We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Yorkshire Hotel

Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Yorkshire Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,086 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    199
    395
    285
    127
    80
See reviews for
107
608
21
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1086)
  • Mar-May only
    (289)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (262)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (266)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (269)
All months
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pro's: great location close to everything you need in the town. Professional and helpful staff, nice bar, free permit parking outside. Cons: needs updating, interior decor very dated, bathroom had mould on ceilings and tile grouting was black with mould. Large pipes down the wall next to the bed which could easily be boxed in. Breakfast food poor quality. Ok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at The Yorkshire Hotel whilst visiting Harrogate for a wedding. Upon arrival at the hotel I was impressed with the grand exterior of the building but I have to say sadly the inside is in need of some renovation, major in parts. The lift certainly doesn't fill you with confidence. The bathroom sink in my room was cracked,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Loved this hotel. After reading reviews I was very worried about our stay, but on arrival met by friendly staff, our room was lovely, breakfast was delicious. I agree the hotel needs an update, but there are not many these days that are spot on, only if you want to pay outstanding prices. This hotel is great value for money,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
preston
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Got a really good deal from the hotel's own website and stayed here for one night with dinner, bed and breakfast. Superb value. Central location and literally 3mins walk to the railway station straight down one road which I think was called James Street. Got in to the room early so that was good. Spacious room with large bathroom area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear welltraveled800, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay 5 out of 5 we can’t ask for more than that; your comments are much appreciated by me and the Team. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great location - but this hotel definitely needs a makeover! The bedrooms were very tired and outdated - the bed was uncomfortable and the decor very outdated. No double glazing and rattly windows. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed on a half board basis and found that although there was a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear david j, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. I was pleased to read your comments about the team, but sorry to hear your feedback about the rooms, we know there are improvements that we need to make and we... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

all staff very nice and helpful but rooms need a lot of help take a roll mat and sleep on the floor you will be more comfortable then in the bed. and as for the dinners eat out the breakfast I found very good but will I stay again not on your life .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gill k, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests, I was disappointed to read your comments about the bedroom Dinner, I do wish you had raised these concerns whilst you were here as I would have done everything... More 

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely old historic building, but with modern up-dated rooms. The staff are very friendly, and dinner was worthy of 5***** By gum, this hotel is a must to stay at, to discover the charms of North Yorkshire.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Manxman72, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay we can’t ask for more than 5 out of 5; your comments are much appreciated by me and the Team and good to see you picked up the Yorkshire Lingo! Thank you for your comments... More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking forward to staying in this historic hotel because from the pictures it looked like an amazing grand lady, which has survived through so many decades. However, I was terribly disappointed when I entered our room. Instead of a finely decorated room I found myself standing in a drab, depressing, cold room. The carpet was dirty looking, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SandraB8969, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests, I was disappointed to read your comments about the bedroom, I do wish you had raised these concerns whilst you were here as I would have done everything I could... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly, may I say the staff are very professional, good hearted with nerves of steel. If you like 18th century buildings, this is the place for you, if you like old worn clapped out furniture with 18th century horse hair matresses ( feels like) this is the place for you, if you feel as though you are on your last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ronald H, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. I was pleased to read your comments about the team, but sorry to hear your feedback about the rooms, we know there are improvements that we need to make and we... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was damp and had damage caused by a leak to the roof. The room was dirty and the furniture very tired. The bed was so uncomfortable I slept on the floor as it was better than springs in my back. There was also not enough parking at the hotel so when I arrived after a 4 hour drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Qwerty2345, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests, I was disappointed to read your comments about the room, although I know the rooms are showing some signs of age, however the rooms that I check always seem to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay