We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Swindon

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Swindon
Review This Hotel

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    96
    64
    37
    18
See reviews for
56
48
23
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (296)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is clean and actually service tends to be friendly. But that's about it, it's really unfortunately located behind a petrol station and on a very busy road so from first impression it's not going to be nice. Rooms are so basic, nothing extra, it's really the sort of place you would only book if there was nothing else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Including the staff too! It was everything a Holiday Inn is expected to be but was nowhere near as good as the one in Shepperton where I stayed a couple of weeks ago. The corridors smelt of a hospital or old peoples care home which was somewhat distressing! Everything worked and easily the best part was you could adjust the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All the concerns below were raised with IHG who informed me that the local management team were looking into the problems and that they would personally get in touch with me. None of the problems were resolved during the stay. None of the staff spoke to me about the issue. I've been staying at this hotel on and off for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review

Dear John W Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns, it is unfortunate that your visit to the Holiday Inn Swindon has been a disappointment on several levels. It is our goal to consistently provide superior services and accommodations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am due to visit this hotel 21.03.15 but contacted the hotel yesterday in attempt to bring forward my stay, if possible to 16.03.15. Firstly, the reception telephone had been left unattended so my call was left ringing out for some time. Another member of staff eventually answered & informed me the receptionist was 'busy'. Understanding this, I discussed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Jade H Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns it is unfortunate that on this occasion your experience was a disappointment. my sincere apologies for the confusion and upset that may have been caused during the time of your booking. The issues you have raised will be looked into so this problem doesn't arise... More 

Bagshot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I prepaid and had a confirmed reservation. When I arrived at 10.30pm they did not have a room for me. Awkward - yes! I had travelled 300 miles and was exhausted. The reception staff said they had offered my room to someone else earlier. I asked why they had not phoned me to explain and that they were looking for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Microsoft Windows App

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Dave H Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is unfortunate that on this occasion your stay was a disappointment on several aspects. Its important to for us to provide excellent service and accommodation for all our guests and your feedback enables us to target problem areas and resolve them and ensure similar... More 

Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Writing this review with only 2 nignts left at the holiday inn having been here for 32 days already die to working in swindon must say its been a very good stay well looked after by all the staff..he only niggle i had was with the cleaners of the bedroom ..on 4 occasions did not replenish the tea bags sugar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review

Dear si2008 Thank you for your recent review for the Holiday Inn Swindon. We are delighted you have enjoyed your long stay with us and that we did not disappoint. We strive on giving the best service at the Holiday Inn and that's always nice to know when we have delivered. The issues you did have during your stay I... More 

Swindon, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner arranged a surprise party here for my birthday just after Christmas. All went well with the arrangements prior to the day with Stella being particularly helpful. The number of guests attending were 40, a private room was booked and my partner had arranged for the buffet (she chose the option at £14.99 per head) to be served at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review

Dear johnwiltshire Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. My sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you experienced here at the Holiday Inn. Its important for us to provide excellent customer service for all our guests and your feedback enables us to target problem areas, resolve them and to ensure similar situations can be... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Breakfast virtually ran out at 9,30 with another hour to go. Seemed understaffed. Didn't see the pool / gym, but the bar and pool table area was welcoming. Staff were very helpful and gave us a free upgrade when they worked out they'd not booked us in properly. Love the 'choose your pillow' gimmick! Rooms clean and comfortable. Bed very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Louise V Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback, We apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay, these problem areas are something we can target to ensure similar situations doesn't happen again. We are however delighted that our team was able to rectify the booking situation for you. Hopefully... More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Firstly the positive - the staff were all very helpful and their service was excellent. However, the staff are not the reason one stays at a hotel. The room was very dated - the furniture looked as if it had been put in there in the 1970s. The bed was rock hard. The shower was so weak it was almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review

Dear John W Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns, it is unfortunate that on this occasion you were very disappointed with your stay, I have however taken on board your constructive feedback and will look into this in more detail. We are sincerely sorry for any inconvenience or disappointment that may have been caused... More 

Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

one night away on business. Agree with the comments , it's dated , rooms are tiny but staff friendly. Soon reallocated my twin to a double after a quick call. Food and bar ok. Seems a high price but then there are leisure facilities here. Ample parking. Not sure on wifi but didn't appear to be free? Neither here nor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Alistair S Thank you for your recent review for the Holiday Inn Swindon. We really appreciate your constructive feedback as this enables us to target problem areas and try to improve them. We apologise for any disappointment you may have experienced during your stay. If you wish to discuss your review or to even make suggestions on how we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question