We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Bolton Hotel

Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    99
    77
    38
    43
See reviews for
35
82
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (304)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went on a trip with National Holidays for their Pendle Witches Tour. My heart sank w hen I saw that the hotel was a Britannia one. However, I must say that it totally exceeded expectations. The reception area was smart and the receptionist was extremely helpful, Dinner was very early at 6.30pm, but the dining room was smart and clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here as it was the only dog friendly hotel I could find. I was shocked when I saw the room. The walls were dirty, there was only a sheet as the mattress cover, I wouldn't go barefoot, I didn't use the shower facilities & went to a different hotel the next day & had a lovely clean experience.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Bolton hotels

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival we were met by a skip outside on the grass, not a great ideal first impression. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was a twin on the ground floor. Fairly clean but could do with a bigger mattress protector as the one on my bed didn't cover all of the mattress, also protectors required for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. There is currently a skip outside the back gates of the hotel on the car park, this is because we are in the process of revamping the hotel, as you can imagine this takes us a long time due to the size of the hotel and us... More 

Hull, East Yorkshire,England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed Monday 13th July for 3 nights. Hotel is good,and located just outside of Bolton.Rooms where clean and tidy,cleaned and beds made everyday.Towels changed,plenty of tea and coffee in room.Entertainment Tues/Weds nights.Staff very pleasant! Nothing a problem. Food very good,3 course each night with plenty of choices! Special mention goes out to Kamit, who served us each for our evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review and I am so happy to learn you enjoyed your time here at the Britannia Hotel Bolton. I am glad you enjoyed the food and that Kamit was so helpful. I will pass on these comments to Kamit and too our head chef and I... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived on Monday for a conference near by. Cons: - No phone reception in rooms - No wifi in rooms (when asked about this we were told that the router doesn't reach) - No phone signal in rooms - Expensive bar (2 glasses of wine and a coke cost ~£9) At one point I went back to the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us here at Britannia Hotel Bolton. I will try to address the points you raise with us now. There are phones in all bedrooms, these only dial internally so to ring reception or to ring another room etc. you can not dial an outside... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When entering from the road it appears you will be welcomed by a lovely grand hotel. What hits you is more of a school and playground sort of feel. It gets worse when you enter the hotel. Dirty carpets, marks on the walls. No internet as it was not working. And forget trying to get a signal on your mobile.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very clean hotel staff are happy to help and give any advise should you need any close to local pubs and a short drive to bolton town center easy to find off a busy main road but it very quiet no traffic noise

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am pleased that you found our staff so helpful, customer service is very important to us and I'm glad you were happy with them. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future Your Britannia Hotel Bolton Team More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I stayed for 1 night whilst working away, room was ok a little tired food in restaurant was very average. Why can't somebody design a hotel door that can close quietly ?? Needless to say a poor nights sleep.......... Staff very polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you found our staff polite. The doors is something we are currently looking into and I hope by your next visit this is resolved Kind Regards The Britannia Hotel Team More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I stayed in the Britannia Bolton Hotel with my girlfriend as part of a mystery tour operated through National Holiday. The check in was fast and efficient and the room was really pleasant, really spacious with a lovely comfortable bed. The bathroom had the usual standard of bathroom; this included a really good powerful shower. We both had a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about the hotel. I am happy that you found check in so easy as I know that can be a worry for customers when arriving on a coach. I am so happy to learn you found the room clean and comfortable and I will pass on... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights for business in Bolton. Upon arrival the exterior of the hotel looks very old and shabby. The staff on reception were pretty friendly, not mega helpful though. My room looked very dated and exhausted. Everything in the room looked aged and dirty, not great. The bathroom shower wasn't the best and my bed wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay at Britannia Hotel Bolton. I am sorry to learn that you did not find your room up to standard, however in the hotel information sheet in your room it does state that should you not be happy with your room to speak to reception.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bolton hotels
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena)
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
3.5 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton West
2.6 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay