We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa

#17 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Old Vicarage Lane, Swindon SN3 4SH, England (Formerly The South Marston Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
PeacefulWarrior67
Add Your Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    212
    101
    42
    32
See reviews for
91
225
27
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (583)
  • Mar-May only
    (146)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have read some quite negative reviews about this hotel and spa. It is a 3 star and not 4/5. Therefore it does what it says on the can and a little more as far as I am concerned. I spent a week here on business last week. I had an executive room which was absolutely huge, a little too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put together this very constructive report. We will certainly investigate all of your points to ensure that we are meeting an acceptable standard. I am sorry that the room was not vacuumed properly, this is certainly not acceptable. We do usually have soya milk on request so I fear that we had either... More 

mk
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a weekend break as a Christmas treat for myself and my 2 sisters and was quite disappointed the hotel is need of some tlc to say the least the carpets in the bar are very dirty and stained and the rest of the carpets only slightly better alot of area's in need of redecoration and some quite shabby even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed-back I am sorry that this stay was not up to your previous ones with the problems in the wet areas. The spa has been replaced in the last week and we are renewing the sauna wood in a couple of weeks, perhaps you will see a difference if you visit us again More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here on a voucher deal and were surprised how nice it was. The room was good- the bed was a bit soft, but we had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly. The food was great- really tasty and lots of choice. The gym is well equipped. There isn't much nearby, but plenty to do at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor I will ensure that the team see you report Come back to visit soon! More 

Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've been having a tough time lately (thank you for the ahhhs of sympathy!) so it was nice to get away and visit friends. I chose this hotel as it was equidistant to both. Very glad I did. I loved the room - it was spacious and bright and the large bed very comfortable. The bulk of the rooms seem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed-back, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay I hop[e that you will be back when those batteries are running down More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were slightly disappointed with our stay here. We've stayed in a number of Mercure hotels and this wasn't up to the standard we've had previously. The decor of the hotel was outdated and worn. And the 'spa' was, well, not at all a spa (the steam room was not the least bit steamy, the sauna lukewarm and the hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor I am very sorry that the spa facilities did not reach your expectations. All of the areas you mention usually work perfectly well, however I apologise if on this occasion they did not. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, I will ensure that they all see your comments I hope... More 

Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was quite tired looking particularly the carpets. The staff were great and informative; Jackie was superb and nothing was too much trouble! The breakfast and dinner was great and the choice adequate. We used the spa and pool facilities which were great. The room was spacious and very clean with the usual tea / coffee facilities. We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Swindon East Hotel and Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, especially Jackie. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of... More 

Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A one-night stop-over gave us a very comfortable executive room and a chance to use the pool and sauna facilities, too. The pool, the sauna and the steam room were fine, but the jacuzzi was out of order because of some sort of chemicals disorder. "it's always doing this," said an attendant, "we're getting a new one at the end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your mainly positive feedback I am sorry that the Jacuzzi was a problem during your stay. As we speak another one is being installed, so I hope your next visit will be trouble free. My apologies for the poor breakfast, we will monitor the situation and see where we are going wrong I hope to welcome you... More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, I am writing another review of this hotel as we were just as pleased second time around. We choose it for the location - just off the M4 & very convenient for the Cotswolds & Wiltshire. But more than location, the staff are above the norm. very friendly & helpful, from the time of booking in thru to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your second review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am very sorry that we have not addressed the carpet in the public area but this is very much in our plans for the future I look forward to welcoming you back soon More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first stay at this particular hotel. Not sure if this has recently been taken over by Mercure but it definitely needs some TLC. The corridors were a little tired and need new carpets asap. The bedrooms were okay -there was enough room. The bathroom was the same. However, the leisure facilities were excellent. Although, we were using... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback I am very sorry to read about your niggles and be assured we will investigate them all and ensure further training is offered. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the leisure and that you will be returning in the future More 

Porth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent two nights here. The room was standard for hotels of this type being of a good standard with all the usual things in most large chain hotels. We slept well in a cosy quiet rom with a lovely bed. We used the spa and the gym. The gym is well equipped though I did have a shock to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your contribution on this site. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and especially the leisure. I make note of your comments about the carpet and like you I hope that we will be able to replace soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question