We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Derby hotels

BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly The Stuart Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
45%
Ranked #24 of 30 hotels in Derby
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Ja2427 Liverpool, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (614)
  • Photos (113)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (88)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

614 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    162
    133
    100
    121
See reviews for
57
224
60
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What I great stay staff so nice stayed some time ago and it was hell let loose but had to stay again omg what a difference saw what I believe to be a new manager there seems to have given it a new lease of life staff smilling and what is nice radio on at breakfast and how nice to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and have noticed all of the improvements in which have been set in place here at the hotel. Nigel would also like to pass on his sincere thanks to you for mentioning him in your... More

Leca da Palmeira, Portugal
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

No wifi, terrible rooms, great staff though... Really friendly and almost ashamed of the hotel itself. I was there while the managers and administrators were there and those people looked like mafia bosses... Stay away from this hotel...

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place didn't leave a strong impression, good or bad. I will say it had its pros and cons. Overall I wouldn't intentionally avoid this place but if there seems to be better options available, you might want to go for it. I arrived with 7 members of my family, two adults and three children in one room and two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I would like to let you know that your comments have been taken on board as your satisfaction is important to us. We will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope... More

derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Think twice, bad experience at both check-in and checkout, too much was faulty in the room, ranging from electricity sockets to missing Ethernet face plates- it was stupid!!!!! The shower was cold due to no hot water pressure!!!! what help is this at 6:00am in the morning!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have the unfortunate honour of staying in the stuart tonight. Room is small hot and noisy. Went to the bar for something to eat. Should have known better when the only other person in the bar sent back their food as I sat down. Ordered a burger. Waited 45 minutes. The most horrible plate of food I have ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've never written a bad review before but this hotel needs it!!! As I have used best western hotels before I thought this would be a safe bet.... But I was wrong!!!! The main problem with this hotel was the temperature, the hallways were hot but the room was unbearable. Wasn't able to sleep all night due to the heat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stifling heat, leaky roof, and, in our three rooms, the clogged air conditioning units and remote controllers were all knackered. The situation was not helped by the fact that some of the radiators in the corridors were red hot, and also that ground floor room windows do not open! You might be tempted to think that all the other reviews... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Address: 119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly The Stuart Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Derby

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Derby with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derby
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is now branded as BEST WESTERN The Stuart hotel. Each Best Western(R) branded hotel is independently owned and operated. The hotel has 100 bedrooms, stylish restaurant, hip bar, conference and banqueting facilities, free car parking and free internet access throughout the hotel. The hotel is ideally located in Derby city centre. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
100

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer