We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    141
    73
    35
    29
See reviews for
41
64
43
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (370)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

They have a drop off zone outside so provided its not busy you can park your car here and check in. Parking was a 5 minute walk away, next to Swindon railway station. The room was spacious, a good bed for my partner and I but the kids had to share a sofa bed and they did complain about it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The reception is welcoming, though do not make the mistake of thinking it is one flight up from the ground and opt for the stairs - use the lift! Rooms pleasant, very standard but everything you would expect. Slightly disorienting numbering system means that finding your room at first can take a little thought, odd one side, even the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights in a huge family room for visiting the Royal International Ar Tattoo. The family room was very large and clean, breakfast was fine and the staff were more than helpful. The general manager was on floor duty and was doing all he could to make guests feel comfortable and welcome. The reception staff had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you so very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Royal Air Tattoo, this is one of the busiest weekends of the year for us, however we strive to ensure that everyone is well looked after and receives very best service, as you've noted this come all the... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were very polite and very helpful. Our room on the 1st floor was clean and everything was in a good condition. The breakfast was fine with plenty of choice and staff working hard to keep everything running smoothly. The car parking is just up the road at the station. It is a pay and display so you really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I'm pleased on balance you enjoyed your stay with us, and delighted that you have pointed out the lengths our staff go to, to ensure that our guests have a great stay. Look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks again, Lee More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for few nights after are flats was hit by lighting and caught the flats on fire. the staff was friendly and the room was clean and dirt free also the food was amazing and there was big range of breakfast and evening menu good place to stay 100%

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Jamie. Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us although I hope next time it will be under better circumstances. Thanks again, Lee More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights as a base for walking the Thames footpath. Our reception both pleasant and welcoming. Positioned on the 4th floor our room was clean but in need of redecorating, also having carpet stains and broken lampshade. Retiring early we were unable to sleep, due to a noisy inefficient a c which we turned off. Traffic noise, train... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi John, thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel. I was disappointed to read that you didn't get a great first nights sleep with us. Being in such a central location it can of course mean that we are effected by noise. I was delighted to read however that the team were able to assist... More 

Travelers are raving about these Swindon hotels

SW Scoland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really friendly staff and a clean, comfortable room, but the air conditioning/ventilation was noisy and it was too loud outside to have the window opened. The bar/breakfast area was nice, but the drinks were incredibly overpriced and breakfast was disappointing. Don't get me wrong, what was on offer for breakfast was good, but there just wasn't enough to choose from.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi John, thanks for leaving a review. With regards the complimentary breakfast, this is well within the Express brand, you will not find bacon in the majority of the hotels as we're permitted a limited number of hot items. Thanks for providing the handy tip! mobiles can indeed deactivate hotel room keys. Thanks again, Lee More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No thrills, no fuss , great customer service, perfect for a stopover. A closer and more secure car park would be ideal and comforting but 200-300 meter walk is not going to kill anyone. (Top tip: Drive to Hotel Drop off point, go upstairs to reception to purchase a Parking ticket to display on dashboard before parking the car in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review, I hope the team can be of service to you again in the future. Many thanks Lee More 

Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived very late one night, desperate for a place to stay, after running from an Ibis that seemed more like a student ghetto than a hotel. We were lucky to get a room; for some reason Swindon hotel rooms are sold out on Monday through Wednesday every week. I never expected to end up in Swindon, to tell you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi! thank you for your review and scores, I'm pleased that Swindon gave you a pleasant surprise on your unexpected stay here. Should you return to the UK we'd love to have you stay with us again. Many thanks, Lee More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception staff were very pleasant and the hotel was central in the town centre. Parking was a very short walk away by the station and £6 for 24 hours, not too bad, ticket can be bought from reception. Whilst the room was clean and comfortable, with the double sofa bed made up it felt a bit cramped, I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Peter. Thank you for review, I'm please that on balance your enjoyed your stay with us. Our room are all the same with regards to size and we have tried to unitise the space as best as possible. For those travellers not as experienced as yourself we do also provide earplugs for the lighter city centre sleeper. Once again,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#5 of 30 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#19 of 30 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marriott Swindon Hotel
Marriott Swindon Hotel
#9 of 30 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Swindon
Hilton Swindon
#15 of 30 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay