We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Derby hotels

BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly The Stuart Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Derby
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
awandl25 Stafford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    181
    149
    115
    131
See reviews for
61
245
65
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (684)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (199)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (139)
All months
Havant, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Car park free of charge but full so you have to park on the street and pay for that (max 4 hrs); Loud! Don't count to have any sleep there! No lift and no willing to help you with luggage if you have to use stairs; No pressure in the shower and bathrooms are far from those on the website.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to sincerely apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading some of these reviews I felt a little mixed about my stay but I found the hotel clean and comfy. The location couldn't be better Strangely I have to agree with the noise comments. Doors were slamming for over half the night. I cannot believe the Stuart attracts continuously late night noisy clients so I put this down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean room, friendly staff, reasonable breakfast. Leaking pipe in roof, cold corridors, knocking heating, kettle hidden in a floor level drawer. Good parking and location. Do not have a ground floor room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a double room it was a little tight. I cannot understand why a large sink was installed in such a small bathroom. Modern rooms are good and well decorated. Shower powerful and warm, although the bathroom is cramped at best. The ethernet internet is nice, but doesn't work with your ipad without additional hardware and Wi-Fi is only in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival to check in, there were two members of staff behind Reception, neither acknowledged me and carried on what they were doing for a couple of minutes. When I did check in it was quick, efficient and friendly. The room was freezing cold with no heating on, I phoned Reception to enquire but got little response and no further... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Slow checking in, no staff manning the bar, showers had no hot water and no room at breakfast. The rooms were clean and well presented and the staff were friendly on reception. Free car park which is ok but no wifi in the rooms??

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. With... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here Saturday night part of a Christmas market excursion. Was ok but a lot of the party weren't happy. Room seemed very hot my only real complaint. Everything in our room worked fine tv fine shower I thought was brilliant! They were a bit behind with breakfast as we had a schedule to stick to. Wasn't a problem for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our works annual bash was held here for the third year running. Had a great evening. Staff were very helpful,obliging friendly and cheerful. Not sure what the folks posting bad reviews expect for their money. This is a very reasonably priced city centre hotel. Standard rooms are quite small but adequate and clean,breakfast is freshly cooked and very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope to welcome you back... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Writing this to the sound of a 120 decibel band under the room. Wife thankfully has earplugs. An awful hotel, toe nails in the bath with mixed hairs, impossible to sleep, the list us endless. If I hadn't had a drink I'd drive the 200 miles home. GHASTLY

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. If... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with family as we were looking to book for an event in 2015 so thought we'd try it out. Not the best area, but the hotel Bar, and Restaurant is very well presented and modern. Reception took 5 mins to actually appear, but checked us in with efficiency. Car parking whilst Free is limited and spaces are tiny... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. If... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Address: 119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly The Stuart Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Derby
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derby

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay