We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Swindon hotels

Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Swindon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
smbsstt Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (289)
  • Photos (94)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (56)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    117
    49
    28
    20
See reviews for
31
48
37
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was booked into this hotel with an associate, luckily for only one night. The booking was for a twin room, we arrived to find the room was actually a double....but with a "sofa bed". This was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, the mattress was 3inches deep over sharp metal springs, for most of the following... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, I am saddened to learn that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Your... More

Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms and bathroom had been renovated recently, everything was very clean and in working order. Staff were friendly enough and laundry came back quickly. Free coffee, juice etc in the lobby 24/7. Breakfast was average, but enough fruit and cereal to keep me going until lunch. WiFi worked well in the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel. It is pleasing to know that our bathroom facilities met your standards. I will certainly share your comments with our team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised. I would like... More

Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night on a business trip, check in was slick and friendly, room was large with free wifi and a comfortable bed. I had a button come of one of my shirts and asked at reception for some help where the young girl on duty provided me with a complementary sewing kit complete with shirt button, so thanks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Bruce596 Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I will certainly share your comments with our team who I know will be delighted to... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here for the Air Tattoo show. Stuff was great, always smiling and always trying to help. Free tasty coffee at the lobby all day long as well as free breakfast and wifi at the room made it a pleasant staying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Nir78 Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel. I will certainly share your comments with our team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised. Thank you for appreciating our tasty coffee; we've just recently installed new coffee machines -... More

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled to Swindon for a wedding. Staff very helpful and managed to arrange an early check in so we could change before a 2pm ceremony. Room very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price so it was very good value. Parking at the railway station but only a couple of minutes walk so wasn't a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Good morning Niadhe Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel. I am glad that you were able to get into your room early; I trust your wedding experience was an enjoyable one. I will certainly share your comments with our team who I know will be delighted... More

Staffordshire, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived late and my double room had been changed to a twin ie two single beds - strangly I was told that there wouldn't be an extra charge for the extra bed! The hotel isn't great, though the bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was a huge disappointment and left a lot to be desired and even though I was told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Matthew_Cole, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is pleasing to know that our bathroom facility met your standards. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the breakfast and room accommodation. Rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to management for future upgrade considerations.... More

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here on business numerous times. The hotel is great, staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are really clean, facilities are what you would expect from a HI Express. The breakfast and food at the hotel bar is also pretty good, lots to select from and is all fresh and pretty good quality. My only complaint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Good morning Martyn Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel. I will certainly share your terrific comments with our team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised. It's enormously satisfying to hear good things about the detail that we can... More

Uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay here every month and the rooms seem to be grubbier than ever. Bathroom was mouldy. Bathroom door didn't shut properly. The view was bad and the off site parking confusing they didn't have any parking permits so cost is more to stay here. The reception staff are nice and reception area but the rooms are tiny. Our last... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you liked our reception area and the service received from our reception staff. I regret that the room accommodation and bathroom’s level of cleanliness was a disappointment. We do take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow... More

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Overall the stay was fine but as pointed out in previous reviews, the off site parking isnt ideal but its hardly far to walk either. The rooms are adequate sized and reasonably comfortable. Staff are friendly and polite. Not bad for the price in my eyes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Deex85 Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Tripadvisor review for our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I will certainly share your comments with our team who I know will be delighted to hear... More

wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were looking for a simple 'base' for a night out in Swindon, somewhere clean, comfy and near to the train station. Really wasn't expecting much for the price I paid - 44 GBP total cost for 2 persons with breakfast, booked with a 'well known online hotel booking site' but let's just say, I was pleasantly surprised from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review

Dear smellleyelly, Thank you for staying with us and your feedback regarding your experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Andrej Katona Operations Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
134

See which rooms travelers prefer