We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Yorkshire Hotel

Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Yorkshire Hotel
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    387
    278
    123
    75
See reviews for
105
591
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1058)
  • Mar-May only
    (277)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (246)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (266)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (269)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Yorkshire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife & I have just returned from a brilliant 2 nights at the Yorkshire Hotel in Harrogate. We were a little concerned after reading the reviews, but we needn’t have worried. We arrived at midday on Saturday and got a parking spot in front of the hotel entrance. We were given room 108 which had everything we needed including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your frank and honest opinions; it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate Thank you once again for your feedback Nick Henry General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great location, friendly staff and very reasonably priced....but DO NOT STAY HERE if you want to get to sleep before 2am! Or at least ask for a room away from the side of the hotel where the bars are located - there is an alley with a load of bars and restaurants (with outside seating / standing areas), and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from street noise it is unfortunate that our location is one of our greatest or worst assets depending to your point of view. The Duty Manager unfortunately has limited control over the actions of Harrogate’s rev. I am sorry that this impacted you negatively and therefiore you didn’t enjoy your stay.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've just got back from a two night stay at the Yorkshire Hotel. I found the staff very polite right from the start when I asked if I could check in early, my room was ready so it wasn't a problem. I was in room 106. The negatives the light in the rooms' reception area didn't work, I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. I do take on board your comments relating to your room. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate. Nick Henry General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visiting on a business trip, I quickly came to realise that parking was a major issue here. On the morning of the second day I asked if my space could be reserved (because of the amount of expensive equipment in my vehicle) which was denied due to the hotels first come first served policy. I was a little upset when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on tripadvisor. I was sorry to read that you were un happy with our car parking arrangements. I certainly acknowledge your comments, however we do state our car parking arrangements on all T&Cs so that it is there are no a surprises or disappointment. There are a few occasion where we will reserved car... More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel has parking for about a 10th of the total number of hotel guests so we were told to park round the corner and move our car before getting a fine at 8! Getting up early might have actually been a relief from the sound of air con units and the sweltering temperatures that we had to contend with.

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on tripadvisor. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with our car parking arrangements. I certainly acknowledge your comments, however we do state our car parking arrangements on all T&Cs, websites etc to help ensure there are no nasty a surprises or disappointment I am sorry if you did not read these... More 

UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I visited and reviewed the Yorkshire Hotel last July and rated it as a 3/5, I commented that it was a basic 3 star that was clean, unfortunately I cannot rate it the same from my recent visit. We stayed as part of a group and were given a room which was large and that's probably the only positive thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

I thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review on the tripadvisor website. I am sorry that your stay was not an entire success, for which I can only apologise. It is always disappointing to read that someone has not enjoyed their stay especially when they are a returning guest. I am genuinely sorry for the... More 

lancs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and i stayed in the Yorkshire Hotel last year in June and found the beds extremely hard which wasnt good for my good for my back which i have had trouble with for a number of years. I asked the receptionist if there could be anything done about this and she said we could move rooms but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us. I am however sorry that you were disappointed and felt let down by the comfort of the bed you were allocated we have replaced a number of beds in the last year and... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The good things first. The location could not be better if you are there to see the sights of Harrogate. You can see Betty's from the front steps, you are close to all the central bars and shops and the hotel overlooks the park. The brasserie has been refurbished and looks good if a little naff. Unfortunately that's where my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Yorkshire Hotel, I am sorry that your stay was clearly not an acceptable standard for which I can only apologise. I thank you for highlighting the problems you experienced within the hotel. IAs advertised and as I have stated previously we do only have limited car parking and... More 

Bedford, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Yorkshire Hotel for two nights in mid-August 2013 in room 406. First impressions were good – the Reception Area was reasonably modern and the check-in was efficient. The two lifts were quite old and gave a bumpy ride – especially when the lifts stopped. In the smaller lift there was no indication to show which floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room you were allocated. I have stated previously that we do only have limited car parking and is on a first come first served basis. It is however worth stating for other readers that there is no need to rush down at... More 

wakefield
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights B & B on a promotional offer which proved terrific value. The hotel is superbly located in the centre of Harrogate. The car park is fairly large, but inadequate if the hotel is busy, which it was, and both days we had to resort to street parking overnight. There was no problem getting a space... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed your break with us. As a hotel general manager it is always great to read a good honest review but it even better to read one that is complimentary, fair and helpful I thank you. I do take... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question