast etc). Definitely recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed overnight on the way home from Nottingham. Arrived just as Australia were all out for 60 runs and the bar was crowded. The staff were very welcoming. The rooms were spotless with clean crisp sheets. The Bell is dated 17th century and as such is not a square boring building but has lots of nooks and crannies even in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
doncaster
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the Bell Hotel for one night only to break our drive from Doncaster to Wales,,as Tewkesbury is a lovely old town and the hotel looked good we thought it would be an ideal stopover! How wrong we were. Approaching the hotel it looked great and full of character but alas that's were the wow factor ended! The reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at the bell on numerous occasions and have always enjoyed our stay. This time however one or two things were not up to standard. We were allocated room 7 the room was clean and up to expectations on that subject, but the bed had a double mattress on a king sized base. We found that the eye... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I ma sorry that you had a slightly disappointing stay. I have raised everything you have mentioned with the team, and this has been dealt with. I do look forward to welcoming you back to The Bell, please give me a call beforehand, and I will ensure that you get a larger room... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a last minute booking as my partner and myself were visiting family and weren't up for the long journey home the same day. Great offer online of £59 which included full breakfast a' la carte menu as well as a breakfast bar of pastries, cereals, juices, fruit and yogurts. A great selection for fussy eaters. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for letting us know. I have passed on your comments to the team, as it is these comments that show them how appreciated their hard work is. Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed here previuoslywe thought it would be a safe bet. Having checked in and found our room, we prefered a bath so got our room swopped with no problem. The room and hotel is now dated and in need of a refurb. We love these old places for their quirkyness but it needs redecorating. The service at breakfast also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations, the service that you received at breakfast was not up to our usual standards, and I have spoken to the team about this. We are constantly re decorating, and are slowly getting round to decorating the bathrooms in... More 

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Smiles and welcoming friendly staff. Lovely room adjacent to a quiet side street with a window which opened for fresh air. Much preferred to air con.The only disappointment was the breakfast. We didn't know the continental style breakfast finished at 10 and at 10.10 on the first day of a weekend they had run out if veggie sausages and no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank your for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the team provided excellent attentive service. I do apologise about the vegetarian sausages, we were let down on the previous days delivery, and had sold out of the stock that we had, and the local shop did not stock... More 

Shoreham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We stayed this weekend, we had eaten in the hotel a few years ago but booked to stay during a weekend to see my aunt, we arrived were given our key and went up to our room, well it was only ok, in need of a total redec, no shower screen on the bath, the bed was clean, the more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your room expectations were not quite met but I can assure you we have a maintenance plan put in place which we are working through to spruce up all the rooms. We are always happy to offer substitutes if you’re unhappy with certain items on the menu so I can only apologies... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
3.3 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Central
0.5 mi away
Tewkesbury Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
11.5 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay