We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Crawley hotels

Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Adv Purchase upto 20% off
Save Saved
You added Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
36%
Ranked #24 of 27 hotels in Crawley
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
HillKent Kent
  • Overview
  • Reviews (692)
  • Photos (105)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (143)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    171
    187
    148
    119
See reviews for
111
307
40
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We regularly use this hotel for overnight stays prior to Lingfield races. Always impressed with this hotel for the price paid. Staff have always been friendly and never have to wait long to check in/out. Some of the rooms are a little dated but always spotlessly clean and perfectly comfortable. Room service food is very good and reasonably priced. Have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so glad you have enjoyed your stays with us when visiting Lingfield Races. While we are aware some of our rooms are in need of updating, and a refurbishment programme is planned, we make sure our rooms are spotlessly clean and our staff will go that extra mile to look... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rebecca C reported that the TV did not work on 8th July, we had room 216 on 11th July and guess what, the TV still did not work and the staff made out that this had only just happened which obviously was a fob off and even though management assured in a reply in Rebecca's report on here that they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We are very sorry your TV was not working, it was checked by our maintenance staff and we have asked for it to be checked again although the room is currently occupied. Unfortunately, the TV problem we had was intermittent but we are now checking again. We... More

Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fine place to stay if you're looking for a low-budget hotel, but I would avoid it if you have small children. The hotel has not been well maintained. The rugs are threadbare, the beds are tired, the bathrooms are dank, and the facilities are just outdated. We tried to make the best of it, and the kids... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with your family. We are very sorry you found so many aspects of your stay disappointing and not meeting your expectations. We appreciate some areas of the hotel are in need of updating, a refurbishment programme is planned for the near future. Please accept... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in order to have somewhere to park whilst we were away and to enable us to make an early start in the morning. The room was adequate for a short stay and the morning call was spot on time. We didn't eat here as we thought the menu a bit mundane and unimaginative. Staff were attentive and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were glad to read you enjoyed the hotel and facilities and found our location convenient for the airport. We hope to welcome you back again next time and also that you had a nice holiday. With best wishes Guest Relations Manager More

London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel on 04/06 July 2014 Definitely NOT for the disabled I have polio that makes life very difficult for me to get into a bath tub As I have a walk in shower at home but there was no such facility here and the only disabled room was occupied by my mother who is in her eighty's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused regarding our disabled facilities, please accept our sincere apologies. Unfortunately, we only have the one adapted room and this room has a shower within the bath. We are so sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you for brininging this matter to our attention. Yours sincerely,... More

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here just over 2 weeks ago for access to gatwick airport and long stay parking as I'm sure many do. This hotel is very dated and could do with being brought up to the standard of hotels locally. Unable to review the food as we walked 5 min down the road to a local pub for food as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a reviw following your recent stay with us. We are sorry you felt so upset about the wedding guests you came across in our front office while we appreciated your concern regarding these clients, please be assured we were dealing with the matter as per our policies. The matter has been fully... More

St Cleer, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here a few times when flying from Gatwick and have never been disappointed. We were upgraded (free) this time. Room was huge with king size bed, large flat screen TV and very clean. The only negative comment I can make is that the section we were in had just been refurbished and smelt strongly of paint and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice words and your recent review of our hotel. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you would certainly return in the future. We are so sorry about the smell of paint, unfortunately, this is more noticeable when the weather is warm, our sincere apologies. We hope you had... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good: - Well located if you're flying from Gatwick - Well priced - Good parking facilities - Big, very comfortable bed. - Pleasant views from room - Helpful staff The bad: - The rooms are very dated - My car was covered in tree sap when I picked it up, after 2 weeks being parked under trees it's going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review, we are so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We are so sorry about the tree sap - unfortunately, some of our parking spaces are near the trees which overhang this area, we hope you have managed to clean your car. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for the night before we flew out from Gatwick. . We were met by a member of staff who helped with our luggage. . Checked in fine and reception staff offered us a wake up call. Which we accepted and they did. Room was large, plenty of space. Bathroom lovely and clean. As this review is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We were very pleased to read how much you have enjoyed your stays with us and that you would return to us again in the future. This is wonderful news, we always like to look after guests who return to us, so thank you once again and very best wishes. Guest... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We up-graded and stayed on the third floor . Superb room big clean balcony flat screen tv great power shower . Had a really good meal in the sports bar . Bed was very comfy king size.have stayed here for four years in a row before we go on hols will b stopping here again next would highly recommend .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your nice words. We hope you had a wonderful holiday. With best wishes Guest Relations Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#9 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
122

See which rooms travelers prefer