We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Bolton Hotel

Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Britannia Bolton Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Just needed a room for a night for one and paid £37 Inc Vat on Booking.com. for the money it was ok. Good parking and staff very nice. Room was a bit cold and fusty and stopped serving food at 8.30pm. Hotel a bit tired but if you can get as cheap as I did it's fine.

Helpful?
Thank scottJillSheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here in January 16 and was pleased with the hotel especially the price we paid.The food was very good the hotel was clean and warm.We have stayed in several Britannia hotels and this was one of the best of the chain

Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel A
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This must be one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in..tired - definitely, but that's no excuse for bedroom floors that you can't walk on barefoot - ugh! We had a firealarm too and the staff did absolutely nothing about getting us out - or back in when it got turned off. I would have to be very desperate... More 

Helpful?
Thank LEJ9120

Travelers are raving about these Bolton hotels

barnsley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Exactly as others have written.,very, very tired hotel , worn carpets held together with duct tape, communal areas, corridors & rooms all in need of total refurbishment. Yuk!!!! Staff in need of customer service training though they probably reflect the company and it's aspirations. Checked in with an accommodation voucher provided by my employers agents (Traveleads). Was asked how I... More 

Helpful?
Thank TREBORBARNSLEY
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review, I am saddened to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Britannia Hotel Bolton, and am very surprised to learn that you didn't find the staff to have excellent customer service, as it is usually something we pride ourselves on and I will certainly pass your review along... More 

bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

sorry to say that i checked in earlier today, spent 5 minutes taking photos in absolute disgust and swiftly left! Thank god for the holiday inn down the road... To be honest, any hotel that has carpets held down with tape is never a good sign..... hairs in my bed, curtains hanging off, the shower is a bacteria ridden mould... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ginge282016
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am sorry to learn that you left the hotel before we could resolve any of your issues. As it states on the hotel information sheet in your room should you be unhappy with your room for any reason please contact reception who would be more than... More 

Flintshire, Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Turned up at the hotel and they had no confirmation of my booking. I had confirmation on my phone but they required a copy from their central reservations of the Britannia group. The receptionist called then numerous times but no answer 30 mins waiting at reception. The receptionist kindly trusted me and gave me a room until the central reservations... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dava12345
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this about 10 days before Christmas and went with some reservations after reading other reviews, how wrong can you be? It was excellent value for money arriving 23rd December and leaving 27th. Food was plentiful and of good quality, room large and clean (no rooms serviced for a couple of days for staff holiday but linen room was open... More 

Helpful?
Thank lesleymayl
Blackrod
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stay here a lot and have always found the experience great. Best thing about it is the staff .. I have stayed at loads of hotels that are significantly more expensive and not had the level of service which the staff here bend over backwards to provide! Three cheers for Ashleigh, Rachael, Big Sam and the rest of the team... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took advantage of the Christmas special offer (4 nights d.b.b. and Christmas lunch) Britannia group tends not to get great reviews, however, my experience left little to be desired . . . . food, plentiful and excellent, well done chef. Rooms fine, not cleaned Christmas Day and day after, staff entitled to holiday . . To be expected, (clean towels,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Henry T
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Visited this hotel for 3 nights to see the new year in I didn't book this trip my sister did and when I went on to check were she had booked I was dreading going I went on and read all the reviews about it and thought my god .when we got their yes it is in need of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank 172lynn
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay