We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Village Urban Resort Swindon

Shaw Ridge Leisure Park | Whitehill Way, Swindon SN5 7DW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Swindon)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Urban Resort Swindon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Village Urban Resort Swindon
Add Your Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    223
    122
    37
    19
See reviews for
103
184
29
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (571)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I used to live in Swindon and this used to be one of the 'posh' hotels. We were returning for a few days to catch-up with some friends, get the car serviced at the dealership, shop at the Designer outlet and dine at one of our most favourite restaurants in the country. We tried to check in & our booking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When visiting the local outlet. We often choose to stay at the village. This time was no exception. The check in and check out was efficient. My kids love the pool. Breakfast is top notch with a good selection...

Was this review helpful? Yes
March, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We upgraded to the suite. Thinking it would be lovely. They had other ideas on lovely. Very very dark room. Why have black wallpaper with black blinds and black curtains. Crazy!!!!!!! Two lamps not working (we informed hotel staff and nothing was done). No flannels. Horrid smelling body wash and shampoo. Bespoke drinks package was just Starbucks hot chocolate. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent Review. I was sorry to read that you did not like the Decor and colour scheme in the Suites and there were several issues that needed attention. It is important for us to have your views so we can review our future refurbishment plans and we appreciate your comments. Best wishes Andrew Spink... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in the king suite for my partners 40th birthday, room cost was £135, we had a separate lounge area which was nice, however the room was so dark and the lighting was poor, just lamps which some were not working.The tea and coffee was not replenished fully and had to ask for some at reception. Found an empty beer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a Review. I was sorry to read you felt the Suite was not value for money and my apologies for that. We will ensure the Houskeeping standards are reviewed. Best wishes Andrew Spink General Manager More 

Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed the first night to go and see Paul Weller at the Oasis Leisure Centre. 10 mins cab ride away. Hotel was very nice, staff were exceptional particularly in the restaurant and breakfast staff. Quite a different feel and we thought it was great. We stayed a second night with our 10 year old and spent the day at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review and I hope you enjoyed the Paul Weller concert at the Oasis, sorry I missed him! It was nice to read you were able to make full use of the local area whilst in Swindon and I will be sure to pass on your thanks to Alex in the Restaurant who looked after... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a voucher given to me for my birthday.me and my partner wanted a weakened away I had researched the hotel and read the reviews.... and what a relaxing stay. Really lovely staff in the Italian restaurant. Everyone we met were ever so friendly. The only downside is the prices. Everything is extremely expensive for 2 cold drinks pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your recent Review and I was pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Make sure you thank the person who gave you the gift voucher and pass on my thanks as well ! We hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes Andrew Spink General Manager More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my partner decided to get away for valentines (had a baby 10weeks before) so a night away was needed!! When we arrived the receptionist was very welcoming and very helpful with all the questions I had! The room was perfect, very clean and bed was very comfortable! We went out of hotel for food as we ate late... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your recent Review and I was pleased you enjoyed your Valentines Evening with us and your kind words regarding the Team. Come back and see us again and make it a Family stay with your Baby. Look forward to seeing you again soon Best wishes Andrew Spink General Manager More 

cirencester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In comparison to the Spa Days offered by other venues this one was not great value for money. The facilities were clean and fully functional but there was no element of pampering at all. Towels were provided but a deposit of £10 was required for a very poor quality [and small!!!] robe. No complimentary drinks or lunch - all of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent Review of the Spa. I was sorry you felt the price of £45 per person for the treatments and use of the Leisure Facilities was over priced. We do have other Packages available which do include extras such as refreshments and Lunch and my apologies you felt the price paid was not good... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this weekend with a voucher that the kids got us for Christmas and fancied something different as we always seem to go to London. Swindon was chosen due to access, shopping and closer proximity to the coast if we decided to have a short jaunt to the sea ! Have to say, i've been to Village resorts for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent Review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your Christmas Gift. We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Very best wishes and thanks again Andrew Spink General Manager More 

Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Heating not switched on until 5pm and room very cold. Bathroom quite shabby. Requested a double room that was quiet, instead we had a twin room overlooking the busy road! Attempted to charge us for drinks that had already been paid for. A very average Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew S, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swindon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your recent Review and I am sorry we were only just "ok". I will be reveiweing the comments with the Team and my apologies you left unimpressed which to be honest is most unusual. Thanks again and best wishes Andrew Spink General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question