We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakwood House Hotel

Hotel website
Oakwood Park, Maidstone ME16 8AE, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakwood House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    60
    50
    17
    11
See reviews for
28
62
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We attended the hotel to celebrate our Niece's wedding. We also had overnight accommodation. I must say that the whole experience was brilliant both wedding and overnight stay. The food could not be faulted and also the staff went over and above what is expected of them. I would never hesitate booking this venue for a function.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid £67 for 2 adults and 1 child including breakfast. The room was a bit small but was clean- good wifi- nice shower. Breakfast was good- the staff were all very friendly. Wouldn't want to stay for more than a night or two but overall good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel due to it being close to a wedding I was going to with my partner. At the time of making the booking on the phone they confirmed that I could have early check in so I could get ready for the wedding at the hotel. I then confirmed this the week before with them where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annabelle H Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I was disappointed to read your comments, however would question some of your content as we never guarantee/promise early arrivals. We would love to be able to do so but as you stated check out is 11am and our housekeeping team need the appropriate time to ensure your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Maidstone hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
428 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely period house situated in parkland, spoilt in our opinion by the modern unsightly educational buildings now built around it! The room was good and breakfast self service and very extensive. Overcharged at check in but corrected quickly, then told at check out we owed a sum, the amount they had overcharged us in the first place! Soon corrected but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EveningEater Thank you for taking the time to place your review following your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that you experienced an error with your bill, however I was glad to read we rectified it quickly. I am sure you will understand that we have little influence over the buildings which are around us, however our aim once... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An interesting place. Great bedrooms newly refurbished with good furnishing, nice linen and a great shower The breakfast was great. Beautifully cooked, plently of it. Lovely rolls, croissant pastries and a large selection of cold meats The major rooms and bar have been refurbished and are very comfortable, modern and functional. It's a real bargain at under £70. Great wedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kay1253 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and will ensure your comments are passed on to the team. I was sorry to read you found the grounds not clean and that your room had not been vacuumed. Please rest assured... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights when visiting family. It's ok for somewhere to get you head down. The place is like a maze, be prepared to walk. Came to the conclusion it was part of a college or conference centre as a lot a training room. Breakfast ok, husband said the sausages were nice. The beds were tiny. I am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jules1689 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team. Kind regards Paul More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This isn't really a hotel, it's a conference centre created from a country house that was turned into council offices in the middle of a building site for more academic facilities. Yes, you walk past the offices of the adoption service for Kent to get to your room and local taxi drivers are unable to find a way to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iolopj It is really disappointing to read reviews such as yours especially when you choose not to mention anything to any of the team here? Oakwood House is a Victorian House, Hotel and Conference and Events centre with a you described "well appointed" rooms which yes are small compared with todays modern standards. The offices you describe are in... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had our wedding here in May 2015, stayed for two nights as did many of our guests. It is a lovely building with beautiful grounds. We stayed in a family room on our first night which had two rooms with a connecting door, the rooms were nice and clean and comfortable. On our wedding night we had the suite which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert E Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your wedding here. I was delighted to read your comments and will ensure they are passed on to all of the team to read, especially Debbie, Allison, Harriett and Kyle who you mentioned specifically. I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Stayed for 4 nights. Excellent choice. Can fully recommend this hotel for any couple who want to visit Maidstone. The full English or Continental Breakfast was included in the price. The staff were friendly and pleasant. and would like thank them for their hospitality, Will certainly stay again when visiting Maidstone again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clive20152015 Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and will ensure your comments are passed on to the team to read. Comments such as yours act as a great motivator as it tells the team they are doing a great job.... More 

Ratingen, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The Hotel is an ex large Manor House specialised in Events. A new wing which fits in the rest of the architecture has been added to have around 40 rooms. The rooms at the end of the new wing, 35 to 40 are superb and look brand new. The double bed was very confortable, large Flatscreen TV and very roomy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul E, General Manager at Oakwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rdrat Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood House following your recent stay. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and will ensure your feedback is passed on to all of the team to read. We all hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Paul More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
3.8 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.3 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#9 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre
0.4 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay