We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa

#17 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Old Vicarage Lane, Swindon SN3 4SH, England (Formerly The South Marston Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
jim0c0nnell Chester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    215
    102
    42
    33
See reviews for
91
226
27
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (589)
  • Mar-May only
    (152)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Gloucester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 2 nights on an all inclusive deal and was warmly welcomed by Melvin (I think that was his name) he explained everything to us clearly. I found the food and drink to be excellent value . All the staff were brilliant and Jackie in the restaurant went above and beyond the call of duty to help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your contribution on trip advisor today. I am delighted to read your positive comments and I will make sure that they are seen by the team I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

whilst staying at this hotel with a friend on an all inclusive package; we were both very impressed at the friendliness of all the staff to make our stay enjoyable. this started with Kieran at the front desk ensuring we had all the necessary information on the hotel; and continued with the bar and restaurant staff. special mentions to Jackie;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feed-back today, I am pleased that you have enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you again More 

Swindon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visted here on Tuesday, lunchtime, happy to have lunch and a coffee. First imressions were it was a good space. Throughout the ground floor the capets are stained and badly marked. That is clearly unacceptable. So why is nothing is done about it? Not one single person behind the bar, and no one in the central areas, so we walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a few moments to contribute on this site. I am very sorry that your experience was not memorable for the right reasons. I totally understand your disappointment and sincerely apologise. We have been working towards a new carpet for some time but as you will have seen this is a very large area and the cost... More 

Taff in Transit
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night with a work colleague. First impression of the hotel from the outside was ok, on entering the reception it is apparent it is in need of modernising to bring it up to the standard of other Mercure Hotels I have stayed in. The room was fair, clean but not comfortable for me and I did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed-back I am sorry that you did not find the hotel in line with other Mercure Hotels that you have visited. We are hoping to replace the hotel carpet very soon and you will certainly see a difference when that is complete. I am pleased that you enjoyed most of your food, but disappointed that you... More 

Barnstapl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have just spent a lovely weekend at this hotel, which was given as a gift. Very comfortable room, and excellent pool and jacuzzi which were not too crowded. We received a warm and informative welcome, and nothing was too much trouble, so would definitely return for another stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your contribution to this site, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feed-back I hope that we will see you again soon More 

Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have read some quite negative reviews about this hotel and spa. It is a 3 star and not 4/5. Therefore it does what it says on the can and a little more as far as I am concerned. I spent a week here on business last week. I had an executive room which was absolutely huge, a little too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put together this very constructive report. We will certainly investigate all of your points to ensure that we are meeting an acceptable standard. I am sorry that the room was not vacuumed properly, this is certainly not acceptable. We do usually have soya milk on request so I fear that we had either... More 

mk
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a weekend break as a Christmas treat for myself and my 2 sisters and was quite disappointed the hotel is need of some tlc to say the least the carpets in the bar are very dirty and stained and the rest of the carpets only slightly better alot of area's in need of redecoration and some quite shabby even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed-back I am sorry that this stay was not up to your previous ones with the problems in the wet areas. The spa has been replaced in the last week and we are renewing the sauna wood in a couple of weeks, perhaps you will see a difference if you visit us again More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on a voucher deal and were surprised how nice it was. The room was good- the bed was a bit soft, but we had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly. The food was great- really tasty and lots of choice. The gym is well equipped. There isn't much nearby, but plenty to do at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor I will ensure that the team see you report Come back to visit soon! More 

Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been having a tough time lately (thank you for the ahhhs of sympathy!) so it was nice to get away and visit friends. I chose this hotel as it was equidistant to both. Very glad I did. I loved the room - it was spacious and bright and the large bed very comfortable. The bulk of the rooms seem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily R, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed-back, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay I hop[e that you will be back when those batteries are running down More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question