We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Harrogate hotels

The Yorkshire Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Yorkshire Hotel to your Saves list
The Yorkshire Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Harrogate
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Victoria S Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (788)
  • Photos (109)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (217)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

788 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    287
    194
    92
    57
See reviews for
83
428
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at The Yorkshire Hotel for a family wedding (which was also held in the hotel) in July. It is set in a great location right in the centre but has lovely surroundings. It was great to have free parking (first come basis) right outside the hotel and the breakfast was brilliant! The hotel could do with updating and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Victoria S, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and my understanding was that the wedding reception and evening party were a real success. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The exterior and lobby/bar area are quite lovely but my main complaint is the bed in our room. It was 2 different height beds pushed together making for a very uncomfortable experience. The mattress was just terrible. It was squeaky and you could feel every spring. We had to sleep on top of the duvet just to have a but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary T We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. We are all sorry to read about your experience I do wish that you had raised your bedroom concerns whilst you were here as we would have tried our... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel.Some people are slightly harsh.Location is amazing.The staff are helpful and friendly.We had a huge rome at the front of the hotel.It was extremely clean,the bed was huge.Yes an update us needed but we knew that before booking.The manager even apologised to us when we were sitting on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

mary h, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future. Kind Regards Robert Warren More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading previous negative reviews from patrons,was a bit apprehensive about making a booking,but decided to anyway:yes the Decor is a bit dated but no complaints about our first meal or the friendliness of all staff that we have met today.As I said decor could be construed as a bit shabby but what the heck,give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart W, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future. Kind Regards Robert Warren More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was woken at 3.30 by very loud banging on my door.I was in room 320. The banging went on down the corridor I was informed by a member of staff that it was a guest who finished up sleeping in the corridor. I mentioned this at reception girl there apologized but really that was not good enough as it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear charletholly I was sorry to read that one inconsiderate person’s actions lead to you having a broken night’s sleep all I can do is apologise on behalf of them. Kindest Regards Robert Warren More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed at The Yorkshire for 3 nights in July 2014. The reception area and frontage of the hotel promised something amazing, however we were sadly disappointed once we arrived at our bedroom, situated at the back of the hotel. The room itself was very tatty, curtains not attached to the rail properly, furniture needing a face... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 228 Victoria, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service &facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the noise issues from the street that you encountered although our location in the heart of the town is great it can at times lead to this type... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fortunately I wasn't paying for the room but really hotels like this are the reason why large chain hotels have developed. The good: great location and the views from my 4th floor room were lovely. Reception staff were charming. The bad: bedroom furniture was tatty and resembled 1970's student bed sit style and quality. Every spring in the knackered mattress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear robert S, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. We are all sorry to read about your experience however I hope you can return to Yorkshire Hotel again in the near future. Kindest Regards Robert Warren More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Yorkshire several times as a couple and decided to celebrate our Golden Wedding there with our children and their families. The hotel is in a perfect location with great views and very central for the whole town. We booked our favourite room (103) which is a comfortable suite above the main entrance looking out over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 99maudieb, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and I wish you both many more happy years together. Kind Regards Robert Warren More

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights for our anniversary. On arrival we were lucky enough to get a car parking space right outside. Our room was on the third floor at the front of the hotel which had a lovely view of the gardens. Furniture a bit dated and the room was quite dark. Unable to switch towel rail off in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Smurfy 1971, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently putting together a 3 year plan for the Hotel in terms of what areas from a refurbishment point of view that we need to undertake and this work should... More

Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read some reviews which were less than complimentary. Well my experience was very different with welcoming and helpful check in staff. Room was fine, bed fine and a great shower. Good value and would go back without hestitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Robert Warren More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Yorkshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer