We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alexa House

Hotel website
26 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexa House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alexa House
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    25
    9
    9
    9
See reviews for
8
49
10
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated less than 10 mins walk from harogate town centre. Lovely room, lovely decor, comfy bed, very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Easy to find and free easy access parking to the rear. Would defiantly return next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Alexa House is good 4 star B&B in a great location less than 10 minutes walk into Harrogate town centre and with the convenience of having its own private car park. On arrival we received a friendly greeting from Sandra, who explained arrangements for breakfast, provided the free WiFi password and gave us a map of Harrogate for orientation. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not the best of starts. Checked in to find a dirty cup in my room with still sticky brown sugar residue in it. Tv had no signal and was not rectified even after reporting this to the young girl at breakfast. On the surface things looked clean but actually there was dust all around the skirting boards and the bath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

We have just had new Double glazing fitted and it seems that one of the connections on the roof was disturbed. I did call the aerial specialist out first thing on Monday morning and its fixed What can I say breakfast is a busy time when I am full but there are enough seats for every guest. I am not... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At over £100 a night for a small room on a busy road 15 minutes walk to town one has to say it is overpriced for what is an average B&B. Bathroom was basic and small. Not very clean. Limited room in bedroom. Friendly reception on arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

We have been having new double glazing fitted and the dust has taken a few days to settle down Hopefully this should now have been rectified I am sorry you think I am expensive but I think you will find Harrogate is an expensive place to stay especially on a Saturday night Sandra More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow! what a lovely place deserving of a 4 star AA rating. We had a wonderful time and it was a lot more than like home from home. Everywhere well kept and immaculate. We loved every minute spent here and will without doubt visit again. Breakfast was delicious and filling with a wide choice of cereals and a full cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you Nigel for your lovely comments So glad you enjoyed your stay with us Sandra More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely room, crisp sheets, comfortable bed, fluffy towels, excellent power shower, delicious locally sourced, freshly cooked breakfast, handy for the town centre, terrific service, what more can I say?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Lovely to hear you enjoyed the breakfasts and enjoyed your stay Looking forward to seeing you again in 2017 I understand the Conference is here again Sandra More 

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I travel to the Harrogate area once a year for the championship animal show. I stayed for 2 nights and changed my reservation from a single to a twin room at pretty late notice - which was no trouble at all. We stayed in the stable block, arriving a little later than planned in the afternoon due to the joys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I'm happy you were warm enough and the room was big enough for all the cages of furry animals Here we are in April when your review came through enjoying some lovely sunshine so the cold January weather seems a long time ago Hopefully see you again next year with your winning Mouse Sandra More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

First the good bits: the B&B is not far from the town centre, building looks nice from outside, room and bathroom were clean (although there was mould in the shower mastic). The not so good bits: shower just didn't work. We only found out at about 11pm - too late to ask for a different room. We were at least... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

What a strange thing to do to take the time to write a review but not be bothered to speak to me while you were here. As it happens the shower works perfectly well if you had tried to turn the outer disc the water would have gushed out as the inner disc controls the water temperature. Yes your right... More 

Leicestershire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I don't think that smugglewump was staying in the same guest house as we were. We were greeted with a smile and shown to our room straight away. OK so it was not gi normous, but it had everything we needed. We were staying in Harrogate for a week end and just needed some where to stay. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the weekend Next time book direct and ask for one of the rooms at the front which are bigger Turkish baths are a must aren't they, so relaxing Enjoy the summer Sandra More 

Horncliffe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Stayed for two nights to explore Harrogate. Could not have chosen better - very comfortable, excellent food & service, free parking and 10 mins easy walk from town centre. We had our dog and so were given an annexe room - perfect for us, perfect for "non-doggy guests). Will visit again and definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed your stay with your dog, I hope to see you again in the future Sandra More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question