We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights

#11 of 32 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Morledge, Derby DE1 2AY, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    119
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
49
118
9
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (369)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
New Malden, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel a few weeks ago. While the location is central and the facilities clean and well maintained my stay was let down by the staff who were clueless. The fire alarm went off at 0200hrs and it took half an hour for the two staff members in duty to call the fire brigade while the entire hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights. We understand the concern you raised relating to the fire alarm and subsequent evacuation, however, the fire alarm, whilst disturbing and distressing, is there for the safety and security of all of our guests. It is necessary to allow alarms to... More 

London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite a nice hotel in a slightly odd location. First hurdle was to find somewhere to park as it did not have its own parking. It is next door to a bus station and a frustrating one way system to confuse sat-navs! The restaurant on the 4th floor was pleasant and relaxed although a tad slow. Our meals took an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The "family room" for 4 that we booked was two adjoining twin/double rooms, both clean and well-furnished. Much more spacious than an ordinary family room. Corridors, lift and restaurant were all spotless. Dinner in the restaurant would have been good value for money if the food had not been so dull. Breakfast was similarly unexceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked an executive room ( well it was part of the romantic package ) £160 . Room was fantastic , lots of room and Space. Included we got £20 each to spend onour evening meal in the restaurant . Also we each received a glass and of prosecco each with our meal . Breakfast was delivered to our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was clean, with good amenities. However, the decor was unsettling and ruined the ambience of the room. Staff were pleasant and helpful, although the bar /restaurant staff were a little chaotic. Parking is a 10 minute walk away. I was grateful it wasn't raining. If you travel by bus/rail it is an ideal place to stay. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this review

Dear Tamworthy, hank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are pleased you liked our location, room cleanliness, amenities and regarded our staff service helful. However, we regret the unsatisfactory experience you had experienced at the bar and restaurant. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this helps us gauge what we are doing right,... More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed in this hotel and really enjoyed my stay.The room was spotless.i stayed in a executive room and it was very big,plenty of room in the room,sofa and chairs around the tv in the room.Didnt eat tea in restaurant but had breakfast in there.Plenty of choice for breakfast hot or cold food.Staff in this hotel are very polite,always there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South East England
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about our stay here was perfect except one crucial element that would stop me booking here, or any other Holiday Inn, until I am assured that the problem is solved. Good location; good room; very good breakfast and staff could not have done more. However the bed was awful. In an executive room I would have expected more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this review

Dear Conqueror17, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We always strive to provide great service and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests and we appreciate your positive comments on the room, breakfast selection, and service received which were well to your liking. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised. Hotel is in a great location within walking distance to everything: transport, food, shopping etc. Check-in was easy, the staff were always welcoming and friendly. Room was of good size and very well kept, beddings comfortable. Nice shower & bath (though amenities were just a couple of soaps and one tube shower gel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

small room ... very loud and not at all comfortable , TV didn't work . air con didn't work , but did get to hear the child in next room crying alot . not sure why we chose to get away for the night was worse than being home with my own crying kids , amount of sleep got ....... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this review

Dear Paula H, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay. I'd like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you may have had on this occasion due to the condition of the room you were allocated and service received from our hotel staff being below par. These points you have raised are... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We booked a meeting room for 50 people a couple of days ago for this 19th of April. I phoned the hotel today to amend the date to 3rd of May because I am not well and I could hardly talk as I have soar throat and dry cough and asthma. I will be the one to do the presentation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I have personally discussed this incident with you offline, and we did indeed offer a reduced cancellation fee with regard to your late cancellation as a gesture of goodwill. As stated it is the client's responsibility to read the documents issued before signing. If you would like to host an event with us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities