We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Crawley hotels

Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Adv Purchase upto 20% off
Save Saved
You added Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
36%
Ranked #24 of 26 hotels in Crawley
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
julia h Nottingham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (694)
  • Photos (105)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (144)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    172
    187
    148
    120
See reviews for
111
310
40
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed only for one night at the end of June before our holiday......found a good price online for around £80 for one night and 14 days parking....room was fairly big with a nice bathroom and a comfy bed.....booking the airport shuttle was quick and easy....a nice way to start a holiday...would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Copthorne for two nights(9th and 24th July) using the 15 day "PARK AND STAY " being a little apprehensive after a lot of poor reviews we where more than pleasantly surprised to find the hotel to be nothing like some of the reviews,we booked a "disabled room" when we arrived everything fell into place, disabled parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was staying here for a Wedding weekend, and my excitement at staying at the hotel (which looked good on the website) was quickly lost. Firstly, within seconds of entering my room and inspecting the bathroom facilities...a mouse (at least I hope it was just a mouse) popped out from underneath the sink, looked up at me and then scarpered.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel using the Holiday Extras website "Mystery Hotel" deal, as we just needed somewhere to leave the car for two weeks and then check-in after our holiday as we had a very late return flight. We had a five hour flight home and then had to wait for just over an hour at baggage claim, finally checking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We regularly use this hotel for overnight stays prior to Lingfield races. Always impressed with this hotel for the price paid. Staff have always been friendly and never have to wait long to check in/out. Some of the rooms are a little dated but always spotlessly clean and perfectly comfortable. Room service food is very good and reasonably priced. Have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so glad you have enjoyed your stays with us when visiting Lingfield Races. While we are aware some of our rooms are in need of updating, and a refurbishment programme is planned, we make sure our rooms are spotlessly clean and our staff will go that extra mile to look... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rebecca C reported that the TV did not work on 8th July, we had room 216 on 11th July and guess what, the TV still did not work and the staff made out that this had only just happened which obviously was a fob off and even though management assured in a reply in Rebecca's report on here that they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We are very sorry your TV was not working, it was checked by our maintenance staff and we have asked for it to be checked again although the room is currently occupied. Unfortunately, the TV problem we had was intermittent but we are now checking again. We... More

Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a fine place to stay if you're looking for a low-budget hotel, but I would avoid it if you have small children. The hotel has not been well maintained. The rugs are threadbare, the beds are tired, the bathrooms are dank, and the facilities are just outdated. We tried to make the best of it, and the kids... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with your family. We are very sorry you found so many aspects of your stay disappointing and not meeting your expectations. We appreciate some areas of the hotel are in need of updating, a refurbishment programme is planned for the near future. Please accept... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in order to have somewhere to park whilst we were away and to enable us to make an early start in the morning. The room was adequate for a short stay and the morning call was spot on time. We didn't eat here as we thought the menu a bit mundane and unimaginative. Staff were attentive and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were glad to read you enjoyed the hotel and facilities and found our location convenient for the airport. We hope to welcome you back again next time and also that you had a nice holiday. With best wishes Guest Relations Manager More

London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel on 04/06 July 2014 Definitely NOT for the disabled I have polio that makes life very difficult for me to get into a bath tub As I have a walk in shower at home but there was no such facility here and the only disabled room was occupied by my mother who is in her eighty's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused regarding our disabled facilities, please accept our sincere apologies. Unfortunately, we only have the one adapted room and this room has a shower within the bath. We are so sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you for brininging this matter to our attention. Yours sincerely,... More

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here just over 2 weeks ago for access to gatwick airport and long stay parking as I'm sure many do. This hotel is very dated and could do with being brought up to the standard of hotels locally. Unable to review the food as we walked 5 min down the road to a local pub for food as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a reviw following your recent stay with us. We are sorry you felt so upset about the wedding guests you came across in our front office while we appreciated your concern regarding these clients, please be assured we were dealing with the matter as per our policies. The matter has been fully... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#9 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
122

See which rooms travelers prefer