We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stanton House Hotel

The Avenue | Fitzwarren, Swindon SN6 7SD, England
Hotel amenities
Stanton House Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Swindon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
brian f
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    83
    42
    27
    10
See reviews for
40
83
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well located off A419/M4 [J15]. Peaceful and delightful location in beautifully kept park with views to lake. Excellent japanese food [mainly japanese] and fresh sushi/nigiri in main dining room. lacks atmosphere and management direction and bar/restaurant staff not very slick. Need more proaction to clear tables up of dirty glasses/plates on terrace. Nice big room [superior dble] with good views.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Went here for a family and friends gathering to celebrate my grown up daughters birthday. We were all looking forward to a cream tea in the lovely conservatory amidst the beautiful setting of the Hotel. The service was pretty bad and the Japanese waitress incomprehensible. As I have stayed here in the past and found the rooms, service etc. excellent,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed here for 2 night in summer and the prices are quite high (and they do not include breakfast!). The interior of the room needs refurbishing as it looks quite old. The surroundings are very nice though, and you can have a relaxing stroll in the garden and the park. Very isolate and not on the main road,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked for our wedding night because it look like a top hotel. Nope! Staff were rude and unhelpful. Couldn't check in 5 minutes early even though we were getting married in an hour. Both of us had to sign for the room together...even though we were getting married that day! Room looked lovely but my gosh, the bed was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stantonhouse, Front Office Manager at Stanton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bethyboo84, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you weren't totally satisfied with the check in process and the room condition. Normally we would be happy to check the guest in earlier then 14:00 should the room become available, however the room was not available on this occasion hence the reason of the waiting.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really nice hotel for £65 per night. Bed was really comfy and shower was ok too, Lovely surroundings and breakfast was included. Our engineer stayed her 1 night. There was no complaints by him Would without a doubt book here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stantonhouse, Front Office Manager at Stanton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TMFIREANDSECURITY, Thank you so much for the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues in the near future. Regards Ling More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were invited here Sunday for a father's day lunch, we knew it was Japanese themed so not my husband's usual fare, but we went with an open mind. The building was lovely, we made our way to the restaurant, there was a good selection and we happily tried everything from the buffet on offer, we also had a selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stantonhouse, Front Office Manager at Stanton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charyld L, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you weren't totally satisfied with the price of the Father's day special buffet. I will forward your comments on to our catering manager and we hope to welcoming you in the near future. Regards Ling More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled here for work, didn't know what to expect.. the grounds the hotels in are so pretty and lovely to sit outside, but the bar itself lacks atmosphere. Strong Japanese theme (breakfast - chopsticks available? music was quite oriental). Rooms themselves quite cramped, the lounge/bed area almost smaller than the bathroom. TV selection terrible, no HD option, selection of about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stantonhouse, Front Office Manager at Stanton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit at Stanton House Hotel. I am glad to hear that you liked our external ground and sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room decor and facilities in the room. We are in the process of refurbishing some of our rooms and upgrading our TV system. Once... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked afternoon tea, bed and breakfast through a voucher site for a very reasonable price. The downside of this was that we were situated in the old part of the house and the rooms were slightly dated. We did have a nice bathroom although this didn't come equipped with anything other than a shower gel. The afternoon tea was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stantonhouse, Front Office Manager at Stanton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BSR1961, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am glad that you have enjoyed the time in Stanton. We are offering many room types in Stanton, including Classic, Executive and Four Poster rooms. Some of those rooms in a Manor House Style and some with modern decor. You have booked a Classic Double in... More 

Solihull England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Stanton House for 2 nights in May. The deal was excellent value. Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable. We ate at the hotel on both nights of out stay. On the first we used the Mt Fuji restaurant. This was fun, cooking your own food at an inset table barbecue. On the second night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stantonhouse, Front Office Manager at Stanton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MartinLindop, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am glad that you have enjoyed the time in Stanton and the dinner experience in both of our restaurants. Stanton has always advertised as situated in the charming village called Stanton Fitzwarren which is on the edge of the Cotswolds. Perhaps the websites that you have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night during a visit around the Cotswolds, whilst the building looks gorgeous, the room was a disappointment. Had afternoon tea on arrival which was nice enough, but cannot hide my disappointment with the room - the decor was very dated, the bed needs new mattress( sagging and lumpy). Poor TV reception and not a great choice of channels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
stantonhouse, Front Office Manager at Stanton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear realmat2010, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit at Stanton House Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room decor and facilities of the room. We are in the process of refurbishing some of our rooms and updating some of the facilities. We hope in the near further you would like to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay