We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Derby hotels

BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly The Stuart Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Derby
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
mickymoo122
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    182
    153
    118
    136
See reviews for
63
248
66
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (701)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (199)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (156)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The managers name is peter carter. We have stayed in many hotels and it is the best customer service we have had. The manager is very friendly and the manager goes out if his way to make your stay great. Would highly recommend it and will be staying again. It is also our second time and wasn't disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in hotels across the UK and Europe quite a lot and because I do it so much need to find a way of not paying too much. Sometimes I come unstuck and unfortunately this was one such time. First impressions aren't great. The hotel looks like it hasn't changed on the outside in 30 years and probably hasn't.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Positive: Comfy bed Clean room Great hair dryer Staff in restraunt were friendly efficient and helpful Negative: Rude unhelpful male duty manager on 16th January. We had requested early Access to room to dress for 2 pm graduation ceremony having driven from London! This was deemed impossible and despite several polite requests this was not seen as a priority and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Read reviews after booking this hotel, thought we had made a big mistake. Firstly the heating broke down a few weeks ago but now the heat is overpowering and needs to be turned down. Rooms spotless. We had a meal in the restaurant a little overpriced but very nice, breakfast was everything anyone could want. Would have no problems recommending... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a superior family room for the night while staying over in Derby. When checking in it seemed to be a little hectic with the staff behind desk not really knowing what was going on that evening. Having paid upfront I was expecting a swift check in but that was not the case. I was almost charged again for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving at the hotel l was put in a room that had a bin full of dirty tissues, a toilet that had been used and not flushed and the flush did not work! Carried bags downstairs as l was being given a ground floor room only to find it was already occupied!, Carried backs back upstairs to third room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked three double rooms with breakfast for family. Needed a central Derby location and The Stuart met our needs. Rooms were generally comfortable except for radiator stuck on in one room making it too warm. Clean rooms with all you could need. We received a friendly welcome and the inclusive breakfast was more than filling.Considering the price our stay was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More 

northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are regular Best Western users and this hotel had everything we needed for our exploration of surrounding Derbyshire. Great city centre location, with free parking which we believe is a must for any city hotel, clean and modern hotel, rooms comfortable and well furnished. We were not at all disappointed excellent around value.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here several times, most of which were booked via last minute deals online. The rooms are tired, ugly and noisy. We were given rooms twice that had a noisy fan outside. I would not return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartSales, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Address: 119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly The Stuart Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Derby
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derby

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay