We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly The Stuart Hotel)
Hotel amenities
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Derby
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Kev T Wyberton, null, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

795 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    123
    204
    176
    137
    155
See reviews for
77
277
70
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (795)
  • Mar-May only
    (182)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (236)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (170)
All months
Wyberton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and Myself stayed at the Best Western The Stuart Hotel for one night midweek and found the staff very welcoming and extremely helpful during our stay. We ate in the restaurant and found the food very nice indeed, which we chose from a menu with a good and varied choice of dishes. Polite and helpful waiting staff added... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lukasz S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kev T, Its lovely to hear that you and your wife used the bar and restaurant during your stay and found the service and food to be of a good quality. The team really appreciate the guests comments and the time taken to write them. All comments are taken on board and used to ensure that we are constantly... More 

Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed for the weekend and hotel was lovely, the receptionist was very helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. The food was very good, and the location is good easy walking distance for centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lukasz S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mo F, We appreciate it when guests take the time to tell us about their stay with us and thank you for the lovely review. As a team we work really hard to ensure that all our guests are looked after and I am pleased to hear that you had such a great weekend break. Come back soon! Kind... More 

uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here two nights with my wife arriving on a Friday night and checking out on the Sunday. I'm not sure what happened with previous guests be we found check-in very efficient, the room clean and well furnished with a decent sized bathroom. The hotel had a nice little bar which we used each night as we decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lukasz S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ukhunter, it is always appreciated when guests take time to write a review and thank you for the lovely comments. We are so pleased you and your wife had such a pleasant stay with us and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for my birthday with my boyfriend. We booked previously, paying extra for a larger bedroom, mini fridge and also complementary dressing gowns and slippers as it was a special occasion. On arrival we were put in a tiny standard bedroom, we went back to reception and explained that it wasn't our room so they checked and apologised sending... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lukasz S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adamop94, thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at our hotel in March. I am truly sorry that your stay didn't meet with your expectations and I can assure you that I am most disappointed to hear of the issues you had. Unfortunately I am unable to fully understand why the situation arose... More 

Travelers are raving about these Derby hotels

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night in July. We paid £40 for the night which between 2 people isn't bad considering you're in walking distance of the center. When we arrived we ended up having to wait in reception for around 20 minutes due to there only being 1 person on reception. The rooms were ok, a little hot even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lukasz S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Iskye1990, We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Certainly the hotel has an ideal location and often some excellent weekend rates on offer. I am sorry that you had to wait for such along time to check in and I will certainly take... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As per title. The room was out the back in the extension and was small. Net curtains were mouldy and the bed was unbelievably squeaky and cheap feeling . Not impressed at all as have stayed in some reasonable Best Westerns before but this will taint the brand in my eyes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lukasz S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear asawhit, Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. Since reading your review I have checked all the bedrooms personally that are at the back of the hotel and I have been unable to identify the net curtains you mention. It would be of great assistance if you... More 

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed to be in Derby for 2 days for business and checked out the hotels which were reasonably priced. I thought I would give the Stuart a try. Walking from the station did not inspire confidence but as I turned the corner and entered the reception of the hotel changed my mind. The lady on reception was very efficient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lukasz S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David T, Thank you so much for your review. The team are focused on delivering a professional, friendly and efficient service and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay in The Stuart if you want... A bathroom with a toilet that doesn't flush first time. A shower that loses power and heat. A room disguised as a sauna. With the window open ALL night and the DOOR OPEN ALL NIGHT to the room, AND the windows in the corridor open ALL night the room was still roasting. Air... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lukasz S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sian S, I am so sorry that you found your stay with us to be so uncomfortable due to the heat. Certainly in July we have had some of the hottest days on record and this results in the hotel retaining some of the heat. We endeaver to do all we can to eleviate this and have a large... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a unique position in the centre of Derby close to the train/bus stations and all the amenities. It is definately a budget hotel but essentially the staff were very helpful and friendly and the bed was comfortable and room was very clean.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lukasz S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 196maxinek, It is important to us to take on board all comments and we really appreciate your positive review on the hotel. Certainly the hotel is well located and is ideal for leisure and business and with the Liquid Bar and XS Restaurant, means that if you choose you dont have to venture very far. Thank you so much... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So close to the shopping centre and things to do, free parking as well and quite cheap! Defiantly stay again as a mini break. Rooms cleaned everyday and staff was lovely. As we was leaving i found out my car had a flat tyre and reception staff was more than helpful in helping me ring the right people and help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lukasz S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabethhh93, what a lovely review, thank you. The team at the hotel strive to deliver excellent customer service along with quality facilities at the hotel and I so pleased that you experienced this and took the time to tell us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your mini break! Kind Regards More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very clean(6)
  • Air conditioning(4)
  • FREE parking(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby
Hallmark Hotel Derby
#17 of 32 in Derby
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Derby City Centre
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#7 of 32 in Derby
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Smart Aston Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 32 in Derby
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 32 in Derby
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay