We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakwood House Hotel

4.0 of 5 Oakwood Park, Maidstone ME16 8AE, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakwood House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
20
44
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for friends wedding reception & firstly i would say we couldnt fault the room & food as a wedding venue. The hotel is Travelodge quality, adequate but probably overpriced at £75 and there were complaints about the cleanliness of rooms although ours was ok. Followed directions to our room & ended up walking past the council offices which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had my wedding reception here in November 2014. From the outset the staff listened to our requirements and rather than give us a wedding package which we didn't want they gave us exactly what we asked for. That was a less formal evening reception with hot buffet for all our friends and family. The organisation was fantastic and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 9Jacquie Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your wedding reception with us. Thank you for your kind words, all of the team involved were delighted to have been part of your special day. It is comments such as yours which act as a great motivator for the team, as it tells them they are... More

Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed here for a family wedding and the space for the reception was ideal, with enough space to hold normal conversation with the disco at the other end. The staff were pleasant, well presented, and helpful throughout our stay. On a less positive note, the signage was lacking and it took a while to find our room. When we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Golbourn87 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding our function space and staff. I am sorry that you encountered issues both getting to and the cleanliness of your room. We have recently spent a significant amount of money upgrading our signage to the bedrooms. I... More

Whitley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This was booked by our company for us on business In Maidstone. Like others have already said, very strange, is it a hotel or residential conference centre in a school. The room was very nice actually and quite modern, free wifi that worked as long as you near the corridor and not in bed. Strange looking for your room whilst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tonyandmandy Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. As you have noted we are a multi-purpose venue which has been adapted on the original layout of the house. Our first floor of the main building does have a lot of meeting rooms in place. We do have plans to update these areas... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

What a nice surprise for a 3 star Hotel. Right from the start Lily was first contact on the phone and was so helpful and efficient. Soon as we arrived all star were brilliant in all areas. Food was very good and reasonably priced. The price incredible for what you get and would definitely recommend this Hotel. Thank you for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Judy D Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I was delighted to read your comments and have passed them on to all of the team including Lily. We all hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Paul More

Oakham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We were initially put off on the apprach by the odd mix of school, building work and council offices on the site. The hotel itself was lovely and the staff very helpful and welcoming. Room was OK but no air con. The food was exceptional - from breakfast to dinner right through to catering on a large scale for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fi0nac Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. Thank you for your kind words which I have passed on to all of the team involved. It is feedback such as yours which acts as a great motivator and shows the team that they are doing a great job. We look forward to... More

semington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This was booked for me for one night as I had business in Maidstone. Arriving after a long drive at 9.20 in the evening I was told that food finished at 9.00. Later I noted that a notice on a wall inviting people to share the new menu stated that food was served to 0.30. The room was paid for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear horse1semington Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the poor levels of service which you have described. Please rest assured this is not typical of the levels of service to which we aspire. I have completed a full investigation in to your comments and can confirm our... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Are you an hotel or an office block? Stayed here for a weekend Wedding and like a previous reviewer has said, to get to our rooms we were ushered through offices, classrooms and locker hall ways. The room was musky as well as tiny ( don't bring a cat). The room my daughter, husband and two young children were given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lordkb Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. It was extremely disappointing to read your review and experience you described, even more so as this was the first we knew of your issues? Oakwood House is a multi purpose venue with a number of rooms which suit every requirement. We have acknowledged... More

cambridge, uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Strange place, set in middle of multiple education establishments with poor approach. Rooms were okay but whole place geared up for conferences. If I was at a conference, I'd probably give a reasonable review but it was poor for a weekend break. Breakfast was nice but coffee lukewarm. Wedding on in the evening so very noisy and didn't want to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cambridgedave1 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations. As you have noted we are a multi-purpose Victorian house which have had developments built around us. Having said this we strive to ensure that all of our guests have a great... More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

A last-minute booking for an overnight stay in Maidstone to catch up with family in an area we do not know very well abd we found this.gem. it us used as a venue for corporate events and weddings and the building is impressive. The interior has been tastefully modernised with large rooms for events, but the bars and restaurant suited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue F Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I was delighted to read your comments. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team as feedback such as yours are always motivating for the team and it shows their efforts have been appreciated. We hope to welcome you back... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oakwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood House Hotel

Address: Oakwood Park, Maidstone ME16 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oakwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood House Hotel Maidstone, Kent

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay