We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Harrogate hotels

The Yorkshire Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Yorkshire Hotel to your Saves list
The Yorkshire Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
58%
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Dr John K
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    295
    205
    99
    62
See reviews for
88
442
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Never been to Harrogate before and its well worth the journey. The Yorkshire Hotel is a wonderfully convenient position for the town in that it is in the centre. Car parking is a bit problematic. The building from the outside is imposing. Checked in and given a room on the 3rd floor. Caught the lift to said floor and my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dr John K, I am pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Harrogate it really is a very beautiful town and the Hotels location right in the centre could not be any better. We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests.... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in harrogate on a regular basis and if possible stay in the crown hotel however due to the crown being full the Yorkshire was the only alternative,reading the reviews I thought people might be being a bit harsh, wrong this is the worst hotel I have stayed at it makes the George hotel seem luxurious, the bedrooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Houston2807, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities & service to all of guests. I was delighted to read your comments about the front desk team and I have passed your comments on to them. When you are next in Harrogate please do come... More

Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If spending your hard earned money on a well deserved vacation means staying at a run down hotel that is in bad need of a complete renovation combined with lousy customer service means just fantastic to you, then by all means stay at this hotel. Per se, I made the bad mistake being part of a August 2014 CIE TOURS.COM... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Yorkshire Hotel for one night In August 2014. The drive up to the hotel is nice, really central location right opposite Betty's tea room and the war memorial. Couldn't be any closer!!! The reception area is nice, bright and obviously had some money spent on it in recent years. The first impressions of the reception staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mojitolover77, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities & service to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of bed you had whilst staying in the Hotel, we are currently waiting for some quotes through from suppliers as the plan over the next 6... More

redcar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in the best location in Harrogate, close to lots of great bars and restaurants. I knew from what I had previously read on Trip Advisor that the hotel was a bit tired and in need of some refurbishment but I got a good deal and thought it was still worth a try. Unfortunately I was very disappointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer o, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of mattress and towels you had whilst staying in the Hotel and I am shocked and embarrassed that your room was not serviced, we use a contractor... More

Stoke on trent
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This good points about this hotel are it's location, the very friendly & helpful staff & a very good shower in our room 205 Otherwise it's awful, tired, tatty & shabby...definitely not chique in any way...if we had not prepaid for our 9 night stay .....after seeing our room & the broom cupboard of a room we were offered when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sheilaStokeontrent, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. We are all sorry to read your feedback about your visit but I am surprised that during your 9 night stay you did not raise these concerns with me during your stay... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights on a buyagift voucher. It was terrible !. The first room they put us in i would not have put a dog in ! Next room was a little better and at least habitable. Hotel in desperate need of a make-over !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MichelleK141 We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. We are all sorry to read your feedback about your bedroom. I can see you spoke to reception as they managed to move you to an alternative room, but I do wish... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
92 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I remember this Hotel as the old Prospect Hotel from my school days in Harrogate. Returning after some 40 odd years was really brought back the memories of Harrogate and this beautiful old property. The room we were in was very tired but clean. The bed was uncomfortable. The room was quite stuffy as there was no air conditioning. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William C Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer. Thank you for your comments they really are appreciated. Kind Regards Robert Warren More

North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night at this hotel as part of a CIE Tour. Although the outside was impressive, the inside was disappointing. Our room had no air conditioning with single glazed windows that only opened 6 inches. An extremely noisy room until around 3am that fronted the bars on the back side of the hotel. The floors throughout the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CJthe 1st We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. We are all sorry to read about your bedroom, all the points you have raised have all been noted. Thank you for your comments. Kindest Regards Robert Warren More

Berkshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It looks nice, but the bed was a disaster...basically a knackered mattress. We complained and were told in a very complaisant way that new beds were on order, followed by a superficial apology. We ate out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear logimorph, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of mattress you had whilst staying in the Hotel. Kindest Regards Robert Warren More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Yorkshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Harrogate with
any amenities