We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly The Stuart Hotel)
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Derby
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Sarah M Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    188
    163
    124
    146
See reviews for
69
257
67
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (738)
  • Mar-May only
    (162)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (199)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (170)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel almost a month ago and had quite a few problems with my room while I was there. During my stay a number of things were broken or not-working properly in the room. Firstly, the toilet was not properly working, it had to be held for about 20 seconds before starting to flush. Also the flow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lobby nice and clean , breakfast was great , pleased was able to go at last minute and didn't have to precook . Was chuffed we were able to book in early as we were going to a wedding at 3 and the website said we couldn't book in until 2 , when we got there at 10:30 with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms are old and smelly I'm general they have changed my room as the heating wasn't working . The furnitures were old and thf toilet was smelly due to plumbing issues . and I wouldn't rate it more than a two stars

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Do not stay at this so called hotel! It's more like a hostel for the homeless people! Me & a friend stayed here on the 11th April 2015 booked a double room ended up with a single bed went to see if we could get a refund as I wasn't pleased with this manager refused told me didn't have any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First off ... their top family room means all 5 members of family crammed into one room.. even though we paid £190 per night . We asked for a cot in the room ... we got their and there wasn't one .. when we rang room.service and asked for one it took 2 hours for them to find one. Nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was a little apprehensive about my stay at The Stuart which was booked at the last minute by my company having seen a few reviews . However , I was very pleasantly surprised . The welcome was warm - efficient and helpful check in. The restaurant was very good - beautifully cooked evening meal and freshly cooked breakfast .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
60 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A stayed here for one night on business. The room was very small, and quite basic, one of the more unusual hotels I've stayed in recently. The bar area was nice, and location is just up from the station and a few restaurants and pubs, good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here after a day in alton towers. The hotel was very clean and staff very helpful. We went out for the evening for dinner and drinks and upon returning (after midnight) we asked the guy on reception for a bucket with ice, to which he couldn't have been more accommodating. It was much appreciated. The only thing was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a night at the Stuart Hotel, stayed in an executive double which was a large room, nice en-suite and all the normal facilities. Hotel is located just a 100 metres from the shopping centre and nightlife. Hotel is clean, did not eat in the evening but breakfast was good and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here over the Christmas Period. Could not fault this hotel - excellent service, facilities and cleanliness. Will definitely re-visit as great value for money and good location. Thanks to the hotel staff and management!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question