We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke

Red Lion Lane, Basingstoke RG21 7LX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the rooms of the hotel perhaps need a little updating they are clean and represent excellent value for money. The highlight of my stay, however, was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited in January for a 50th birthday party and because the price was so cheap I was pleasantly surprised at how lovely the hotel was. Just as good as any premier and travel lodge we stayed in. The bar area was so comfy and warm ( and the deco in the bar was lovely) been as it was such... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Leeann B
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attended a day course here, went to order lunch as we ere unable to take food in to the hotel. Initially told that only the full menu was available, eventually managed to order a sandwiches. Wish I hadn't bothered, it was dreadful. One was returned as it had a hair in it, I'm sure the hair was removed and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sassy1603

Travelers are raving about these Basingstoke hotels

Southampton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

We stopped here for a drink and a sharing platter on a Saturday evening whilst Christmas shopping. We sat in the bar area near the fire, they have reasonable prices and good service, lovely ploughmans platter, with crusty bread, big chunks of cheese, pork pie, ham off the bone, tomatoes and chutney, with a large bowl of hot chips. nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterAndrelookalike
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Its in need of a bit of TLC now Ive been here before a while ago and it just seems to have deteriorated a bit. With a little love and attn I think it could be nice again. Staff nice though and very helpful. Well located

Helpful?
Thank bryn a
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I lived in Basingstoke for 50 years and chose the Red Lion for a three night stay while visiting the family, because of its location. The hotel itself is adequate but we found the bed to uncomfortable to sleep on. The bar staff were great - very friendly and welcoming - but the beer choice is extremely limited. I'd been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

I can't thank the staff, especially Neal and Charlotte (on reception). We had a Christmas party for 95 people and everyone had a great time. The staff had control and we started our meal on time, it was delivered at a good speed and we finished with then plenty of time to dance. My only negative was that it ended... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 856kat
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

One stay for a business meeting in Basingstoke. Rooms are in need of a refit. The bathroom was old, eg basin chrome waste was missing most of the chrome, the shower head was not adjustable and long hairs in the bath and on the floor. Food is average and no wine list. For £118 B and B it is poor... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrPeterDoel
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor; I was saddened to read of your disappointment and do sincerely apologise. As you will see from your stay we are currently in the process of refurbishing the hotel with the bar and restaurant now completed with a new menu and wine list in place. With regards to the rooms we are... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

The hotel is close to the train station and shopping centre where a number of eateries can be found. My main issue with the hotel was cleanliness. Blinds were dusty with used plastic cups positioned on the ledge. Equally there was lipstick marks on the wall. The hotel decor in general was very dated. I was pretty happy my stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SportsTraveller24
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor; it is always great to receive our guests feedback be it good or poor. Following your review I have met with our housekeeper and corrective steps will be undertaken to prevent a recurrence. Thank you once again for completing your review and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome... More 

Basingstoke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

Room to hot Shower did not work Food was terrible Service awful Rip off at a cost of over £100 I made a formal complaint about the hotel by email the next day and was contacted by the manager. She said she would refund the cost of the hotel in full through you. It would appear that I have not... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank 817grahamen
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Dear Guest Following our conversation I was surprised to receive your review on Trip Advisor despite our offer of a refund and our correspondence confirming such. However should you not have received this information please feel free to contact us directly. Regards Annette Cave General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Basingstoke
Hilton Basingstoke
#11 of 12 in Basingstoke
3.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke West (Churchill Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 12 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
5.1 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay