We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Derby B&Bs / inns

A38 Woodlands Guest House

300 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England (Formerly Woodlands Guest House)
Hotel amenities
A38 Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #16 of 20 Derby B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    0
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

It was actually the evening when we checked in and at 1am I returned from a night with friends and discovered the pubic hair in the bed! I contacted you immediately and you said you weren't going to do anything about it! I was in the area for a reason and came to you as soon as my business was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Scrawny 180. Have been trying to work out what your assumed name means. I guess 180 refers to your weight in lbs, so scrawny must relate to your head. Nevertheless out of politeness, Season's Greetings to you, and I hope that in the New Year you become wiser, and for example realise that most B&B's/guest houses operate a refunds policy... More

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My partner and I wanted a place to stay for 2 nights at last minute and this establishment was the fisrt one which had rooms available after several others told us they were fully booked. I thought the owner was a bit abrupt when he asked for my I.d and £80 but I had no issue about paying for somewhere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

He checked in in the afternoon, and then phoned my mobile at about Two am saying he would not be staying demanding an instant full refund. Advised that I did not deal with refunds at this ungodly hour and asked him to see me in the morning. He did not contact me till the evening, so I was not able... More

Ober-Ramstadt, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I arrived in the B&B and wanted to stay 2 Nights in August. My company made a reservation before at a internet portal and arrived there, as i followed the postcode. First i was wondering if i am right, because it looked some different as i was told. So i asked the owner, if he got any reservation from me,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

One would have never guessed that he stopped in the same room that got a Five Star, just days before. Difficult to deal with a person so confused that he did not know where he booked in. He could have checked out within 10 minutes without any cost, or within half an hour at a cost of £5 (five) as... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I travel all round the country for work and this is by far the worst one I have been to. The so called breakfast may as well still been running round the field it was that undercooked! When I walked into the room I thought I had booked a youth hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You had stopped with us before, so I am surprised with your views, that you had got yourself booked in, in our establishment again. We have asked your company not to book you in here again. You upset a lot of people on arrival, with your unpleasant approach, which seems to have now extended to... More

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It was a pleasure staying here, as I have been coming here on business travel from Nov 2012 The service payed, was worthwile accomodated and all the services was faciltate to the standard I do not agree with the the negative reviews on this guest house. Price is adequate to the offered services. I highly recommend this guest house to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

We are pleased to note that it was a pleasure staying here. Furthermore, we are pleased you have chosen to stop with us again this February. Nice to know you have joined our happy band of regulars. We feel you might have been a little more generous with your stars. For example, on service, not only do we provide free... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in a family room. As there were 5 of us, it's difficult finding accommodation that will fit us all into 1 room but that's what we got. Room was decent enough -could have done with a more thorough clean but wasn't dirty. Bathroom has seen better days decor wise but everything worked & shower as decent. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. There is just myself and wife working full time at the B&B, to help keep costs down.Nevertheless by living next door we are constantly available for service. We try to cater for guests requiring a single room to families of five. The cost savings are passed on to you, guests, and we pride ourselves in... More

Redhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I came for lunch on a Friday afternoon with my two cousins. The service was great, food was spectacular and we had a lovely time eating in the garden on a sunny day. Nothing but good things to say about this establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent 3 nights at B&B and explored Derby and Peak District. The room was spacious, warm and clean. We loved the breakfast and the treatment from the landlady and her husband. The furniture is older but functional. As we also had one business activity to do, we appreciated useful wifi connection. Special thing to us was an electric kettle,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your high recommendation, and we welcome you on board of our ever increasing repeat customer base. We are glad you enjoyed England and your stay with us. More

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I think the reviews for this guesthouse are unfair. My wife and I stayed for one night on 21st April 2012. We paid £40.00 for the night, which is less than half what we usually pay when bed and breakfasting. We were greeted by, I think, the lady owner, who was charming throughout, and cooked a very good breakfast. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Mr Walker for your review. We do appreciate constructive comment. I am pleased that my wife in my absence (I am of retirement age and need a few days holiday on occasion) provided you with an acceptable service. She was rather rushed and you arrived early afternoon. She does think she overlooked the milk, as I was not... More

Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

This guest house was the dirtest place I have ever stayed. I didn't have a shower as I was not that brave, that to was filthy. He had already taken my credit card details and asked me to put my name and address on a slip of paper saying 'I know you have already paid' No hot water tap on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Emanuel W, Manager at A38 Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. In response- We ask for an ID on arrival, and expect that this is what happened to you on the day. Normal procedure. You did not have to stay at our B&B if you did not find it to your full satisfaction. Please see our refund policy, last page on the web site. Premises are... More

Been to A38 Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A38 Woodlands Guest House

Address: 300 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England (Formerly Woodlands Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Derby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A38 Woodlands Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A38 Woodlands Guest House to your Saves list