We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wharf House

4.0 of 5 Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Wharf House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Wharf House
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
66
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Portland UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely one night stay very welcoming spotlessly clean and well appointed modern rooms , really nice breakfast. We didnt have dinner in the restaurant as it got fully booked (sat night) Superb location on the river and canal basin and fairly close to city centre about 30 minute walk, there is a bus stop right outside. There is also a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

The Wharf House would like to thank you for writing a review; such a lovely one too! We are glad to hear your stay with us was such a pleasant one and I hope next time you get the opportunity to enjoy our delicious food too. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely stay at The Wharf House, brilliantly placed for visiting Gloucester, just a pleasant walk in. We really appreciated being able to get dinner even though we were very late checking in. Delicious white house wine! Very comfortable all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us- and such a lovely one too! We always try to ensure our customers have the best experience with us here so I am delighted to hear you had an overall very comfortable stay with us. We hope to have you back again soon. More

England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Didn't know this place existed. Only found it by accident on a last minute web site. A real gem. Peaceful haven close to Gloucester; comfortable, good food, friendly service. We ate in the restaurant, good food, reasonable choice and not that expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your food here at The Wharf House and now that you know where we are, I hope you will be back again soon! More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is one of the best experiences that we have had. The setting is idiyllic, the rooms are so comfortable and the breakfast delicious. It is truly one of Gloucestershire hidden gems. The host was a source of interesting information regarding the history of the building and the surrounding area and it definitely calls for a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this beautiful review of The Wharf House. We really appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are all looking forward to having you back one day soon! More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The setting is lovely and our room was delightful. Spotlessly clean and lovely little touches like fresh coffee and cafetiere. Was quite taken aback to have to choose what we wanted for breakfast the following morning when we checked in at 3pm! We ate in the restaurant that night and thought it was overpriced. No atmosphere - some background music... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Wharf House. I am very pleased to hear such lovely thoughts on our bedrooms and setting. With regards to the other matters, we do offer the choice to choose your breakfast at any time you wish to, including in the morning. Breakfast then took longer to arrive than you expected as... More

Trinidad, W.I.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Gloucester to explore the city & see the Severn Bore. After a little research we settled upon The Wharf House at Over for B&B. It is located on the river at its junction with the Hereford & Gloucester Canal, nice location and setting. We could see the river from the terrace and our room as well as being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

The Wharf House would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed both our accommodation and dining and also got the chance to witness the spectacular Severn Bore. With regards to the early check out The Wharf House offers a later check out if required at an additional fee;... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Bought a voucher from Livingsocial for my husbands birthday and decided to stay for two nights. Room a bit quirky in a good way. Lovely sofa and bed very comfortable. Wardrobe was a little difficult to close but we managed. Bathroom and toiletries fab. Hope to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay and your food whilst with us and I do hope your husband enjoyed his birthday! We hope to see you again soon. More

Wiltshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Hotel OK. Very nice room. Comfy bed - nice pillows. Mini bar - strange no beeer! Lights too bright in the room and shower very disappointing - needed descaling. Room expensive for what it was. Restaurant very disappointing. See restaurant review.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Wharf House. We are glad to hear you thought the room was nice but I would like to note that we have three independently controlled lights as well as the main bedroom lights which can be adjusted for own preference. We are saddened you did not enjoy your food, therefore apologise... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Good room with no complaints except that I thought it was rather expensive - I have stayed in similar quality rooms for much lower prices. Nevertheless we had a very good weekend and the restaurant was superb with outstanding food! The quality of the food was definitely in the fine dining description and as you would expect the price was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Wharf House. We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend away and the quality of the room and food was to your liking. We pride ourselves on providing the best experience for our customers so we really appreciate your feedback. We looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. More

bristol
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We visited the restaurant with a groupon voucher and so glad we did otherwise we would not have found such a wonderful place. Perfect setting beside the river, food of outstanding quality and presentation with the staff being attentive and welcoming. We cannot fault any of the experience, we chose to sit inside where we found again the setting is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant and sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor. Receiving feedback from our customers is the only way we can grow so this is truly valued. We pride ourselves on providing the best experience for our customers so we are delighted that you could not fault your experience with us... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Wharf House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf House

Address: Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharf House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wharf House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay