We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New County Hotel

3.0 of 5 44 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 2DR, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New County Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    47
    55
    18
    22
See reviews for
22
60
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went to see a band at the Guildhall and this hotel was ideally located for this as a very short walk away. The room was fine for the money paid and the staff were great also. The downstairs bar was also very nice but was very quiet but that wasn't a problem as we had plans. The one disappointing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a 2 night stay to attend a friend's wedding. The location was ideal but having read some reviews we were a bit dubious about the size of the economy double we had booked. My husband was concerned about leaving the car in Blackfriars car park but it is viewed by cctv cameras so I was not worried. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

stayed for a night after a rugby game in a well appointed room, staff helpful. Good location. One tip I would give is to try to get a room at the back of the hotel as the Street life is a bit noisy, however that's not the hotels fault. Would stay again if in Gloucester. Good value for money. Especially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We can't fault this hotel, staff very friendly, ideal location for the sights, can't understand all the negative reviews, £55.00 per night an unbelievable bargain. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our double room was very reasonably priced for the center of Gloucester. Very easy to walk to all sites. Parking at the rear on a very run down NCP car park (not the hotels fault), but with a great discounted parking fee from the hotel. Our room was spotless, with all the usual facilities you would get for more money.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the worst stays we have ever had anywhere. The room was dingy, lit by a central ceiling fitting with a low energy lamp and dead insects inside it. It was small and the bed was truly dreadful. It was hard and lumpy, and the bed was flat up against the wall. Disgustingly, there was no mattress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewCounty123, Manager at The New County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I think it will be important to remind you that after you attempted to get a refund for a may I point out budget stay you then threatened me with a trip adviser response. I replied by saying that's fine feel free to post a review and I will respond. I would like to point out that you... More

England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We can't fault this hotel. The guy checking us in went out of his way to be helpful, as did his colleague who was keen to tell us about local attractions. Clean, comfortable, and excellent city centre location. Really can't understand the negative reviews. We paid £65 which is excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We stayed here a couple of years ago and thought that it was great so we came back this year, again for several nights. This time we had a room that faced onto the busy Southgate Street and it was quite noisy late at night, but at least we weren't woken by the seagulls this time! The hotel is extremely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Location great within easy walking distance of the Gloucester Quays, room was clean but decoration tired, was in a twin room and the bed without a headboard was surprisingly comfortable, but a hotel with a restaurant that doesn't do breakfast is wrong in every way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elgin, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

stayed one night, the room was large clean and the bathroom adequate beds were comfortable and although the view from the room was not inspiring we were not looking to sit and look outside it was a excellent hotel to use as a stopover and was very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New County Hotel

Address: 44 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 2DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Best Western
New County Hotel Gloucester

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay