We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Basingstoke

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Grove Road, Basingstoke RG21 3EE, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Simonstone
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time staying at the Holiday Inn Basingstoke.Had pleasant visit in January. Hotel well placed for access to all areas via ring road. Rooms clean, comfortable, and well resourced. Bar area and dining facilities were very good. Would recommend as good value for money. Will stay again in the near future.

Helpful?
Thank Alan H
TeamBasingstoke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review

Dear Alan H Glad to hear you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for saying you would recommend us to others, that really means a great deal to us all. We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes Janet C GM's office More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed during the cold spell. Staff at this establishment are excellent (especially Sarah at reception) and it was a decent meal in the restaurant. The rooms are ok if not a little small; however, the are difficult to heat up! The bathroom is the real issue with the heated towel rail having no effect. When I went in for... More 

Helpful?
Thank bazjonster
TeamBasingstoke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review

Dear bazjonster I am so sorry about the polar bear, he knows full well that our rooms are no-smoking! Seriously though, we have passed your comments regarding the chilly bathroom onto our Maintenance Team and they will carry out an investigation and improve the situation where necessary. Thank you for your feedback, it did put a smile on our faces!... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfectly acceptable clean and comfortable hotel. Rooms were bigger than I expected and I got a good night sleep each night. Staff are also very professional and friendly. They've only got a 3 for these reasons though: - £115 a night is a joke for a Holiday Inn - The restaurant is trying too hard to be fine dining which... More 

Helpful?
Thank WelshClockwork
TeamBasingstoke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review

Dear WelshClockwork Great that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and that you had a good night's sleep. Although, we were sorry to hear that you did not find our meals to your taste, we do get a lot of great comments about our Chefs cooking, it is a shame you did not experience this. Here at Holiday Inn... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this hotel, this was my second visit and I really love it (I don't say that often)! The hotel is looked after, its spotless and the staff are fabulous. The room layout is excellent, the bathroom is located toward the back of the room, so you don't have to be greeted by it as soon as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mjlmcg
TeamBasingstoke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review

Dear mjlmcg Our morning meeting was a very happy one after reading out your lovely review! I must agree with you about the bathroom, it is lovely to have a window for freshness and natural light. Our Head Chef, Daniel, Nannu our Housekeeping Manager and Malcolm our Maintenance Manager and all the teams were chuffed to hear your comments. Looking... More 

Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the purpose of my review bias, for the last 12 years I have stayed approximately 70-100 nights a year in the Intercontinental / Holiday Inn Group chain.  Date of stay 10th December previous review16th April My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows: 1) Arrival was straightforward using the Sat Nav (TOM TOM) instructions 2) On arrival at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank theresaheadinit
TeamBasingstoke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review

Hi theresaheadinit Thank you so much for your detailed review. We appreciate the time taken. We were all pleased with your observations and I was glad to read that you did not do the cat swinging test! Happy to read that everything was to your liking and we look forward to your next visit. Hope you had a safe journey... More 

Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We were welcomed by a very friendly reception, ample parking spaces, and with only two floors it wasn't difficult to find our room. The room was spacious, well appointed, with tea making facilities and the ensuite bathroom with bath was situated across the room on the outer wall and so had its own opening window. There was in-room wifi but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter_Ingamells
TeamBasingstoke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review

Hi Peter_Ingalmells We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments on your stay with us. The whole team were happy to read that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us. So sorry that the DJ on the night was not really to your liking. Our Head Chef and his team were pleased that you enjoyed... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

First we were meet by Letitia Savage, on the reception who was happy, smiley and helpful, we were in room 203 which was a good size plus very clean and tidy, Later on we were at the bar where we meet Sarah Peters who also was very helpful and patient member of staff. As we were here for a Christmas... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marc D
TeamBasingstoke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review

Hi Marc D Fantastic to read your great comments about our lovely team. So pleased you had a good stay with us. Thank youl Best wishes, Janet C (GM's office) More 

Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a Christmas party do was very busy. Having said that we did manage to get done sleep! The reception staff could do with brushing up on a few things, lounge area could be more comfortable and relaxing and the bed linen needs replacing! Had a dirty duvet cover, very off-putting to say the least.

Helpful?
Thank SneekyPeek
TeamBasingstoke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review

Dear SneekyPeek Thanks for your review and for your advice and information. We have investigated the marked duvet cover and our systems have been revised to ensure that this does not happen again. Great to hear you had a good nights sleep. With our best wishes, Happy Christmas Janet C GM's office More 

Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

I was staying here for business so I’m not overly fussy. All I want is a clean room, good night sleep and a bath. After checking in I found I was in a room on the ground floor directly opposite the doors leading to the restaurant and the rest of the hotel. This wasn't ideal but having been up at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
TeamBasingstoke, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review

Dear Lauren B, I am very sorry to be reading this review, especially as you had such positive things to say about how comfy the room was and how much you enjoyed your food. Your comments were shared with the Team yesterday before we saw this review and I know that we have updated your profile and also made an... More 

Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

Considering the hotel is an unattractive 1970's building. The bar area is in a draughty lobby. The restaurant is bearly more comfortable than a cafe and the food wasn't great, I have given this hotel top marks ! The staff are absolute quality. I met quite a lot of them over the two days I was there and every single... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abbey2010
TeamBasingstoke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basingstoke, responded to this review

Hi Abbey2010 Many thanks for your review. We appreciate your comments, although we were sorry to hear some of them! Anyway, we were all over the moon to read the ones about our staff being world class. We are so proud of this. Nannu and her team in Housekeeping were thrilled with your compliments of the bedroom. We look forward... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Basingstoke
Hilton Basingstoke
#11 of 12 in Basingstoke
3.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke West (Churchill Way) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#8 of 12 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel
Basingstoke Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nately Scures
3.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay