We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Maidstone hotels

Oakwood House Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oakwood Park, Maidstone ME16 8AE, England
Hotel amenities
Oakwood House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oakwood House Hotel to your Saves list
54%
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
cambridgedave1 cambridge, uk
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
20
40
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
semington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was booked for me for one night as I had business in Maidstone. Arriving after a long drive at 9.20 in the evening I was told that food finished at 9.00. Later I noted that a notice on a wall inviting people to share the new menu stated that food was served to 0.30. The room was paid for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Are you an hotel or an office block? Stayed here for a weekend Wedding and like a previous reviewer has said, to get to our rooms we were ushered through offices, classrooms and locker hall ways. The room was musky as well as tiny ( don't bring a cat). The room my daughter, husband and two young children were given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cambridge, uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Strange place, set in middle of multiple education establishments with poor approach. Rooms were okay but whole place geared up for conferences. If I was at a conference, I'd probably give a reasonable review but it was poor for a weekend break. Breakfast was nice but coffee lukewarm. Wedding on in the evening so very noisy and didn't want to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cambridgedave1 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations. As you have noted we are a multi-purpose Victorian house which have had developments built around us. Having said this we strive to ensure that all of our guests have a great... More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A last-minute booking for an overnight stay in Maidstone to catch up with family in an area we do not know very well abd we found this.gem. it us used as a venue for corporate events and weddings and the building is impressive. The interior has been tastefully modernised with large rooms for events, but the bars and restaurant suited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue F Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I was delighted to read your comments. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team as feedback such as yours are always motivating for the team and it shows their efforts have been appreciated. We hope to welcome you back... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

As with all reviews I always try to be fair. We booked this hotel to visit family in the area and the location of the hotel was near to the town centre which was good. The inside of the hotel is nice. However, we booked as the pictures looked very nice. When we got to the hotel, and checked in,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clairealis Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and will be picking up the cleaning comments with my housekeeping team as we do regularly service our curtains and carpets. You are right that by todays modern standards our rooms are on... More

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Oakwood House, It's fair to say that the fascia of this building is lovely. It displays a level of heritage that would under general circumstances fill you with history and atmosphere befitting a building of its age. The staff in the breakfast room were happy, smiling and clearly welcoming. The access to the car park was good and bar area,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nab1976 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. As you have noted Oakwood House is a multi purpose building being able to boast some of the largest meeting rooms in Maidstone and Kent. I am sure you will understand that it is difficult to change the design and features of a Victorian... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Don't be fooled by the photos implying a country house in acres of grounds, it simply isn't the case - what you have is a lovely old building that is situated in a building site comprising office buildings, a college and some vague outbuildings, countryside it ain't. Also beware the wedding parties, should be obvious I know but watch out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen R Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. We have spent a lot of time over the last 18 months ensuring that all of our pictures and information provide a true reflection of the House and grounds, none of... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I can't thank u guys enough Melanie and Sam was excellent can't thank them enough for making our wedding reception so special lovely venue and such lovely staff our honeymoon suite was excellent and nothing was to much trouble even helping a guest turn up late getting them a meal and sorting out a place. Would recommend you to anyone.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs_rigelsford Thank you for your kind words following your wedding last weekend. I will ensure your comments are passed on to Mel and Sam along with the rest of the team. It was a pleasure to have been part of your special day and we all wish you both a long and happy future. Kind regards Paul More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked some months ago for a two night stay as our neice was having her wedding at this hotel. Reception is good, attentative well informed and helpful. The long trapse to our smallish room in the new wing is quite crazy. Along corridors, through a bar , through a dining room, then another lobby and stairs to another corridor.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear braithwaite12 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our reception team, unfortunately I am sure you will understand that with the best intentions we are unable to change the way the house was built. Our bedrooms are small compared to the modern standards of... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

A good hotel let down by the amateur management. The rooms were hot, no aircon and unable to open the windows more than a couple of inches.(Locking catches.) Noise from Wedding Parties and Proms went on to the early hours, open window-noise, shut window-stiflingly. The rooms were serviced occasionally, ie twice during our stay,make your own bed etc. I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peter7628 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House. I was disappointed to read your comments as I had not received any feedback to highlight your concerns from the management or reception team? We have worked hard over the last 18 months to ensure that we provide a high standard of product and service to all of... More

Do you own or manage Oakwood House Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oakwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood House Hotel

Address: Oakwood Park, Maidstone ME16 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oakwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood House Hotel Maidstone, Kent

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Oakwood House Hotel

Enlarge Map