We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Derby B&Bs / inns

Lawns Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lawns Hotel to your Saves list
High Street, Chellaston, Derby DE73 6TB, England
Hotel amenities
Lawns Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Derby B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derby
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    2
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently stayed here following a day at Alton Towers as part of our longer holiday down south - this was ideally located on the way back to the M1 from the park (10 minutes to get back onto the M1). Whilst the room was a little bit small it was perfectly adequate for one night and the guys at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cuxton Kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were looking for a hotel to break our journey from the Lake District back home to Kent. I found this one and it fitted the bill perfectly. The room was very small, but okay for one night. The bed was very comfortable. The bar and restaurant staff make this hotel. They are so friendly and helpful and work very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coalville, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night at the beginning of August with a Groupon deal, the room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. The full English breakfast on Sunday morning was one of the best we have ever had. Only downside, when we arrived only one girl was on bar duty and had to show us to our room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfasts our very popular. The cream tea doesn't have to be on arrival as it does state on the group on site, this would be the reason it wasn't offered to you upon your arrival. Once again I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff very friendly and welcoming. Stayed in room 1 clean and bed comfy .Had meal in hotel Last night plenty choice .Breakfast good and tasty .Enjoyed the whole thing .Thanks for being on Groupon or would never had heard of you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and fantastic feedback! I'm so pleased to hear you had such a great time with us, room one is a lovely room. Thank you for the wonderful comments on the meals and breakfast, I will be sure to pass this onto our chef's. We look forward to seeing you again at The Lawns More

Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We were greeted and shown to our room which was a good size. We had a groupon offer that included a cream tea with our stay which was very nice. We had dinner one night the waitor was very friendly and the food good...I would avoid the garlic bread though it was very strange! Chips on the other hand were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. I'm glad you liked you cream tea, they are proving to be very popular as are the chips. However I'm unsure of what makes the garlic bread strange, this isn't a comment we've ever received before. I have taken on board your comments about your check in, we have recently recruited... More

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

First night was excellent, although we did have to wait ages for the food it was worth the wait. It was superb. 2nd night not so good waited that long for someone to take our order, we went to the chip shop. Which was a real shame given the quality of food. Drinks were very reasonable for a hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. I'm pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. I was disappointed to read however that you experienced a lack of service on your second night. This isn't something we usually have an issue with however I will personally make sure it isn't something we encounter again. I have also... More

Staffordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a groupon deal for 1 night would definitely return the room was not particularly large but spotlessly clean and adequate for a short stay. The food was excellent. The location has pubs, coop, bookmakers, chemist and newsagents on the doorstep. A great relaxing night away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review! I'm very pleased to hear you had such a great time with us, and that you would defiantly be visiting us again. I'm glad you found the food great as well as the service, I shall pass your comments onto the team More

london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We found this hotel very nice and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We were greeted by a young man outside and ushered us to the reception. Room 4 was a nice room . Comfy bed and it was not noisy at all. We had a good night sleep and it was peaceful. Would not mind coming back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review. I please you found our team helpful and that you had a good nights sleep! We look forward to seeing you again very soon More

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

on arrival at the Lawns we were shown to our room by a very friendly young man , the room was light and airy. it was spotlessly clean with ample tea/coffee and some toiletries. we had booked on a groupon voucher which included a cream tea. this was served on the sun terrace, it was absolutley wonderful. the breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review. I'm thrilled to hear that you had such a great time during your visit with us, and that the weather was nice whilst you were with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your cream tea and breakfast, both of which are very popular. I shall pass all your comments... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a general review as we come here so often it is impossible to pinpoint any date. We live in Derby and love the food here, whenever we have guests we always return here and our family and friends love it. We have always had tasty home cooked food and we will be coming back to the lawns for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lawns C, General Manager at Lawns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a great review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoy our home cooked food so much! Our chef's take great pride in producing some of the freshest food in Derby. We look forward to seeing you again very soon! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lawns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lawns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawns Hotel

Address: High Street, Chellaston, Derby DE73 6TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Derby with
any amenities