We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights

4.0 of 5 Morledge, Derby DE1 2AY, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    106
    35
    16
    10
See reviews for
45
109
9
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (338)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
uk
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed 1 night here.The room was huge ,quiet,very modern and spotlessly clean.It was a great place to eat.The receptionist was very helpful and when they were fully booked found me another hotel earlier in the week. The restaurant on the 4th floor was like the Marie Celeste!!.It was spotlessly clean but lacked atmosphere and customers.The food was poor but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located very close to Derby's very large indoor shopping centre, previously called Westfield now Intu. The car park called Intu Riverside is slightly closer to the hotel. But is still a considerable walk from the hotel and there is no opportunity outside the hotel to drop off luggage. Make sure you give your car park tickets in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hôtel is very modern and well equipped. Bedrooms are large and confortable, particularly I appreciated the bathroom and separated toilets. Breakfast is nice and complete however the diner was horrible, very expensive, long wait and half choice on the menu. I recomende the hotel but not the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found this hotel very clean, well maintained and modern. the staff were helpfull and very helpful. It is situated within a few minutes walk from the shopping centre on the left as you exit. To the right you will find more unusual shops. Its very close to the river which is ideal in the summer months. to the river.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you managed to find time to explore all of the shopping that Derby city centre has to offer; and we do hope that you come back to stay with us in the Summer time to appreciate the location next to the riverside. Kind Regards Carrie-Louise Holleran General Manager More 

West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. Good central location and plenty of places to eat in the shopping centre across the road. My room was very comfortable and the wifi worked well enough to be able to stream iPlayer programmes. Only minor complaint about the room would be that the bathroom doesn't have very good light at the mirror for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hextable, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights whilst working nearby. The room was great - spacious and comfortable. Great shower. Given the proximity to the bus station I was amazed at how quiet my room was. Breakfast was ok - nothing outstanding. The downside is the parking which is across the road in a multi-storey - a bit of a wLk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

sleeping in the UK is always a special experience. or you choose to go to the big chain hotels such as this Holiday inn, or you go for the more typical local hotels where it can be sometimes a great experience but also in many cases a disaster with old rooms, small showers and old beds where the springs are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

One is tempted to think that chains are never really going to be as good as independent hotels, so it is such a nice surprise when chains get it right. We stayed in the busy party season and both the room and the service were excellent. The check in was friendly and efficient and the room was excellent for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

My room had very loud and unpleasant buzzing noise coming from vents which woke me up and continued for about 10 minutes early in the morning totally disrupting my sleep and my day. Speaking to colleagues and by the response from the receptionist (who replied saying, they weren't aware it happened it that particular room) this is a recurring theme... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this review

Dear Gareth C, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear you like our location. However, I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the noise levels. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have... More 

west yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I would have no problem staying again It was just a shame it was only the one night would love to have stayed longer . We had a problem with the first room No water but was quickly moved The nice gentleman who was on reception was very helpful nothing was too much trouble for him . There was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights

Address: Morledge, Derby DE1 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights Hotel Derby
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Derby
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derby
#8 Family Hotel in Derby

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay