We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Bolton hotels

Britannia Bolton Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Bolton Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
RodC77 Fakenham
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    89
    65
    33
    37
See reviews for
29
71
20
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (258)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Fakenham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've stayed here a few times and have rather a soft spot for it, in spite of a certain faded glory - it does really need a refurb. In fact the three flags outside with the Britannia Hotels logo, threadbare and tattered, are a metaphor for the hotel itself. That being said, I have found the rooms comfortable and clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Good hotel, clean, comfortable, good food, can't fault it. Stayed on a Saturday night on a bus trip with friends. Got a cab into town centre (only about £4), had a great time in Bolton, cracking weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BoltonBoltonian, General Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there and many thanks for taking the time to write us a very pleasant review. we are happy to hear that you had a great time with us and also had fun in Bolton. You are welcome back at any time and if there is anything we can do in the future to help with your stay please do... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well we're do I start first the staff need more training on Customer satisfaction and so does the owner who told us to shut up and leave or be quite! We was having a drink In the bar at 3 o'clock after after a long journey and the owner come out shouting and balling! Not our fault the conference room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BoltonBoltonian, General Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

apologies to our future customers who may read this, but with regards to your very poor review, I would like to comment. You and your friends behaviour was in excusable to say the very least, if you think it is acceptable to be shouting obscenities ( that's swearing) in a loud and unruly manner ( that's bad behaviour) in the... More 

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here last year, and I’m reviewing it only now because the brochure and my notes turned up in my 2014 paper debris. If I say nothing it’s like failing to report a car break-in to the police–if you don’t, it’s like it never happened. My partner booked the hotel for its location, so we could see a seriously... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are warm,The food is warm.the staff are luke warm,it is clean but definitely needs face lift.Also staff needs serious training in hospitality more so the woman who was in charge of restaurant, Newyears Eve.no choice at all if you didnt eat chicken there was not an alternative We pointed this out to a very rude I take it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there, May I start by apologising to our guest who may read this review.... Its unfortunate that you have had a bad experience with your stay here at the Britannia Bolton. The package you had booked included a news years gala dinner which was a set meal. We have vegetarian meals also available on this package. The other guest... More 

Jarrow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent the New year here with 14 others. Service was very good, staff young, very friendly and very accommodating. Rooms, linen towels etc very clean. Good choice of food available. Some common areas looking a little tired, furniture and paintwork. Free wifi in the lounge/dining area. Another pub, shops close by if you want a short walk. Happy hours in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review, Were extremely happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you hopefully in the future. It nice to get positive feed back. We thank you also for your comments in regards to our lounge area and we are in the process of having this area sorted. Feed back... More 

Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned today from our New year break, at this hotel and we are very disappointed to find that the standard has dropped since our last visit about 2 years ago. We travelled as part of a coach party, and although we were the first party to arrive, about 3 pm, we were given the 7 pm dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologise that your stay didn't meet our standards and have passed all comments onto the relevant departments. We wish you all the best for the new year. Thanks Your Britannia Team More 

Ledbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I think from reading previous posts people have unrealistic expectations given the prices paid for this budget end hotel. I went for the xmas break and the food was good value considering it was brought into the price. The rooms were very warm, but I think the hotel couldn't win either way being a lot of elderly at the hotel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your positive feed back.... We love great reviews from satisfied customers. Were glad you enjoyed your stay...and your welcome back at any time. We are a dog friendly hotel and many of our customers use this service. We have carefully selected rooms for our dog lovers which are cleaned professional after use. I can only... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Christmas break was the worst yet, the company we went with "Just Go" put us in this hotel and I think we must have been an after thought! You would not have known it was Christmas there was no Christmas cheer, the food the worst ever, the rooms were not that good so very hot you could not breath.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Im very surprised about the Christmas spirit...We had 9 Christmas trees up around the hotel and other decorations, staff dressed as elves and with Christmas jumpers on, Christmas music, entertainment every night, complementary chocolates around the hotel and sherry & mulled wine and all the trimmings... Sometimes... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just come home from a Christmas break at this hotel and it was the worst I have ever had, the bathroom was dirty and I asked for it to be cleaned, I was ignored (room 117) . the staff were offhand and we got the impression they didn't want to be there. The food was the worst we have ever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed that your stay didn't meet our standards. I have passed all comments onto the department managers who will look at these issues. We do however have a wide selection of wines available on our wine list all at reasonable prices. Some of the wines are available... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Bolton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Bolton Hotel

Address: Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Bolton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Bolton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Bolton

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay