We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Harrogate hotels

The Yorkshire Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Yorkshire Hotel to your Saves list
The Yorkshire Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
58%
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Harrogate
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
William C London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (815)
  • Photos (109)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (230)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    295
    203
    98
    59
See reviews for
88
440
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights on a buyagift voucher. It was terrible !. The first room they put us in i would not have put a dog in ! Next room was a little better and at least habitable. Hotel in desperate need of a make-over !

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
92 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I remember this Hotel as the old Prospect Hotel from my school days in Harrogate. Returning after some 40 odd years was really brought back the memories of Harrogate and this beautiful old property. The room we were in was very tired but clean. The bed was uncomfortable. The room was quite stuffy as there was no air conditioning. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William C Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer. Thank you for your comments they really are appreciated. Kind Regards Robert Warren More

North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed one night at this hotel as part of a CIE Tour. Although the outside was impressive, the inside was disappointing. Our room had no air conditioning with single glazed windows that only opened 6 inches. An extremely noisy room until around 3am that fronted the bars on the back side of the hotel. The floors throughout the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CJthe 1st We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. We are all sorry to read about your bedroom, all the points you have raised have all been noted. Thank you for your comments. Kindest Regards Robert Warren More

Berkshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It looks nice, but the bed was a disaster...basically a knackered mattress. We complained and were told in a very complaisant way that new beds were on order, followed by a superficial apology. We ate out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear logimorph, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of mattress you had whilst staying in the Hotel. Kindest Regards Robert Warren More

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Yorkshire over the summer. It is well situated in the town and looks very grand outside. However, inside the hotel is very tired in terms of decoration. We stayed on two occasions - the first staff could not do more and ran the extra mile but the second time was the opposite. The food is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AnneandChris9 , Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer. Thank you for your comments they really are appreciated. Kind Regards Robert Warren More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed in other hotels in the centre of Harrogate town and paid similar prices, however - despite reading the unfavorable reviews - it was quite a shock to see the high degree of lack of love and care of, what should be, a grand and glorious hotel. Of course I can imagine the terrific costs involved in keeping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rymer2014, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service & Facilities to all of guests. We are currently working on a 3 year plan for the Hotel in terms of what areas from a refurbishment point of view that we need to undertake and this... More

Huntington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The pictures of the rooms of this hotel were taken in some other hotel. The bed was hard the pillows too soft and the room totally poor. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It was part of our CIE tour and they need to pick a different one next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

having read quite a few of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel far better than expected! Yes the building is old and yes if you want to find fault with the odd 'mark' on the carpet and 'creaky' bed dont bother going, but to us that just adds to its overall character. Now I am fussy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie w , Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer. Thank you for your comments they really are appreciated. Kind Regards Robert Warren More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at The Yorkshire Hotel for one night. Rooms were quite expensive (£100+) and it wasn't too much more to upgrade to bed, breakfast and dinner in a feature room so that's what we did. The hotel is in a fabulous location; right in the town centre and next to Betty's. The reception area was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa 0 We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. We are all sorry to read about your bedroom, all the points you have raised have all been noted. I was delighted to read that the Food & Beverage team did... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here several times over summer. The location is great, right in the centre of Harrogate. I stayed in various ' feature' rooms. They were all large and overlooked the gardens. One drawback was the traffic noise. The rooms were in need of some refurbishment and cleaning could have been better- what looked like dogs hairs in one room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FSMorecambe, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments regards Housekeeping have been discussed and passed onto the team. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer. Thank you for your comments.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Yorkshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Harrogate with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Yorkshire Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

;