We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakwood House Hotel

4.0 of 5 Oakwood Park, Maidstone ME16 8AE, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oakwood House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
23
45
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Sister and her now Husband had their wedding reception at this hotel. I stayed here for two nights, once the night before the wedding with my Sister and the following night with my partner after the reception. The wedding was absolutely perfect and the staff couldn't do enough for us. On the morning of the wedding breakfast was brought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HelenFKTerry Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your sister's wedding with us. I have already passed on your comments to the team. Complimentary reviews such as yours are always motivating for the team as it shows their efforts have been appreciated. We all wish your sister and her husband a long and happy future... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great find, clean accommodation with friendly staff, and excellent food, three of us had three different main courses for dinner, which were delicious and well presented. The breakfast was first rate. Am looking forward to a return trip in May. We went for one night having been invited to a party in the area and in future would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bridget O Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I was delighted to read your feedback. I will ensure your review is passed on to all of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in May. Kind regards Paul More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm currently working in Maidstone on a contract and found Oakwood via a booking website. At £45 b&b it looked good value and I wasn't disappointed. Although finding the place in the dark was a challenge depending on what entrance you use to access the campus. There are educational establishments on what I can only describe as a campus but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan R Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back this week. If you do get the chance please do ask for me. Kind regards Paul More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and 15 friends and family attended the NYE Ball. Amazing night! Great food, accommodation, and entertainment and the staff are really friendly and helpful. A wonderful evening! This is our second year and hope to be back for a third!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela P Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your attendance at our New Years Eve party. I was delighted to read that you all had a great time and rest assured we are already working on NYE 2015. We will have details out by the end of March. Kind regards Paul More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not really a hotel; an old Council property where rooms are now let out. It took 10 minutes to find the room because the normal route is blocked; a suite of rooms are let to Social Services and that corridor is locked 9 to 5 Monday to Friday. I had to ask three members of staff how to get to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hbinfopeter Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. Naturally I was disappointed to read your comments given you had not taken the time to speak to anyone here prior to leaving your review. Please let me confirm it is definitely a hotel converted from a Victorian House, not "Old Council Offices" as... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The entire evening was fantastic from drinks on arrival, the ballroom decorations looked fantastic. The cabaret during the meal was excellent and the food was delicious well cooked and presented with very large portions to much for most to finish! The disco that followed had every one up and dancing all night through to 2pm. There were 10 of us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna K Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your attendance at our New Year's Eve party. I was delighted to read your comments and will ensure your feedback is passed on to the team here. It is feedback such as yours which acts as a great motivator and shows the team they are doing... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As we live within walking distance of the hotel 7 of us decided to book the Christmas Day lunch. All in all this very good, lovely room and tables all very Christmassy, Starter and dessert were excellent, the only minor criticism was the carvery, the vegetable selection was very poor, only sprouts (which were like bullets) and a mixture of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear roche15 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your Christmas Day lunch with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your experience with us. I am sorry you found the vegetable selection poor as along with the sprouts we had roasted parsnips and our section of root vegetables you mentioned containing carrots, swede and... More 

kent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is lost within the campus. We & other members of our group failed to see clear directions for the hotel & had to retrace our steps to find it. The reception area lacks character but the staff are polite & pleasant. The route to the room was strange, through an office like corridor. We were in room 22,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sue473 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your stay and attendance at our party night. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your overall experience and your positive comments regarding the staff here. I will pick up the comments you raised regarding your bedroom and the vegetables with the team to ensure this is... More 

Kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Nice hotel and staff helpful, but bar meals overpriced and not good. £6.95 for a small jacket potatoes with a couple of dessert spoons of tuna - no butter and a bit of lettuce thrown on for good luck!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dalyanian Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House. Please accept my sincere apologies that the Jacket Potato you purchased was not to your satisfaction. If you had have spoken to member of staff we would have more than happily exchanged or replaced the meal for you. We work with a number of local Kentish suppliers to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Had a family pre christmas meal at Oakwood. On arrival the receptionist Rachel was excellent. There were 18 of us arriving. Complete with babies and all the bits that entails. We had the Library booked and it was nice to have the toddlers running around without someone falling over them. Breakfast was great continuous hot food. Rooms clean and comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dymchurchsue Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your Family Christmas gathering and staying with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and will ensure your feedback is passed on to the team, especially Rachel, Eve and Georgie who you mentioned specifically. We all hope to see you again in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oakwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood House Hotel

Address: Oakwood Park, Maidstone ME16 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood House Hotel Maidstone, Kent
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maidstone

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay