We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Gloucester hotels

New Inn Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, Northgate St, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added New Inn Hotel to your Saves list
New Inn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in Gloucester
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Fiona B Kapiti
  • Reviews (295)
  • Photos (83)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (81)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    96
    56
    46
    51
See reviews for
28
148
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel for two nights and ended up having trouble sleeping both of them. The hotel wraps around a courtyard with a restaurant and bar, an area which was loud even in our 2nd floor room. The night we arrived, there was a concert going on in that courtyard, information that might have made us reconsider our selection... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We very clearly advertise on all booking websites that we have live music and karaoke every weekend. We are an acclaimed music venue and this is something of which we are justly proud. Not much we can do about the seagulls, sorry. More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in room 112 last weekend. We chose the hotel as it was in the heart of Gloucester and cheap. The hotel is quirky, the courtyard, reception and bar area is lovely and the beer is reasonably priced with a good selection of beers and ales. My room was bad. Stains on the ceiling, the mirror propped up against... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We are awaiting the company decorators to refurbish the rooms. Yes there are pigeoons and sea gulls - it is a city centre. More

Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is extremely quirky - I was there on a business trip and needed a hotel close to the city centre. The location could not have been better. However, the hotel needs some modernisation if it wants to attract business travellers. Problems started at check in. I normally use a booking agent and the rooms are always prepaid. Apparently... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Firstly I should point out that our company policy, like many hotels, is payment on arrival. Our hotel is over 550 years old and yes it is quirky, with uneven floors and low beamed ceilings (only in some rooms) and that's what attracts most guests. We will get the door lock attended to. Please note... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very strange hotel with uneven and sloping floors and walls, where pigeons and seagulls dominate the window sills (inside and out) and don't allow you a moment of sleep. I was unable to put anything on the bedside tables as the floor was so uneven, it would slide right off, and the wardrobe - looming dangerous over the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests - please read our other recent reviews to see this one is nonsense. More

Kapiti
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel had its first renovation in 1455! Shakespeare is reputed to have performed in the yard. Several other historical events have happened there during the centuries of its operation. I loved reading about them in notices around the hotel. There some indicators that it is an old property, but is very comfortable considering it's age. Don't go there if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind remarks. Glad I was able to help More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the problems with Trip Advisor is the way that poor reviews hang around like bad smells in an enclosed room. The new owners have obviously made a great effort to make the New Inn the jewel it should be. There is a way to go but they deserve credit for what they have done so far. My room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we do appreciate it when our efforts are noticed More

UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently spent 3 days at The New Inn. We used to stay there in the late 70s early 80s on cricket tour. As we are now more affluent we booked a superior room this time. We had the Lady Jane Grey suite on the 1st floor - there are 2 - I think the other one must be the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The matter of curtains has been raised with the owners and is being addressed, and we have ordered more coat hangers. Regarding the internet you did actually tell me that the problem had been your own computer's security settings, not our wi-fi system! More

Cinderford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a previous stay in the room with a four poster bed, i knew that a normal room would be a little bit less atmospheric for valentines day. But nether the less i liked the hotel. This time around though i was dissapointed to find no hot water in the morning and that the towels were a bit on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you stayed here five months ago, prior to our taking over the hotel, I can make no comment. More

Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room no' 102 After trying to find the place as it is extremely hard to find and Satnav doesn't seem to know either, we then had to go back to the car and move it closer but still not close enough. No Car Park is rubbish. Room was not clean at all. Bed isn't comfy. I have pictures of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were unable to find the hotel easily - it is right in the city centre where it has always been for the last 564 years (and that's why we don't have a car park - the hotel was built with stables!). We do supplypostcodes of car parks on our website and those of major booking agencies... More

sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i recently spent a memorable night at the new inn hotel i was absolutely enchanted by the building and setting. i stayed in the "oak suite" with a four poster bed,dark wood panelling and period style soft furnishing. the resident ghost did not put in an appearance but in the wee small hours it felt a lot more spooky. to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. I take your point about the flags - they'll soon be gone! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage New Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Address: 16, Northgate St, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Inn Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
15Th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music and karaoke at weekends and occasional weeknights, until late. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
33

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer