We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Yorkshire Hotel

Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Yorkshire Hotel
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    389
    280
    123
    76
See reviews for
105
597
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1065)
  • Mar-May only
    (284)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (246)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (266)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (269)
All months
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here with friends for one night with a Spring deal which included breakfast and evening meal. Friendly staff both on reception and waitresses. Rooms are very tired and need upgrading but are clean and comfortable. The evening meal was very well presented and tasty. Breakfast is help yourself but if you require anything different you only have to ask.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sally R, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay even though you feel the hotel to be a little tired. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon, please remember to... More 

cleethorpes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

it was a treat to stay at The Yorkshire Hotel again or so we thought. This has been our third visit. Whilst the room and majority of staff were excellent, the meals were VERY disappointing. The same soup two nights in a row . My husband had fish and chips. He was told it was Cod. Never before have we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear margann cleethorpes, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service to all of guests. Let’s start with the positives; I was delighted to read that you found your room to be excellent and the majority of the team, however I was disappointed to read your... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I booked this hotel for a night away for my partner's birthday and I'm really disappointed. I've checked into the hotel, rode the rickety lift to the room. The corridors are dark with dark brown stained carpets. The room is small, the furniture scratched and the bed looks lumpy before I even sleep in it!!! The bath room has a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ajacko27, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests, I do wish you had raised you concerns with regards to your room whilst you were here as we would have tried to resolve the issues or to find you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i know this hotel doesn't get good reviews but again I must give you our view. The hotel is in an excellent location. There is free car parking and wifi. The food was basic but ample, nice enough. The staff were pleasant. Yes the hotel is dated, but it is an old building. Could be a little cheaper! Well worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue63D, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website it’s always good for us to hear from our regular visitors. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; your comments are much appreciated by me and the Team. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to... More 

Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway as part of a voucher scheme. We were given a room with an excellent view. The room was very clean and well-presented and was a good size. The windows are very old and even when closed there is a gap almost big enough to fit your finger through, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Twelvequid, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; your comments are much appreciated by me and the Team. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon, please remember to keep an eye on our... More 

JARROW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from 2nd visit today.This is such a lovely hotel, the food is great, the staff are lovely and position of hotel is wonderful. We booked 2day break which was such good value. Our request for a twin room front facing was granted, however after 1st night I found bed a little too firm for me. I mentioned this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VIVIEN M, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are delighted with your rating of 5 out of 5; your comments are much appreciated by me and the Team. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Regular visitors due to location. Normally fine but this Bank Holiday stay would have been better if the WiFi had have been working and if the cooked breakfast had all of the advertised items. Would still stay again as bed was extremely comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul T, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website, I am sorry to hear that we were missing some items on the hot buffet, I am aware that we experienced IT issues over the weekend which was caused due to a router problem which due to the bank holiday we were... More 

coventry
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here in late March with my husband. Our room was smaller than last year but still faced the front so we enjoyed the same view. It was comfortable even if the furniture was a trifle dated. It was also very peaceful. Once again, we were struck by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Our room was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JEBLLB, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; your comments are much appreciated by me and the Team and your comments about the vegetarian dishes and Tio Pepe have been noted. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you... More 

Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes it's a bit dated but our time spent in the hotel was fine. Staff helpful and friendly, food was adequate without being spectacular, room certainly needs sprucing up but redeemed itself with a fine view at the front. Lifts certainly need to be improved, tiny with no indicators of where they are, certainly in the one we used. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fordhamfrank, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; your comments are much appreciated by me and the Team. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon, please remember to keep an eye on our... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just got back from a weekend away at The Yorkshire Hotel. We had a gift voucher we received as a present for a two night stay including breakfast each morning. When I booked the man I spoke to advised we had the last room for that weekend at that he had upgraded us to a feature room. Upon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma L Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; your comments are much appreciated by me and the Team. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon, please remember to keep an eye on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities