We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke

Red Lion Lane, Basingstoke RG21 7LX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    72
    65
    38
    24
See reviews for
28
55
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (252)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for one Saturday night whilst attending a concert at the Anvil Arts centre in Basingstoke. The hotel was very central, just round the corner from the shopping area and about a 15 minute walk from the train station and the Anvil. The reception was very welcoming and asked if I had received the email informing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our wedding here on 15/05 and Neal and the staff were fantastic, so many little touches that we were not expecting. We were so impressed with how our wedding was organised by Neal the events manager, nothing was too much trouble for him and his team. This is an ideal venue especially if you have guests from further... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

I am absolutely delighted to read your review and really appreciate you taking time out of your celebrations to recognise the team here at the Red Lion. Neal and his team work hard to ensure that every area of your day is double checked to ensure that everything is as expected. I will certainly pass on your feedback to the... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stay here loads on business and was starting to get a bit fed up with the downward spiral of this place. Checked in today and by no means a palace it is very obvious someone is now taking an interest... Delighted to see small but marked improvements and I will certainly be back. well done guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. I am pleased that you are beginning to see the improvements we are making and that they are being well received; as our guests really are at the forefront of the decision making process. Once again thank you for taking the time to complete your reveiw and we... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night as it was chosen by colleagues. Ample free car park, tick. Painless check in, tick, club double room, tick, bar, tick, location, tick. Now for the average/ not so good. Whole plAce is tired and a bit 80s. Dirty carpets, poor stairs, grotty decor, over soft bed, small TV, poor beer selection, generally drab but functional.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us recently. We do take our guests feedback be it good or poor very seriously indeed and thank you for your constructive comments which will be taken on board. I am pleased however to be able to advise you that we have already started; and are continuing... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at The Red Lion Basingstoke just 1 night, not for the first time. We were over for a friends Birthday. Very comfortable, clean room as usual. Good night's sleep and a very nice breakfast, in pleasant dining room. This hotel changed vastly since our last stay. We used to come up every year for many years to attend a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to learn that you had once again enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a great time at your friends birthday. I will of course pass on your compliments to the team who will be equally as... More 

Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When my daughter and I arrived at the hotel we found the hotel was clean and the staff very welcoming. We then went to our room,which at first was a good size with an en suite, however, the en suite let it self down with the shower attachment as it was clogged with limescale and it would not stay in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Firstly; may I thank you Melody for completing your review on TripAdvisor it is always great to hear our guests feedback and I was pleased to see your comments regarding our team and will be delighted to pass on your compliments to them. With regards to the issues raised with your room in particular your bathroom for which I sincerely... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Booked a room, which turned out to be a suite. good spacious room with fantastic king size bed. great nights sleep. bathroom was good, and bath was nice. all it could have done with was a little less of a maze to find the room, but i am assuming that is the building age not the hotels problem. Only bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Firstly may I thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us, unfortunately yes due to the age of the building there is a little bit of a maze but it certainly adds to the character of the building. Thank you for your constructive criticism with regards to... More 

Cala'n Porter, Spain
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

In need of a hotel near to Basingstoke Hospital whilst visiting family we made a booking and stayed over night during April . On arrival the reception. & staff where very helpful and assisted in booking us taxis to and from the hotel to the hospital and could not have been more proactive. The lift we took to room 34... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us and I do hope your family is OK and feeling better. I was delighted to learn that our team had been able to assist you and I have passed on your compliments to our team who will be pleased to receive your... More 

Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Part of this hotel is 500 years old, but you wouldn't know it. Well located. Large shopping centre (Debenham's, Burger King, dollar store, and lots of boutiques) across the a parking lot to the north. Also lots of restaurants along the adjacent streets. Front desk staff was very helpful with directions to attractions. Free on-site parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Firstly may I take the opportunity to thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your compliments to our team. Many thanks once again. With kind regards Annette Cave General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This is a hotel I visited a few times in the eighties and I was really disappointed to find the accommodation, aside from some repainting and new soft furnishings, is really fundamentally the same. I always feel the give-away is bathrooms and lifts, as they are expensive to refurbish or replace and both were worn out and very tired. Front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us overall and have passed on your compliments to our team and our Chef. With regards to your feedback on the condition of the hotel; the hotel has recently been taken over and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Basingstoke hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay