We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Crawley hotels

Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Adv Purchase upto 20% off
Save Saved
You added Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
36%
Ranked #24 of 26 hotels in Crawley
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
jdek270891 Norwich, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (714)
  • Photos (113)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (150)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    179
    191
    154
    123
See reviews for
116
318
40
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed with my husband and daughter for a night before an early flight. Nice grounds, nice staff. That's where the good stuff ends. The decor is very tired and dated... A paint job is urgently necessary. Scuff marks on all doors and walls etc all leading to the place feeling like it's unloved. Rust on the bathroom fittings and carpet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at The Effingham Park 2 years ago. My review then stated that the rooms were spacious and clean but in need of refurbishment. The comment from the management stated I would notice a difference next time as there were refurb projects on going. I'm afraid to say we saw no difference apart from a flat screen TV. However, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. We are very sorry our planned renovation of our rooms has been delayed, thank you very much for your nice words and your view that we continue to offer good value for money with our stay and park packages. We hope you found the customer service to be good... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice quiet location with attractive grounds and golf course and plenty of free parking. Rooms are very dated and tired and my coffee table had over a dozen white rings from coffee cups - amazing that this hadn't been replaced or at least covered with a table cloth. Breakfast was poor, few fresh options and an apple on the display... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry you felt certain aspects of your stay disappointing, your comments were fair and constructive, thank you. We have recently taken delivery of some new bedroom furniture which we believe will improve our bedroom product. The refurbishment of our bedrooms is... More

Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good sized rooms. Unfortunately when we checked in and collected out car the person on reception could not understand or speak enough English to be on the reception. We ended up searching the entire grounds for a car only to find it had been parked in a different car park. The women on reception then said she told us it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry you were put to so much inconvenience when it came to locating your car. We are ascertaining which staff member you spoke to as your comments have caused us concern as you can imagine. Although we employ staff from all over the world, a... More

London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Copthorne Hotel Effingham on the 8th August 2014. We stayed for one night and really enjoyed it. We were offered an upgrade from a standard to superior room. It was Room 315 which was in our opinion a bit of a good result. We had a comfy bed, the room was clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your review and your nice words regarding your stay, we were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed our surroundings and the services provided. You must have been given one of our Loyalty Programme application forms, we are very sorry if this was not explained to you. We are also sorry about the... More

Taormina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you just want the car parking facility then this is ok. We stayed the night before our flight. Room was scruffy and the TV didn't work (not unusual according to other reviews) drinks are priced as a 4 star hotel but the whole experience was very 2 star. The transfer was good and spot on time. The day we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am very sorry you felt so disappointed with the standards provided in the hotel. Please be assured your comments regarding the Front Office staff and the housekeeping standards have been addressed. I am sorry you have felt mislead regarding our refurbishment plans, these... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked here as we have previously stayed here before and this time was such a disappointing experience I feel we completely wasted our money. We booked to stay here the night before we flew from Gatwick. Again room size was lovely and we had a small balcony. .. BUT. . When putting our children into bed there was sand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry you felt so let down by your stay. We really cannot understand how you found sand in your bed, all our bedlinen is changed, our housekeepers would have come to you and made the bed again, we are very sorry about this. Also that you had a disturbed... More

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here to use the park and ride facility to take the stress out of getting to Gatwick airport on time. We booked a private transfer which would of cost £11 but it never arrived. We stood outside with many other guests and it was a free for all if any transport did arrive as everyone was late for flights.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We are very sorry your transfers to and from the airport did not go well. I am sorry you had to wait for your pick up. We offer guests a taxi service from airport back to hotel, and usually it is very prompt and reasonably priced.... More

Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night before an early flight from Gatwick. We purchased the deal as a secret hotel with holiday extras, which stated a 4 star hotel with parking and an evening meal. On arrival the reception staff were helpful and offered us an upgrade for a small charge, once we saw the first room we took the upgrade. Both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us as a mystery hotel. We are very sorry you felt disappointed with the standard of your room, however, we were naturally very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your meal. We hope you have had a most enjoyable holiday and wish to thank... More

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent 2 nights here attending a wedding. As per other reviewer's comments the hotel is dated but not a problem, it's clean and reasonably spacious. The sound proof is non existence, could hear each and every single person walking down the corridor, every word they said and the most noisiest was the banging noises of the room doors. Also,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry you found certain areas of your stay were disappointing and did not meet your expectations. Please be assured we have carefully examined your comments. I am sorry you could not find anywhere to walk, we do have some areas at... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, World Independent Hotel Promotion, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Crawley with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#9 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
122

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer