We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Gloucester hotels

New Inn Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, Northgate St, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added New Inn Hotel to your Saves list
New Inn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in Gloucester
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
D_Scene London
  • Overview
  • Reviews (298)
  • Photos (83)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (81)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    96
    59
    46
    51
See reviews for
28
150
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The New Inn, Gloucester is a Grade I listed hotel and is the most complete surviving example of a medieval courtyard inn in Britain, they say. It's supposedly haunted by Lady Jane Grey who apparently declared herself queen in the gallery overlooking the courtyard. However as she was beheaded over a hundred miles away in London, the fact that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Firstly location, couldn't be better central to everything Gloucester has to offer, the building itself is wonderful the court yard and bar ect brill, we had a room on the top floor quiet spacious with a four poster bed,, the decor was old and tired, the furniture a bit of a mish mash that didn't really go with anything, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lovely looking old building with a beautifully enclosed courtyard, complete with restaurant, real ale bar and coffee shop. The rooms are situated upstairs, some being two flights, so not really suitable for older or disabled people. Room 201 The Lady Jane Grey Suite was in need of minor maintenance as the hairdryer was 12 months behind inspection and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Omaha
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel for two nights and ended up having trouble sleeping both of them. The hotel wraps around a courtyard with a restaurant and bar, an area which was loud even in our 2nd floor room. The night we arrived, there was a concert going on in that courtyard, information that might have made us reconsider our selection... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We very clearly advertise on all booking websites that we have live music and karaoke every weekend. We are an acclaimed music venue and this is something of which we are justly proud. Not much we can do about the seagulls, sorry. More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in room 112 last weekend. We chose the hotel as it was in the heart of Gloucester and cheap. The hotel is quirky, the courtyard, reception and bar area is lovely and the beer is reasonably priced with a good selection of beers and ales. My room was bad. Stains on the ceiling, the mirror propped up against... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We are awaiting the company decorators to refurbish the rooms. Yes there are pigeoons and sea gulls - it is a city centre. More

Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is extremely quirky - I was there on a business trip and needed a hotel close to the city centre. The location could not have been better. However, the hotel needs some modernisation if it wants to attract business travellers. Problems started at check in. I normally use a booking agent and the rooms are always prepaid. Apparently... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Firstly I should point out that our company policy, like many hotels, is payment on arrival. Our hotel is over 550 years old and yes it is quirky, with uneven floors and low beamed ceilings (only in some rooms) and that's what attracts most guests. We will get the door lock attended to. Please note... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very strange hotel with uneven and sloping floors and walls, where pigeons and seagulls dominate the window sills (inside and out) and don't allow you a moment of sleep. I was unable to put anything on the bedside tables as the floor was so uneven, it would slide right off, and the wardrobe - looming dangerous over the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests - please read our other recent reviews to see this one is nonsense. More

Kapiti
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel had its first renovation in 1455! Shakespeare is reputed to have performed in the yard. Several other historical events have happened there during the centuries of its operation. I loved reading about them in notices around the hotel. There some indicators that it is an old property, but is very comfortable considering it's age. Don't go there if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind remarks. Glad I was able to help More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the problems with Trip Advisor is the way that poor reviews hang around like bad smells in an enclosed room. The new owners have obviously made a great effort to make the New Inn the jewel it should be. There is a way to go but they deserve credit for what they have done so far. My room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we do appreciate it when our efforts are noticed More

UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently spent 3 days at The New Inn. We used to stay there in the late 70s early 80s on cricket tour. As we are now more affluent we booked a superior room this time. We had the Lady Jane Grey suite on the 1st floor - there are 2 - I think the other one must be the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBA2012, General Manager at New Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The matter of curtains has been raised with the owners and is being addressed, and we have ordered more coat hangers. Regarding the internet you did actually tell me that the problem had been your own computer's security settings, not our wi-fi system! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage New Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Address: 16, Northgate St, Gloucester GL1 1SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Inn Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Gloucester

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
15Th century galleried inn with rooms mainly set around a courtyard. Our main bar is a centre of entertainment and we offer live music and karaoke at weekends and occasional weeknights, until late. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
33

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer