We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
67 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RX, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Abbey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 13 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
currybum Gloucester
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
24
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the Abbey for my Birthday, as I wanted a night out in Tewkesbury. The one nights stay with breakfast was less than I could pay for taxis if I went out in nearby Cheltenham or Gloucester. The Abbey is a old fashioned Hotel/B&B for sure, but we loved our room. It was 100% clean and fresh, with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a nice old hotel. Handy for motorway. Don't wake the owner after 10pm- he was very grumpy! I actually found it hard to sleep after he shouted at me. He did apologise the next day. There appears to be renovation in progress as there were random louvered doors standing in our room. The church bells were rather nice... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

All bad things come in threes and hopefully this is the third and last. Two facts wrong in this review it was 11 pm not 10 pm and I did not shout. I booked the family in at 10 pm and was woken near 11 pm by the lady who asked whether, instead of occupying 2 rooms, would it be... More 

Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I picked this hotel as an ideal base from which to explore Gloucestershire and the Cotswolds, and it turned out to be a good choice! The location really is great, directly opposite the beautiful row of old buildings which incorporate the John Moore Museum (which was on our itinerary) and the Abbey just beyond that row. Our welcome was warm,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The building and walls are substantial (constructed 350 years ago!) but we made the mistake of laying wood laminate flooring in some areas on the second floor which has had a disproportionate effect on noise. The laminate is being taken out, floorboards taken up and replaced and carpet fitted. This should solve the problem. Similarly... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed with my husband for 2 nights.We were very disappointed. The room requires renovation. The bed needs repair.It was very noisy, because the Church was opposite the hotel and the bell was rung even at night. We couldn't sleep. Breakfast was normal. The room had no hair dryer and dust everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

We have no broken beds, we have no dust in rooms and no couple has stayed for two nights in any front room of the this hotel this year apart from the couple who reviewed us on the 13th. We also see that this reviewer lives in TEWKESBURY!! We do not believe that this review is genuine. More 

Corby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Abbey Hotel as part of our weekend geataway for Valentine's day to the Gloucestershire area. We have arrived on Saturday at 1pm and have checked in, we were showed to our room which was on the first floor. The room was clean and tidy, very basic, however I was glad that it was warm. The furniture was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Hairdryers - fixed squeaky floors - carpenter to fix over next 3 weeks car park - from previous review - car park to be expanded over next 4 weeks (was planned anyway) They are not mirrors over the bed! were reading lights - back to reading lights soon. furniture due for upgrade next 6 weeks anyway. yes we do read... More 

london
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived on valentines day to be told that the shower in our room was broken. Luckily we were with our daughter and so could use hers on the floor above. After reading other reviews and the write up from the hotel we were rather disappointed to be told that breakfast was only between 730am and 9am on a Sunday. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

car park is being expanded. The shower was working all the time - sorry. breakfast times - we did offer later if needed More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On leaving was asked to pay and told it had not been paid whereas I thought it had. On querying this and handing over my credit card I was greeting with a torrent of verbal abuse including 'F' words. The hotel is like the owner ... tired and passed it!! Bed uncomfortable, high noise levels from traffic and continuous church... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

I get on very well with 99.9999% of people - honest! See previous reviews. There are only so many ways you can tell a person that he did not pay after he had given his credit card details when he booked online. I am fairly well read and have a good vocabulary but after several minutes of explanation and rebuttal... More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Where else can you get such a large room, a freshly cooked breakfast and such hospitable hosts as Brian and Norma for under 50 quid. We will definitely return next time we ate in the area. This is a great place to use as a base.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Warm welcome, beautifully set out rooms and very homely. Very much enjoyed The Abbey Hotel and will definitely be coming back when in the area. Lovely set out ensuite and cannot believe it hasn't got at least 3 star status. Thanks for a lovely nights sleep and being made to feel welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Stayed for 1 evening on Thursday 11th dec.. was dealt with straight away an was given a lovely room with double bed.the room was nice and warm ..hotel in great position right in centre of town with parking onsite.. was asked what time I would like my breakfast!! although the room was on the front I had no problems with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: 67 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay