We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fernbank Hotel

2.5 of 5 4 Fairfields Road, Basingstoke RG21 3DR, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernbank Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fernbank Hotel
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Fernbank whilst my husband was in Basingstoke Hospital. Over a two week period ( with a gap inbetween ) I stayed in 3 different rooms - all of which were excellent.The owners were very friendly and professional and when I wanted to move to a double room from my single ( in order for my daughters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely family run hotel with bags of charm in a great location - a quiet, leafy suburb about ten minutes walk from the centre of Basingstoke and about twenty minutes walk from the railway station. The rooms are clean, warm and comfortable with good facilities, including free wifi access. The breakfast offers a good choice of as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We echo the very positive reviews already written.....foremost the very attentive hosts. Our room Number 3 (a twin) had recently been renovated and was faultless in décor and cleanliness. Comfortable beds, quiet, plenty of hot water and good pressure and all the accompliments you would wish for. The breakfast was of a very good standard and size and presented in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernbank H, Owner at Fernbank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be comfortable and the breakfast hearty. Thank you for booking to stay with us and recommending us, and I very much hope we will welcome you again in the future. More

Flore, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Plenty of parking off road, we booked an executive room but not sure what made it executive, The bed was comfy and nice extras in the bathroom and tea making facilities. However the bedroom window was cracked and mould around the frame work, The bathroom was poory lit and looked quite tired i assume this was a room that had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernbank H, Owner at Fernbank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. We are pleased you had a comfortable night's sleep. The room you stayed in hasn't yet been refurbished but is due to be done during December. We haven't had any comments regarding the lighting, however we are changing all the lighting as we refurbish each room. Being in a conservation area we are... More

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic little hotel with perfectly equipped, spotless rooms and top notch service. I stayed here with a couple of friends for the Basingstoke Oktoberfest which is literally 1 minute away from here which is obviously ideal. I stayed in Room #1 and absolutely everything was perfect - very comfortable bed and impeccable bathroom with a powerful, lovely hot shower. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernbank H, Owner at Fernbank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Chris, for your review and comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast and recently refurbished room. We are pleased you received your glasses safely and intact and we hope to welcome you back for next year's Octoberfest! Thanks once again for choosing to stay with us. More

Bedworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night as working in the area. I had a room on the top floor which was very clean and comfortable. the room was quiet and I had a great sleep. The hosts were lovely and very helpful. I was particularly impressed over breakfast when the host(who hadn't checked me in) called me by name. He... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernbank H, Owner at Fernbank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments, Katherine, which we very much appreciate. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a comfortable night's sleep. We very much hope to welcome you again next time you are working in the area. More

Par, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The room had been recently refurbished to a high standard. Spotless throughout and a very very good breakfast. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend as a first class B and B. and great value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernbank H, Owner at Fernbank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Kevin, for your review and comments which are very much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found us to be excellent value for money and left us very well fed! Hopefully we will see you again soon. More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed here as working locally, from a businessman perspective the following points should be noted: Very good wi fi with a very good and fast signal. Good desk to work on Safe 5 minute walk to town centre Excellent off-road car parking - free Very good breakfast Thanks I & J

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernbank H, Owner at Fernbank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ray for your review and comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would hope that you will come and stay with us again. More

New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Comfortable rooms with Excellent Personal touch service, this hotel is run by Ian and his wife and they are Sooooooo helpful for anything you need, it never felt like i was living in a Hotel, it was more like I was sharing a room with Ian in an apartment and not living in a Hotel owned by him. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernbank H, Owner at Fernbank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Sumil, for your review and lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again later this year. More

Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here in the last week of June. Located in a nice, quiet neighbourhood, the place has a homely feel to it. The room I stayed in was clean and comfortable, although small. The hosts were friendly and quite helpful. The breakfast was wholesome. It is good for a short stay. Lack of a laundry service makes it difficult for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernbank H, Owner at Fernbank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and that we may welcome you again in the future. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fernbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernbank Hotel

Address: 4 Fairfields Road, Basingstoke RG21 3DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fernbank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fernbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernbank Hotel Basingstoke, Hampshire

18 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay