We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Derby Conference Centre

London Road, Derby DE24 8UX, England
Hotel amenities
The Derby Conference Centre
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 23 Derby B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nat B Derby, United Kingdom
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    28
    23
    10
See reviews for
6
31
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on sunday night as we were at a wedding at the centre. Room was a little on the small side but pleasant enough. The bed was wonderful and extremely comfy with great pillows. Room was clean and was fine for an over night stay. Receptionist wrote down the wrong breakfast times for us as I think she forgot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was disappointed. Good points: Price, room cleanliness generally. The grounds at the front, and if you like Art Deco, the central 'sunken area'. Not so good points - First room had a badly chipped toilet seat, no ironing board or iron as promised. Staff kindly moved me. Next room also very small. Tiny TV fitted high up on wall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Derby Conference Centre. Your comments will we reviewed by our team & actioned accordingly. regards, The Derby Conference Centre More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Upon arrival we were greeted with a building that resembled an old council establishment which we later learned was an old school, charming but that's where the love ended. We were under no impression this would be a high-standard stay due to the budget price but needless to say that the room didn't come close to some 2 star hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Derby Conference Centre. I am disappointed to read that your stay was marred by noisy neighbours but I can confirm that we were, unfortunately, unable to relocate you because we were indeed fully booked during the weekend of your stay. We are currently undergoing... More 

Travelers are raving about these Derby hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
204 hotel reviews
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

I stopped here for 3 nights following easter and was allocated room 4 on the ground floor. The room was adequate. Bed was comfortable with good pillows. Hospitality tray was ok and there was plenty of drawer and hanging space. On the minus side though, the view from the window is of a wall and a shed and the wet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your in depth review regarding your recent stay at The Derby Conference Centre. Constructive feedback such as yours is vital in helping us to improve our service & standards. Each point of "oppotuhnity" you have raised will be addressed by the relevant departmental head & actioned accordingly. I am disappointed to read that you would be unlikely... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Booked in earlier today and what a miserable receptionist. Room fairly good size but bed small for a double and one side up against the wall. Noisy neighbours. Noisy pipes in the room. Gonna be a long night. If this is worthy of 4 stars please tell me how.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank You for your review regarding your recent stay at The Derby Conference Centre. We are sorry to hear that you had noisy neighbours during your visit. If you had alerted our reception team to this we could have located you in a quieter part of the hotel. The 4 star rating we have (which is accredited by the AA)... More 

Kingsbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

you will find your stay here first class. Rooms very well equipped and spotless, the food is very good and breakfast a super start for the day ahead. Must visit has got to be, Calke Abbey.The Derbyshire villages are a delight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Derby Conference Centre. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay & your visits to the nearby places of interest. Once again thank you for your review & we hope to be welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, The... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

A good place to stay though certainly not a pouch high star hotel. If you are looking for an average clean comfortable place to stay then this is the place for you. Well situated plenty of parking and quiet. The bar has NO atmosphere and the food was uninspiring but well cooked, beware though the sauce and chicken on my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Derby Conference Centre. We are glad to read that you found your room to be comfortable & clean. Your comments regarding the atmosphere in the bar & the food are duly noted & we will be looking into this in due course. Best regards, The Derby Conference Centre More 

England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Stayed overnight following a conference held here. Good facilities and nice food. Bedroom was comfortable and clean. Issue with the shower as very small and a trickle of water came out. There were tea / coffee making facilities, iron, hairdryer, freeview television and a good wifi connection. Overall, good price for bed and breakfast. Good conference rooms and excellent lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to The Derby Conference Centre. I am pleased to say that the issue with the shower has now been resolved by our in house maintenance team. Unfortunately being a grade 2 listed building we are unable to provide a guest lift to the bedroomson the 1st & 2nd floors but we... More 

Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

very comfortable & clean place to stay...All staff very friendly & helpful especially the barman.The shower in our room was dripping all night & we woke up to a huge puddle on the bathroom floor....thank you for a pleasurable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Derby Conference Centre. We are pleased to see that you found your room to be comfortbale & clean but we are sorry to see you woke up to a flooded bathroom! Needless to say this issue was resolved by our in house maintenance team. We... More 

Haywards Heath
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

We came here to attend a charity ball. Credit to the hotel for holding this and for their donation. The history of the building is interesting, a training centre for railway staff with accommodation! The sunken main event area used to have railway tracks for the trainees to view from the raised walkway. Unfortunately, this does not work as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DerbyConfCentre, Guest Relations Manager at The Derby Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to The Derby Conference Centre. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the Charity Ball and also your favourable commetns regarding dinner and breakfast. We will certainly look at the other points you have raised & address them accordingly. Regards, The Derby Conference Centre More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities