We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Gloucester B&Bs / inns

The Wharf House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Wharf House to your Saves list
The Wharf House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
70%
Ranked #7 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Hafwen A
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
61
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bought a voucher from Livingsocial for my husbands birthday and decided to stay for two nights. Room a bit quirky in a good way. Lovely sofa and bed very comfortable. Wardrobe was a little difficult to close but we managed. Bathroom and toiletries fab. Hope to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay and your food whilst with us and I do hope your husband enjoyed his birthday! We hope to see you again soon. More

Wiltshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel OK. Very nice room. Comfy bed - nice pillows. Mini bar - strange no beeer! Lights too bright in the room and shower very disappointing - needed descaling. Room expensive for what it was. Restaurant very disappointing. See restaurant review.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Wharf House. We are glad to hear you thought the room was nice but I would like to note that we have three independently controlled lights as well as the main bedroom lights which can be adjusted for own preference. We are saddened you did not enjoy your food, therefore apologise... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good room with no complaints except that I thought it was rather expensive - I have stayed in similar quality rooms for much lower prices. Nevertheless we had a very good weekend and the restaurant was superb with outstanding food! The quality of the food was definitely in the fine dining description and as you would expect the price was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Wharf House. We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend away and the quality of the room and food was to your liking. We pride ourselves on providing the best experience for our customers so we really appreciate your feedback. We looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. More

bristol
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the restaurant with a groupon voucher and so glad we did otherwise we would not have found such a wonderful place. Perfect setting beside the river, food of outstanding quality and presentation with the staff being attentive and welcoming. We cannot fault any of the experience, we chose to sit inside where we found again the setting is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant and sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor. Receiving feedback from our customers is the only way we can grow so this is truly valued. We pride ourselves on providing the best experience for our customers so we are delighted that you could not fault your experience with us... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went here last nigh for diner and had an amazing meal. It was a bit empty but I can't imagine why. Its a great spot on the river. It has the best food in Gloucester. Lovely people. Great project. What's not to like?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review and I am so glad to hear that you both enjoyed your meal. We really appreciate your kind words about our restaurant, we all think it is situated in a fantastic location too. Looking forward to having you back and serving you the best food in Gloucester once again! More

Tipton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at the wharf house as a celebration for my husband's birthday. From the moment we arrived we received friendly and attentive service. The room was spacious with lovely views and a luxury feel. The bed was very comfortable and the mini bar was a nice addition. We ate in the restaurant that evening and both thoroughly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Extremely relaxing and all I needed. Room had a lovely view over the canal, great spa bath and lovely furnishings. The staff couldn't do enough. A great change from chain hotels. I will definitely be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheltenham
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on the night of our wedding as our venue did not have accomadation. When we arrived at the room there was nothing to congratulate us although they were aware that is was our wedding night. We weren't expecting champagne but a card or special decoration costs little. Little gestures go a long way. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
South West
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My Mum, my sister & I went to the Wharf House for the taster menu for our combined Birthdays. As we drove into the carpark you felt like you could of been in the middle of nowhere instead of a stones throw from the main carriageway out of Gloucester. From the moment we walked in the door to the moment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed here last Wednesday evening as I had a business meeting in Toddington the following day. What a find, it was lovely we where met by a lovely guy called Mark who could not of been more helpful. The setting is beautiful, and our room was fantastic. We ate in the restaurant, and I can only say WOW the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Wharf House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Wharf House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf House

Address: Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharf House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wharf House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Gloucester with
any amenities