We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alexa House

Hotel website
26 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexa House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alexa House
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    26
    9
    9
    9
See reviews for
8
50
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival the house looked beautiful, even on a slightly overcast day. The guest house was visible from the main road, with access to the parking provided behind the house. The room itself was very clean and all facilities needed were provided, highly spacious room especially for myself and my partner. Sandra was attentive and very helpful. Perfect breakfast, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Have a good Bank Holiday and I hope to see you again Sandra More 

Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night as part of a cycling trip. Sandra was very helpful and welcoming and was happy to help accommodate our bikes. As other reviewers have said, the B&B is in a good location that is very close to the centre of town. Although on a main road, there is parking at the back with plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review I hope you had a lovely ride as the weather did seem to stay fine for you all. Look forward to meeting you again Kind regards Sandra More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Situated less than 10 mins walk from harogate town centre. Lovely room, lovely decor, comfy bed, very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Easy to find and free easy access parking to the rear. Would defiantly return next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay Kind regards Sandra More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Alexa House is good 4 star B&B in a great location less than 10 minutes walk into Harrogate town centre and with the convenience of having its own private car park. On arrival we received a friendly greeting from Sandra, who explained arrangements for breakfast, provided the free WiFi password and gave us a map of Harrogate for orientation. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and interesting comments. I have had fridges in the rooms but despite promises that they would be quiet they all seem to get noisy in a very short time. I do have a small one to borrow should anybody need it especially diabetics for their insulin. As for biscuits in the rooms, I try not... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Not the best of starts. Checked in to find a dirty cup in my room with still sticky brown sugar residue in it. Tv had no signal and was not rectified even after reporting this to the young girl at breakfast. On the surface things looked clean but actually there was dust all around the skirting boards and the bath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

We have just had new Double glazing fitted and it seems that one of the connections on the roof was disturbed. I did call the aerial specialist out first thing on Monday morning and its fixed What can I say breakfast is a busy time when I am full but there are enough seats for every guest. I am not... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

At over £100 a night for a small room on a busy road 15 minutes walk to town one has to say it is overpriced for what is an average B&B. Bathroom was basic and small. Not very clean. Limited room in bedroom. Friendly reception on arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

We have been having new double glazing fitted and the dust has taken a few days to settle down Hopefully this should now have been rectified I am sorry you think I am expensive but I think you will find Harrogate is an expensive place to stay especially on a Saturday night Sandra More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Wow! what a lovely place deserving of a 4 star AA rating. We had a wonderful time and it was a lot more than like home from home. Everywhere well kept and immaculate. We loved every minute spent here and will without doubt visit again. Breakfast was delicious and filling with a wide choice of cereals and a full cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Thank you Nigel for your lovely comments So glad you enjoyed your stay with us Sandra More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Lovely room, crisp sheets, comfortable bed, fluffy towels, excellent power shower, delicious locally sourced, freshly cooked breakfast, handy for the town centre, terrific service, what more can I say?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

Lovely to hear you enjoyed the breakfasts and enjoyed your stay Looking forward to seeing you again in 2017 I understand the Conference is here again Sandra More 

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

I travel to the Harrogate area once a year for the championship animal show. I stayed for 2 nights and changed my reservation from a single to a twin room at pretty late notice - which was no trouble at all. We stayed in the stable block, arriving a little later than planned in the afternoon due to the joys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

I'm happy you were warm enough and the room was big enough for all the cages of furry animals Here we are in April when your review came through enjoying some lovely sunshine so the cold January weather seems a long time ago Hopefully see you again next year with your winning Mouse Sandra More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

First the good bits: the B&B is not far from the town centre, building looks nice from outside, room and bathroom were clean (although there was mould in the shower mastic). The not so good bits: shower just didn't work. We only found out at about 11pm - too late to ask for a different room. We were at least... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review

What a strange thing to do to take the time to write a review but not be bothered to speak to me while you were here. As it happens the shower works perfectly well if you had tried to turn the outer disc the water would have gushed out as the inner disc controls the water temperature. Yes your right... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay