We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Rectory of St James

Certificate of Excellence
| Stirchley Village, Telford TF3 1DY, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Rectory of St James
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After our second stay at The Old Rectory, we were just as impressed as our first. We were able to experience a different bedroom which was just as beautiful and lovely and warm too! Breakfast was stunning and my coeliac disease was 100% catered for. We were made to feel at home the second we walked through the door and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emilyhB1810GN
Powys, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want a warm welcome beautiful ( and spotlessly clean) rooms and delicious food look no further than the old rectory. We were offered home made cakes and tea on arrival and a wide choice of locally sourced goodies for breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wmlb
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing find. A beautiful boutique hotel with wonderful proprietors. We were greeted with a lovely afternoon tea before going to our bedroom that was warm, comfortable and well appointed. In the morning the breakfast was delicious (freshly cooked by Adrian) and as good as we've had in a very long time. This will always be our first choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank CheshireCouple48
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really comfortable bed with lovely thick cotton sheets. Tea and freshly baked cakes in front of a log fire on arrival and the most wonderful breakfast with home reared eggs and other home made delicacies. Why would you stay in a faceless hotel when you can have this?

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This really was a 'home from home' stay. I usually stay in the Holiday Inn or the International Hotel, both of which can be noisy with their fire proof slamming doors at all hours of the night as people return to their rooms. Not so here. A great night's sleep, fab breakfast (Adrian does a mean poached egg!) And Rosemary's... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank gaill467
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous victorian b&b, tastefully decorated very comfortable and immaculately clean. Flowers everywhere even in January. Homemade biscuits in the room and a log fire burning in the reading room downstairs. Great hosts who couldn't do enough for us even catered without any notice for wife's vegan diet. Chose it because it was number one b&b on trip advisor - well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mark h
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

All I ask for is a warm clean room, unfortunately one of the two failed. We arrived on a cold foggy November afternoon. Adrian showed us to our room which was stone cold and had the sash window wide open. Upon entry to the room he immediately closed the window. The radiators in the room must be blocked they do... More 

Helpful?
Thank EarlsCourtTT1
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and that you found the room clean and enjoyed your breakfast. We are sorry on two counts: firstly that you were cold and uncomfortable; and secondly that you felt that you could not tell us at the time. The comfort level is, to some extent, subjective but we do try to make sure everyone is... More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

Although we only stayed one night on a family visit The Old Rectory will be our place of choice in the future. Good communication prior to our arrival meant there were no surprises on our late arrival and a delicious home made afternoon tea was waiting for us in front of a toasty-warm log fire. Our room was large and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thejamesabroad
Mojacar, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

This is a wonderful guest house - a most enjoyable stay. Our hosts were very welcoming and their home is just beautiful. Our bedroom was very comfortable with beautiful bed linen and towels - absolutely spotless! We enjoyed a fabulous afternoon tea on arrival followed by a delicious evening meal. Our breakfast the next morning was superb. Already looking forward... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesley_Spain56
oldrector, Owner at The Old Rectory of St James, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us. Hope we can temp you back from sunny Spain again. More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Tucked down a little lane is this delightful historic guest house . A warm welcome from the hosts was followed by an afternoon tea and a sit by the open fire , no one wanted to go out again. The house is very quiet and a good nights sleep in a comfy bed was followed by a tasty breakfast that... More 

Helpful?
Thank margaretjones_12
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
2.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#9 of 22 in Telford
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge
3.0 mi away
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay