We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
67 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RX, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Abbey Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    27
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
39
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is centred metres away from the beautiful Abbey in Tewkesbury and offers parking. It is good value for money and the breakfasts are good. The interiors need updating and cleaning more thoroughly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Comber
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the Abbey Hotel for a week recently and would thoroughly recommend it. The property advertises itself as a no frills type place so my expectations weren't high. I was therefore delighted with my room - good size comfortable bed and plenty of hanging and storage space. The separate shower room was also very spacious. Everywhere was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This lovely little hotel is situated just a litttle stroll from the main shops and across the road from teh wonderful Abbey. The room we had was on the second floor and we were told it was a smaller budget. Well it was more than enough room for the bed, two comfy chairs by the window, a dressing table and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stays at the Abbey Hotel have always been good. This time we had a front room on the first floor and it was as good as all the other rooms. The price is higher for a a Saturday night but that is understandable considering the central situation and the popularity of weekend accommodation. The room was lovely clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Langho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For a one night stay, budget, no frills, it was fine. The price was very reasonable for what you get. The building is old and therefore quirky with uneven floors. The room was fine for a budget hotel with everything that was needed. Basic, but then you are paying budget prices. Bed comfy, sheets etc clean. Room clean with just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at the Abbey for two nights. It advertises itself as a budget hotel, and wasn't sure what to expect. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is looking tired and a bit tatty in places, but we found it to be very clean. Beds were comfortable, and the room was a reasonable size. Shower was good, plenty of hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

The room was clean, although the sheets on the bed were really creased which made you think it hadn't been changed, but may have just not been ironed, but it was only for one night. This is a very old building and some of the floors have been laminated which unfortunately makes it very noisy. Also someone came in very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Not a good review for us. The laminated floor on the second floor was a mistake and is being put back to carpet in 2nd week August - so no more noise. Crinkled sheets - sorry should not have happened. Late night door banging - sorry - it is out of our control but fortunately very rare. More 

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We stayed overnight on our way to Cornwall. We found the hotel stay a little disappointing. We were taken to our room which looked quite outdated. The bed was firm with only one pilow for each side of a double bed. It was a warm night and I tried to open the sash windows. They would not stay open. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

I am unable to identify the room from this review but whichever room it is there is no rot - wet or dry! Our bathrooms are small but adequate and we are quite happy with the cups we use. We offer low prices properly reflecting the accommodation we offer. I am sorry if this guest was disappointed but we are... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Very disappointed with this hotel . Although it was only an overnight stop you do expect a reasonable standard for a hotel virtually next to Tewkesbury's main attraction. Bathroom was poor , no where to hang towels or clothes when showering or washing The shower itself was very small & at 12 stone I had difficulty getting in & out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian S, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Point taken re hanging clothes in bathroom - hooks will be provided. Size of shower - can't do much about that - standard shower, standard fittings! All rooms continually being upgraded. We are a budget hotel as we state in all our on-line description - people seeking superior bedrooms should book elsewhere and pay accordingly. More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We stayed here for the night a little apprehensive because of the average TripAdvisor reviews, but we found the hotel to be fine. a little old, but clean, clean bathroom with large bath and good accessible carpark at the rear. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is across the road from the Abbey and well located. I would stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
3.3 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Central
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tewkesbury Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club
8.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#2 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay