We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke

Red Lion Lane, Basingstoke RG21 7LX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    76
    70
    40
    26
See reviews for
30
61
32
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (270)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

arrived on the 22 august been before 5 years ago nothing changed since then you get what you pay for room clean near to town centre the only problem we have is the breakfast was not good on arriving in the morning no room in dining room had to sit in lounge area on lounge seats with a coffee table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice hotel centrally located a bit tired around the edges. Stayed on third floor no sitcom or ventilation in the room so had to sleep with the window open. Very noisy location and thin walls, I struggled to get a good nights sleep even with the singled glazed window closed. Staff were excellent, this place needs s referb. Restaurant ok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were attending a wedding and the reception was at the hotel, we arrived on the 14th August and Michele was on reception with a warm welcome and a pleasant attitude organising our rooms and generally very very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had two room with a connecting door which were great and pleasant nights sleep throughout... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was here this weekend for my sister's blessing.Couldn't find a fault with the staff who always had a smile on their face and were not fazed by the big group of us that were trying to check in at the same time. The bar area was slightly small for our group as there was over 20 of us. Would definitley... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food ,very good, and nice bar and beer good, room, good but bathroom toilet needing attention and bit more attention to detail. the staff good and on the whole a great place to stay busy road though so be careful pulling out .

Was this review helpful? Yes
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to be able to inform you that on Monday 17th August 2015 we commence a refurbishment programme of the bedrooms, bathrooms, restaurant and bar areas of the hotel and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to so off our new look... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly and helpful staff, together with a good breakfast, made up for the somewhat faded decor. Nevertheless a comfortable (and quiet) night despite a wedding party in the function rooms. Would stay again if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay. I was pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us an found the team to be friendly and helpful. The team will be delighted to read your feedback and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again very soon. With kind... More 

suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a wedding and the bedroom was nice but they ruined the experience for me by not listening to the bride and grooms allergy requests regarding chilli and the room where the reception was held was small. I wouldn't pay full rate for this room even as a wedding guest as I had a double room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your stay whilst attending a wedding reception here at the hotel. I am sorry you were not 100% happy with your experience however may I take this opportunity to assure you that food allergies is something that we take very seriously indeed and after checking our records... More 

Travelers are raving about these Basingstoke hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Close to the main Station, buses, restaurants and a Mega shopping centre....very convenient. The staff were friendly and the restaurant quite good, BUT the water pressure on our first floor room was unreliable, the toilet and shower plumbing made odd noises when used, and the window wouldn't open very far to let fresh air in because wooden crates had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor it is always great to receive feedback from our guests be it good or poor. I was pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us overall. With regards to the areas you highlighted I am pleased to advise you that from Monday 17th August we commence a refurbishment programme... More 

Southsea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights. Granted it was a hot week, but in a hotel with NO air con and windows you can only open a certain amount. They had wire to stop you opening them. I was so so hot I couldn't sleep at all. However to be fair even if it did have air con I wouldn't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to complete your review I was disappointed to read your feedback regarding your stay here at The Red Lion and only wish you had bought these matters to our attention at the time of your stay in order that we may have made your stay more comfortable for you. That said I would... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Despite asking just after I arrived for the radiator in the bathroom to be turned off (there was no control knob on it and it was corroded) it was still blasting away two days later when I left. Always nice to have the side of you leg extra roasted when you go to the loo and the outside temperature is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A C, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this review

Dear Jake Thank you for completing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay I only wish you had bought this maintenance issue to our attention at the time of your stay in order for us to be able to rectify this at the time. That said I am delighted to be able to inform you that we are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basingstoke
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 12 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Basingstoke
Hilton Basingstoke
#11 of 12 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke West (Churchill Way)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel
Basingstoke Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nately Scures
3.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 12 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
5.1 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay