We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Bolton Hotel

Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Share an Experience

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    89
    70
    34
    40
See reviews for
30
76
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (271)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having had a plumbing nightmare at home with our soil pipe splitting we were told by the insurance company to book into a hotel. We arrived unannounced and the lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful. We were given a room on the first floor which was perfectly adequate for our stay. Wifi is free but seems confined to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abergele, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on business for one night only thank goodness! It looks like an old Holiday Inn that's been left to decay. On arrival people were smoking outside which had drifted inside the reception area and no action taken by the receptionist. The corridor carpets are filthy and grubby, not seen a carpet shampoo for years. The carpets are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Were sorry to here your stay didn't match our standards. We are currently having areas of our hotel renovated so that our services are at its best. Britannia Hotel Bolton is a friendly value hotel, and as you pointed out our customers range from contractors to families , to... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent service, food and room, could not wish for more, the hotel has many plus points but for me the most important is the ability to park my car and have a peaceful nights sleep, well this hotel certainly tick the boxes with a plus, being set in it's own grounds with a huge car park, with no dreaded traffic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your positive review. We are happy that your happy with your stay. Thank you for your comments and I will make sure they are all passed onto our staff. Thanks Your Britannia Team More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff are all very young, and for a hotel this size seems crazy that on a Saturday night there was only one member of staff available!! I had to ask for something, and was advised I'd need to wait as she was alone. The hotel is very tired & need of a full clean & renovation. I wouldn't stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, General Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review. We are disappointed that your stay didn't match the standard you expected. We are currently having our carpet grips replaced as they were worn from the amount of passage in this area. Also other areas are receiving regeneration so our hotel is at its best. We have a mixed aged of staff at... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked on line and was very pleasded- I stay all over- great hotels and awful ones. The Britannia is great value for money, helpful friendly staff- food fine, breakfast very good. My room on the ground floor was fine. I'll be back- not four star- but miles better than many places I've stayed. If you want a great value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for writing a fantastic review. We happy that you had a great stay with us and look forward to seeing you again within the future. Thank you More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a Friday evening with a Groupon voucher, £39 B&B, 3 course evening + bottle of wine. Evening meal was fine, breakfast, from what I understand, is usually buffet, but when the hotel is quiet, they cook to order. The full English...my goodness, it is full, the portions are enormous, again, fine. The room was clean & comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review... Were so happy to know that you had a great stay, we do on occasions have promotional offers available on Groupon, Wowcher etc. And its nice to see that our customers make good use of these offers. Il pass on your comments to our staff, its always excellent to here good things when they... More 

Hull, East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night on a National Holidays trip. There was no trouble getting booked in - it was all ready and was dealt with promptly by a pleasant young lady. Walking down the corridor to our room it was very noticeable that all the doors looked as it they were permanently kicked open - chipped and grubby. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff pleasant and friendly. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our hotel but as you can imagine as we are open 24/7 this process does take time and is completed one room and one area at a... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend stay here quite a lot after a evening out, mainly because of the location. It is just a simple,plain,ordinary hotel with an average size bedroom and bathroom. Usually pretty clean with fresh bedding and towels. However the last time we stayed we had a awful time! Had to wait ages as we were told we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay here at Britannia Hotel Bolton. Sometimes when bookings are booked through 3rd party websites they are not sent from them into our system, this is an error that some 3rd party websites occasionally have and is unfortunately out of... More 

Angmering
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Friendly staff, however the hotel as you pass from reception is in need of some redecorating, the room was clean, warm, but in need of redecorating. my room also smelt as though the previous guests had been smoking (not the hotels fault) not so nice. The restaurant and bar area was in good decorative order, and quite busy. I didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review on trip advisor I am pleased our staff were friendly as it is one thing we pride ourselves on. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our hotel but as you can imagine as we are open 24/7 this only happens one bedroom at a time hopefully next time you visit the... More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
114 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Have stayed here many times over the years and usually in an executive room. However this stay was a cheap winter sale deal. The lad at check in was not at all friendly and told us nothing about the hotel. Not even the way to the rooms or when breakfast was etc. I had to ask him. He was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review! We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet our company standards. We are looking into the areas you have risen and as to why you was not given the customer service we expect from our staff. We are currently refurbishing at the hotel as we speak, but our size means this is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question