We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Yorkshire Hotel

3.0 of 5 Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Yorkshire Hotel
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    334
    240
    117
    67
See reviews for
100
508
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (934)
  • Mar-May only
    (192)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (246)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (266)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (230)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

nice old hotel friendly staff made welcome on arrival room was cold but when we told reception two electric heaters was despatched to the room which made the room more warm and comfortable. we had breakfast which was included in the price and was of excellant quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dreckley, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; even though your stay started a little on the cold side. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon. Kind Regards Robert Warren More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

From the outside it looks like an awesome place to stay but what a shock we got when we got to our room. Let's just say faulty towers!!! No heating, a wardrobe that didn't close, a film of dust on the lights, squeaky flooring so everyone's movement on most floors could be heard, a cold very old bathroom and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shelldoch, Following on from our previous email conversation once again please accept my apologies. Kind Regards Robert Warren More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel through an Amazon deal 2 nights bed breakfast and evening meal. Good points location v good check in and reception area good. We managed to get a parking space outside however this is not always possible. Room was clean,large comfy bed, tv ,broken kettle. Furniture old and worn very dark. Single glazed window our room was above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fabmum51, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your trip to Harrogate and that you found the team to be “Excellent” even though you feel the hotel is tired. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were on a shopping trip and decided to stay the night . We were given a room on the second floor and were flabbergasted at the dated decor and futniture . The general condition if the room was very shabby and depressing . The receptionist looked bored and was disinterested when we asked about parking .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GedHalls, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests, I do wish you had raised these concerns whilst you were here as we would have done everything we could have to find a room that matched your expectations. Thank... More 

Darwen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Just back from a two night break here and really enjoyed Harrogate. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, right in the centre of town. Only two criticisms, the room we were in (211) was so cold, the windows are single glazed and we had to keep the curtains closed to keep the heat in. Only one tiny wall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane K, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your trip to Harrogate even though you were disappointing with the heating & lighting in the room. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel & Harrogate has... More 

North Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A bit of a spontaneous stay in Harrogate booked on the January £59 offer on their site. We wanted a place to stay on the centre so we could go for a meal and have a few drinks and it certainly ticked the boxes. The staff were pleasant and friendly throughout, and the bedroom had everything we needed (comfy bed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sunseeker-kelly, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your trip to Harrogate even though you were disappointing with the breakfast offering. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel & Harrogate has to offer in the future... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay, we purchased to deal in Amazon local. Each night was £79 per night including breakfast and dinner. The staff were excellent and they are the gem at this hotel, although we were not asked how are stay was. I have be honest and say I think the £79 was too much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Rachael W, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. On a positive note I was delighted to hear that the team looked after you well. We took over the Hotel 12 months ago and have some exciting plans that we will... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we have just come back from 2 nights midweek at the hotel, we got bed and breakfast for £99 a real bargain. staff were very helpful and service in the breakfast room was excellent, if any negatives breakfast was basic and there were no fried eggs out on the hot plate you had to ask for them which I found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aileen c, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; your comments are really appreciated by me and the team. With regards to the fried eggs being available from the kitchen, we use to have them on the buffet but we found they did... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked our stay over the Internet in the January sale, a special discount price of £59 for B&B per room per night. I booked two rooms for one night as we were going to watch the Classic Rock show in Harrogate. Our room 108 was a little tired and looked like it needed a upgrade, there was no towel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawn W, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. We have a certain amount of standard rooms and once these have all been booked people can be lucky like your friends and receive a complimentary upgrade. Thank you... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel looks quite grand from the outside but the room we stayed in was extremely dated and shabby! The bed was hard and all in all the whole room wasn't particularly comfortable! The bathroom was ill equipped and the shower over the bath was actually unusable! For a lovely place such as Harrogate this hotel turned out to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bridor0508, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. We are currently putting together a 3 year plan for the Hotel in terms of what areas from a refurbishment point of view that we need to undertake and this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay