We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lydiard House Conference Centre

Lydiard Tregoze, Swindon SN5 3PA, England
Hotel amenities
Lydiard House Conference Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Swindon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Ann P Leicester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    34
    22
    12
See reviews for
15
42
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

rooms were small but very clean and all areas well maintained, Staff were more than excellent and helpful and every request met with a smile and a will. Food was excellent, served hot and quickly. Would certainly recommend this centre if only for the pleasure of such great staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashwin R, Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments which i will pass onto the team. Your comments are exactly what the team at Lydiard House service levels are and it is great that they have been noticed. Thank you Ashwin More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a regular traveller and visitor on trip advisor I cannot believe I didn't look at the review's first before making the booking. One of the worst hotel's I've stayed in. Bed against wall, no room to move, no headboard, no pictures on the walls and as for the dirt, dust and grime ! Check out 10am as if not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I will pass on the comments to the housekeeping team as their standards of cleanliness are exceptional but seem to have dropped on this occassion. Regards Ashwin Roda More 

Travelers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed on the 2nd – 3rd May we were allocated room 26 and after complaining 34 and then room 4. Room 26 – Musky damp smell, suspicious looking hair on the duvet, bed shoved up against the wall, no headboard on bed and the base of the bed was on show. Room 34 – Smelt slightly better, bed still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. The bedrooms are going through a refurbishment programme and the buildings department for Swindon Borough Council is looking into the damp smell in the bedrooms. My apologies for your bad experience but the housekeeping do their very best to ensure that the bedrooms are to the highest standard at all times.... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

I didn't stay the night, but we booked a private room for a family party. The setting is beautiful, even if the actual building is not. The food was terrible, think 1970's school dinner, and the service was totally disorganised although I will say that the staff were friendly, no one seemed to have a plan and it was far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you did not have a good experience but i have had excellent feedback regarding the food and service for the event and the host left the team with a tip for their hard work and excellent service. Regards Ashwin Roda More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Well, smells like our room has a damp problem, but only minor mould marks around the window, but the whole hotel smelled musty. My clothes smelled of it when I got home. Furniture very dated, but still in good nick. Looked like no one had stayed in our room for a while as lot of dust on the desk /... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are undergoing a refurbishment programme which will rectify the issues you have pointed out. I will look into the smell you mention and thank you for your comments regarding the food. Regards Ashwin Roda More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

If you are used to staying in nice or even run of the mill hotels then this is not for you! Mouldy around the windows, behind the bed, bath that's doesn't look like it's been cleaned in months and a heater with only one setting HOT. To add insult to injury the televisions don't work and they didn't tell us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Justin Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I have had a look at the bedroom that you stayed in and apologise for the mould around the window, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme and all these defects will be rectified. The freeview was not working as due to the strong winds in the area it had effected... More 

Southsea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

We came across this hotel last year when staying at the DeVere Village just up the road. Had a quick chat with the person on reception and a look around, but I was put off by the 10pm check-out :( Near enough 1 year later my Partner decided to book us in to the hotel for a weekend away. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Roger, Thank you for your kind comments which i will pass onto the team. Regards Ashwin Roda More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I would think this would be good for conference guests but not for casual visitors. The residential part needs a good overhaul and feels a bit like somewhere you might go on a school trip. The corridor and room smelt damp and musty, so we had to leave a window open to clear the air; however it looked very clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Julie Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. We are currently refurbishing our bedroom block will have it done soon, and that includes updating the beds and their location. Thank you once again for your comments Ashwin Roda More 

Sussex
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We stayed overnight whilst visiting family in the area. The plan was to spend the day and evening at our family’s home and then check in to the hotel late evening. When I noticed check in was until 23.00 hrs I emailed the hotel to explain what I wanted to do. Reception was most helpful and confirmed that reception was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments which I will pass on to the team. We aim to provide excellent service and facilities at all times and it is really encouraging to be recognised for our efforts. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best Wishes More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile

Duvet cover with rips in. Pool out of order. Plug you could not pull out due to not being attached to chain. Cobwebs. Breakfast : no fresh bread 1 mini Danish pastry, had to ask for my tea and toast. Bathroom in serious need of updating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashwin R, General Manager at Lydiard House Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am sorry that you didn't have a pleasant stay. The service and standards are not what you experienced at the Conference Centre and i will look into the matter resolve it and ensure that it does not happen again. Regards Ashwin More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay