We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Swindon hotels

Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Vicarage Lane, Swindon SN3 4SH, England (Formerly The South Marston Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
74%
Ranked #12 of 31 hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Samantha B Stafford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (518)
  • Photos (90)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (97)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    188
    84
    34
    29
See reviews for
80
201
25
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked 2 rooms at this hotel to stay over on a Saturday night with an elderly family member. The rooms were very spacious, lovely comfortable beds and great bathroom facilities. The Man on reception was very helpful and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed using the large gym and the pool / sauna area was very clean and enjoyable. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SGSN3, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you generally had a good time with us, I will certainly speak to teh relevant teams reagdring the couple of minor food issues you raised and hopefully on your next visit you will see a marked improvement. Thank you again for... More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Accommodation - we were in a room which didn't exist according to the wall signs so it took us a while to find it! Having found it, we were pleasantly surprised. It was very large and well furnished. No complaint there. We also liked the leisure facilities, which were very good. The changing facilities are the best I've come across... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SGSN3, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I will be looking into your comments regarding the food and service in the restaurant. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the room and leisure facilities and the team on reception were helpful. I will pass your comments onto the relevant teams. More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For business purposes this place is ok and what you would expect from a chain run hotel. The spa is fine and the rooms are spacious with good sized bathrooms. However I had a very disappointing meal and had to complain to the manager. I ate at the same time as a party of 26 and was frankly treated as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SGSN3, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us, I am sorry the service and food standards caused you to complain to the management. We are in the process of making some changes in the food production whcih I hope will be of benefit to the hotel in the coming weeks and months. Thank you for bringing this... More

Brisbane
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The advantages first. The bar/meal staff are friendly and attentative. The room was nicely set out and large, and importantly in summer air-conditioned a rarity I understand for this type of hotel. The negatives, you are set in the middle of nowhere a little way out of Swindon. It works best as a conference centre, wedding reception venue and fitness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SGSN3, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us....I have noted your comments and will discuss them with my management team and we look forward to you returing to the hotel in the future. More

Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked this as an anniversary break. great Break not so great breakfast Lovely hotel and even better staff. Greeted so well and told about facilities and breakfast 7 til 11. Went down for breakfast on Saturday at 10.15 and really enjoyed. The nicest sausages I have tasted in a while. On Sunday repeated the process to discover that they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SGSN3, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us, I am sorry to read your experiences in the hotel during your stay. I am afraid I have not received your e-mail for me to respond. Please can you re send your e-mail to me sending it to generalmanager@southmarstonhotel.com More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent 2 days at this hotel my first impressions were good, we had a pleasant welcome and the reception area was very smart and tidy, to get to our room we had to negotiate a total of 11 doors, some you push some you pull, not good when you have suitcases to haul around and the corridor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SGSN3, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review yoru recent stay with us, I have taken the points you have raised and will look into them immediately. More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been teaching at the Mercure Hotel for some time now The room I teach in is well laid out. The Staff on reception , Cafe , Housekeeping, are very helpfull nothing is too much trouble this has made my job so much easer. If you are looking for a venue to teach or have a conferance have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SGSN3, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your meetings we host for you. It is a pleasure looking after you each week and we thank you for your continued support of the hotel. More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had afternoon tea here today with my friend & our 3 children following our swim. I have to say it's the best afternoon tea I've ever had!! Beautiful fresh sandwiches & cakes & the portions were huge. 5 star service from the staff especially the manager Victor. Thank you for such a lovely afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SGSN3, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review following your afternoon tea here at the hotel. I will pass your thanks onto Victor and we look forward to you coming back to the hotel very soon. More

Retford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having read previous reviews I was concerned due to previous reviews. I have brought a coach party here and was very impressed on arrival by the welcome from Adam who came onto the coach and explained everything about the hotel to my passengers. The rooms are very nice and the only 'dirty carpet' I saw was a slightly soiled one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SGSN3, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with your group at the hotel, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I will be happy to pass on your thanks to Adam, Mikey and Victor. There is a plan in place to replace the carpet in the area you mentioned later this year... More

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me start with the good points, Kelvin on reception was great. He is efficient, friendly and helpful and really welcomed us to the hotel. The spa facilities are very good and clean with a wonderful pool and even though it was busy, we didn't feel overcrowded, however they could do with having more sun loungers or chairs. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SGSN3, General Manager at Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the hotel, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our leisure facilities and the service you received from our reception team. I am sorry to read your experience in the restaurant did not match the rest of the hotel. I will be speaking to the team to see how we can... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa

Address: Old Vicarage Lane, Swindon SN3 4SH, England (Formerly The South Marston Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel Swindon
Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel And Spa
Nightingale Hotel Swindon

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Swindon with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Swindon
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa is ideally located, surrounded by beautiful countryside set in a unique area whilst only a short drive from Swindon, the M4 and The Cotswolds, Swindon Designer Outlet & Swindon Town Centre. With our state of the art gym & 23 metre indoor swimming pool, as well as our health & beauty spa, we have some of the best facilities in the Swindon area. Free parking & Free WiFi for all guests. We also provide great food and service whether in our dining area or leisure cafe. We host a Sunday Carvery every week from 12.30am-4pm. A hidden gem on the outskirts of Swindon, a hotel you will want to return to again and again ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Swindon South Marston Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer