We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
67 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RX, England
The Abbey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #5 of 13 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Eileen J London
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    25
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Abbey for two nights. It advertises itself as a budget hotel, and wasn't sure what to expect. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is looking tired and a bit tatty in places, but we found it to be very clean. Beds were comfortable, and the room was a reasonable size. Shower was good, plenty of hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was clean, although the sheets on the bed were really creased which made you think it hadn't been changed, but may have just not been ironed, but it was only for one night. This is a very old building and some of the floors have been laminated which unfortunately makes it very noisy. Also someone came in very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Not a good review for us. The laminated floor on the second floor was a mistake and is being put back to carpet in 2nd week August - so no more noise. Crinkled sheets - sorry should not have happened. Late night door banging - sorry - it is out of our control but fortunately very rare. More 

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed overnight on our way to Cornwall. We found the hotel stay a little disappointing. We were taken to our room which looked quite outdated. The bed was firm with only one pilow for each side of a double bed. It was a warm night and I tried to open the sash windows. They would not stay open. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

I am unable to identify the room from this review but whichever room it is there is no rot - wet or dry! Our bathrooms are small but adequate and we are quite happy with the cups we use. We offer low prices properly reflecting the accommodation we offer. I am sorry if this guest was disappointed but we are... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disappointed with this hotel . Although it was only an overnight stop you do expect a reasonable standard for a hotel virtually next to Tewkesbury's main attraction. Bathroom was poor , no where to hang towels or clothes when showering or washing The shower itself was very small & at 12 stone I had difficulty getting in & out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Point taken re hanging clothes in bathroom - hooks will be provided. Size of shower - can't do much about that - standard shower, standard fittings! All rooms continually being upgraded. We are a budget hotel as we state in all our on-line description - people seeking superior bedrooms should book elsewhere and pay accordingly. More 

Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for the night a little apprehensive because of the average TripAdvisor reviews, but we found the hotel to be fine. a little old, but clean, clean bathroom with large bath and good accessible carpark at the rear. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is across the road from the Abbey and well located. I would stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stourbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

decor a bit dated but otherwise a great place for a weekend.lovely comfy bed,excellent cooked breakfast,Salerno restaurant a must! only one niggle-mirrors too high for me i am only 5ft !! good location near river and abbey.Will definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lakenheath
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

will be staying again ! The value for money was excellent and the breakfast was very good. i also liked the fact that they use real keys rather than those ridiculous cards that often do not work ! i can recommend it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

On arrival we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room. Room was clean and comfortable ,tea and coffee available. Good choice of cereal at as well as cooked breakfast. excellent value for money ..our room overlooked the car park which was busy but we were able to park although one of the spaces was blocked due to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llandovery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

We stayed at The Abbey Hotel for 6 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was large, light, clean and comfortable and had a very nice en suite shower room. The breakfast was excellent, orange juice, a good choice of cereals, yoghurt, toast, beautifully cooked selection of bacon, eggs etc. etc. The staff are lovely and the owner very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015 via mobile

The hotel doesn't claim to be stunning. However, it is the inside that counts and the rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower worked well, the breakfast was excellent and the location perfect and central. Couldn't ask for anymore than that and all at a very reasonable price. I wouldn't hesitate to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Central
0.3 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tewkesbury Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club
4.0 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay