We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Swindon hotels

Lydiard House Conference Centre

Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lydiard House Conference Centre to your Saves list
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
41%
Ranked #27 of 31 hotels in Swindon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
john h Portsmouth, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (83)
  • Photos (23)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
8
28
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we only stayed one night but the hotel was excellent ,good food and very helpful staff. A very nice pool lots of free parking and set in a wondeful parkland. The house it is attached to, is also worth a visit. lots of treasures and things to see. I have read other reviews and they obviously did not do their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a night for my partners' cousins's wedding. Lovely wedding itself but absolutely awful room. Bed pushed right against the wall and so small in width that I ended up being right on the edge of it with hardly any room left between me and my partner. Phone was, and I quote 'needing replacement of battery', wallpaper coming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The park is beautiful however the hotel is very tired and old in need of major refurbishment, it's very hard to sleep here as the windows only have old style verticle blinds that do little to block out the light, the doors are would not meet modern standards for noise insulation and security. The bathroom is equally uninviting being both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz L, Sales & Events at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Please understand we are not a hotel we are a conference centre and advertised as such. This is a response received from a customer who stayed with us recently. From: xxxxxxxxx@yahoo.co.uk] Sent: 18 August 2014 11:06 To: Reception Lydiard Subject: Re: Lydiard House Our stay was very enjoyable, the restaurant staff were very friendly and accommodating. Lovely hotel and grounds... More

ponthir
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The website is a very deceptive the conference centre and rooms are a very different experience to the House and Grounds. To be clear the location and surrounding area is amazing and kind of compensates for the poor accommodation and conference building. The conference building and rooms are very very tiered and well overdue a refurbishment, I have stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great week's stay here. Location is wonderful. We managed to visit London - parked at Sunbury train station straight off the M3 (£2.00 all day after 9.30 am), Oxford, several Cotswold villages with Bibury and Bourton on the Water being our favourites, explored Lydiard Parks and the surrounding area - great facilities. Have to admit the weather was... More

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The grounds are great, the Hotel a big disappointment, rooms are more akin to Student dorms, for some reason they only set up the rooms for single occupancy?, if you are unlucky enough to get rooms 1 or 3 on a weekend when a function is on, the music will be enough to keep you awake, on a Sunday the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz L, Sales & Events Co-ordinator at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

As Lydiard House is primarily a conference centre most of the bedrooms are small doubles just 6" narrower than a standard double bed and normally used for single occupancy, However due to the excellent location and competitive prices many of our guess are happy to snuggle up for a night or two and share the bed. The rooms are regularly... More

Polegate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night a few days ago. The photos are a touch deceiving. They don't show the accommodation wing where you will be staying which is an ugly seventies building. The rooms are small and basically furnished. It reminded me of my student hall of residence 35 years ago! Plain and worn wooden furniture, seriously needs an upgrade.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz L, Sales & Events Co-ordinator at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

The rooms are not large doubles and this is reflective in the competitive price. The beautiful location, great food and friendly atmosphere still make it a favourite choice for many of our customers. The furniture and decor may not be to everyone's taste but we are continually refurbishing. More

North of Sydney
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
46 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

This B&B is used as the conference center accommodation.Advertised as a double(for two people)this is a small double bed suitable for one person only.There are no twin bed arrangements and this "torpedoes" any couples booking.Single people might enjoy this.Breakfast is adequate although boring.Quite frankly this beautiful setting could provide a lot more with better management.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz L, Sales & Events Co-ordinator at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Our rooms are advertised on all our sites as small doubles, the bed is 6" smaller than a standard double and for most people this is totaly acceptable. The hot food is freshly prepared for you by one of our chef's and in addition cerials, juices, pastries, fresh fruit salad, prunes, cranberries, yoghurt, toast and of course tea and coffee... More

united kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Rooms very basic but clean and reasonably priced. Breakfast good value. It's worth going for the surroundings it's stunning. Great for a walk the old part of the building where we attended a wedding is beautiful and has lots of original. Would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

this hotel is set in a beautiful setting of lydiard park. we were staying for 2 nights in a heatwave! the rooms are very small and very very warm! there were no fans available, and there was little effort to find any for us either. the beds were 4ft although advertised as a double room, all rooms were exactly the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liz L, Sales & Events Co-Ordinator at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

We advertise on all sites that the rooms have small double beds. The weather over the past few weeks has been execptionally warm, we would always try to provide fans when requested. Our guests comfort is extremely important to us and we are continually trying to improve our service. Thank you for your feedback. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lydiard House Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lydiard House Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydiard House Conference Centre

Address: Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lydiard House Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydiard House Conference Centre Hotel Swindon

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Swindon with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
37

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lydiard House Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer