We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smart Aston Court Hotel

#16 of 32 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smart Aston Court Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Smart Aston Court Hotel
Smart Aston Court Hotel
Smart Aston Court Hotel
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    134
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
142
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (308)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Managed to book a good value stay. Room was clean and had all usual amenities if a little on the small side, however fine for one night. Pro's Has secure car park Near railway station Handy for Pride Park Good selection of bars and restaurants nearby Handy for town center Has onsite Bar and Restaurant Cons None really as long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John R, General Manager at Smart Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This well-worn hotel turned up through a google search. My room was spotless, although the shower pressure was tricky. Opposite Midland Station for Roundhouse etc. and great pubs, but pleasantly quiet, staff generally helpful. Separate payment for breakfast a bit extortionate, better off hitting the local pubs for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John R, General Manager at Smart Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you found the location good for your requirements and your room comfortable. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Am here for five nights with a friend we are and very happy with our comfortable and warm rooms. The food and the staff are excellent. All could not be more helpful and pleasant. Thank you to Matty Tony Emma and Claudia who all have excellent people skills. We are enjoying our stay immensely. Tthe location is excellent over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John R, General Manager at Smart Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be very helpful and the location ideal for your needs. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel should your needs require this. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Me and my friend stayed here for 5 of nights, a special thanks to Matty Emma tony and Monica who made us feel so welcome and at home we will certainly be returning if we are in derby again. The hotel is lovely and warm and the breakfasts are great and if you turn up later they will cook to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John R, General Manager at Smart Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a pleasant review, I will ensure all the staff read your comments especially the ones mentioned by name. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Absolutly terrible abusive ladies night people with short hair they call lesbians over the microphones. management passed complaint around without taking the blame themselves yet they promoted the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John R, General Manager at Smart Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I can assure you after speaking with the Duty Manager who was on shift, that he did take it very seriously and spent a considerable amount of time trying to resolve the issue, even going as far as to get the act to apologise which was not accepted by the lady. The act did not... More 

cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Through january 2015 i had to go to derby through work training. I arrived late on a sunday about 8.45 pm . I was a bit worried as ive not been to derby before but as soon as i walked out of the train station the hotel was literally across the road. On arrival i was kindly greeted and given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John R, General Manager at Smart Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You Richard, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us over the last few weeks and I am very happy to read you had such a pleasant time with us. Hope all went well with the training and next time you visit lets hope it is for leisure purposes so you get to explore Derby a little.... More 

Toulouse, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

After having tried several other hotels for business trips un Derby I stayed in this hotel and was positively surprised: welcoming staff and clean rooms for cheap prices and good location. I would recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
John R, General Manager at Smart Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay overnight in this hotel but as my hotel and every other pub between bus station and train station had derby on sky sports rather than Manchester City on bt sport we decided to stop here for the televised game. Staff very friendly, served us beer and sandwiches and reception area was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John R, General Manager at Smart Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comment even though you was not actually staying at the hotel, it is much appreciated. I am glad as a non-resident you found our facilities were of good standard and met your needs. I hope you enjoyed the match also on BT Sports. More 

farnborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Approaching the building from the station fills you with trepidation as it all looks a bit seedy. However, the reception area is smart and clean. The rooms are a bit tired, but again they are clean. My biggest issue was with noise. I couldn't see that the hotel was anywhere near full, but the room I was allocated was right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
John R, General Manager at Smart Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read that you had a disturbed stay with us, unfortunately we do have some rooms on the road side of the hotel. All I can suggest is that if you choose to stay again, please request an inside/quiet room and we will do our very best to accommodate your request. More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Good secure carparking, with buzzer entry system, hotel reception well presented and modern. The room we were given was on the top floor and it was at the back of the hotel. The room was tired and old, the floor was squeaky in places, the ensuite bathroom really was poor, the sink was cracked, the plug hole rusty and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John R, General Manager at Smart Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry you did not find the room to be of a good standard, we are currently in the process of redecorating/furnishing our bedrooms so it may be that you were allocated one that has not yet been completed. I do hope this has not deterred you from returning in the future as we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question