We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Derby B&Bs / inns

Lawns Hotel

High Street, Chellaston, Derby DE73 6TB, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (38)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Lawns Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Derby B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derby
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    0
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked a Groupon deal with "The Lawns" and felt a must to write a review. From the arrival at the hotel we were extremely impressed, a warm greeting from the staff, a wonderful room with everything you could possibly need. Clean, comfortable, with excellent choice of decor and fittings. Cream tea was served anytime we wanted it which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The management agreed a price by phone on 3 separate occasions, but then thought it was ok to go back on the price and overcharge one we had arrived. The afternoon tea was very poor stale scones and squirty cream. In fairness the breakfast was good. Drinks overpriced. Tired rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you had a poor experience with us here at The Lawns. I am surprised to hear you thought the cream tea was poor and the rooms tired, as you can see from other reviews these are not comments we usually receive. The room have in recent months been refurbished. As you mentioned you had the cream... More

Tyne & wear
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Lawns on a Groupon deal on the way back from visiting relations in Hampshire. When we arrived we were shown to our 'room' this was another building in the car park called Wendy House. It was lovely, it's was a ground floor apartment, all mod cons, and very comfortable. A small moan was there was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed you recent stay with us. I have taken note of your comments regarding the mirror and the wifi and are working on extending the signal to the wendy house. Thank you for your great feedback on the cream & breakfast, I will pass all your comments to the team. We look forward to... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Lawns Hotel first week of July and found the hotel very comfortable and the staff warm and thoughtful. The breakfast was delicious.. We inadvertently left belongings in our room after departure and the manager phoned us then very generously wrapped them carefully and sent them all the way back to New Zealand for us free of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed mid-week in July 2014 after buying a Groupon voucher for a two night stay. When we arrived the pub downstairs was really busy with guests and locals as it was dinner time. It seemed like a lovely place for a meal and drink. We got shown to our room by a really friendly member of staff and when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at The Lawns recently on a Groupon deal for a friends birthday. From arrival to departure we were treated to the highest standard. The room, whilst small, was more than adequate and spotlessly clean. The weather was hot and the owner went to great lengths to ensure we had a fan for the room. Our room was at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such positive feedback! I'm pleased to hear you had such a wonderful time, and that you might be returning to us in the future. I will pass your feedback to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon! More

uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loffi what did you expect, rooms small yes, pub/restaurant/hotel yes, popular with locals, must be because its good? Food rubbish, no. Cereal and a full English er its the UK thats what we have. Too much salt? Did you ask to have it changed I love salt (its good for you, mind not if you have high BP, (even then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a positive review, and for pointing out our positive points. Whilst we are a busy establishment we do strive to deliver the best experience for each and everyone of our customers, locals and new visitors alike. As always we will always try to fulfil any request or requirements a guest has. We look forward to seeing you... More

uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Recently returned from a 2 night groopon deal for the lawns. The lawns hotel should really make it clear it is a pub/restaurant with a few rooms. When we arrived there was literally nowhere to park. We were advised to park at the local coop or on the road, neither of which was what i wanted to do. I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lawns C, Owner at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Firstly, I would like to express how saddened I am that your stay did not meet your expectations. Here, at The Lawns Hotel my company’s ethos is good quality at a fair price. I still believe that (be it a small, clean, well decorated and presented room) to include breakfast, a cream tea for two and... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Myself and my husband are celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary this week and to celebrate I surprised him with a little break. I booked through groupon and we stayed in the annex it was lovely and spacious and very clean we had a cream tea on arrival and we booked in for an evening meal. We enjoyed drinks outside then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

took a chance here for a late booking before going on to our bike rally , got room 12 fantastic looking a bit small and cramped ,super comfy bed and warm room , nice size bath even for someone like my self ,breakfast included in the price at £55 quid breakfast was hot and tasty and happy smiling face and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay, I'm pleased to hear you found the room comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast. I would like to apologise however for the noise you experienced from the kitchen doors, we have never had any other complaints about this but rest assured we have taken measures to assure there will not be any more... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lawns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lawns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawns Hotel

Address: High Street, Chellaston, Derby DE73 6TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lawns Hotel is located in the heart of Chellaston, just on the outskirts of derby city centre. An ideal location for visiting Castle Donington Race trace, Alton Towers, Tycross Zoo and East Midlands Airport.With our warm and friendly restaurant our team will cater to all your needs.Our skilled and expert chef offers you a culinary delight every time you dine with us, also offering specials that change every four days to offer our customers as much variety as possible. Whether your looking for a romantic meal for two or planning a birthday, wedding party or funeral we are able to cater for every family occasion with our separate function room.If your looking or an ideal location to stop so you can sample all that Derbyshire has to offer you, why not stop with us in one of our modern double en suite rooms. Starting at £55.00 per room which includes a full English breakfast.Or if you just looking for a relaxing atmosphere to meet friends, watch live sports events or try one of our regional sourced real ales our bar and lounge will be perfect. We will always do our best to cater to you individual needs. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Lawns Hotel to your Saves list