We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Swan Hotel

Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Swan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    327
    223
    106
    65
See reviews for
107
519
24
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (998)
  • Mar-May only
    (237)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (270)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (276)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (215)
All months
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have been remiss in my reviews although finally getting caught up! Stayed here for 2 nights for the New Years Eve Ball. The ball itself was great with good food and entertainment. Fantastic way to start 2015. The hotel rooms were a bit disappointing really. On the small side with a tiny bathroom and no bath. Shower was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed here several times over the years, pre Trip Advisor days, and were quite satisfied, so we we interested to try the Afternoon Tea they put on. It was given to us as a gift voucher so we were a little apprehensive as we have been disappointed with vouchers before. On this occasion however we were far from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here during an exhibition and was in an executive room. There was no air conditioning so the room was unbearably warm and you could only open the window a tiny bit. Not sure I would want to stay in the rooms in the height of summer. The bed was like a rock and so were the pillows so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel to attend a wedding. The hotel is set in a first class location, near to the town. The grounds were beautiful, the main public rooms grand, but the lift, corridors to the rooms and bedrooms need a definite up lift and bringing up to date.

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshire england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We held our daughters wedding reception here and I can only say what a wonderful day from start to finish. The old swan has character and charm. We had use of the Red Room for our welcome drinks reception followed by the Garden Room for the wedding breakfast and evening reception. Matthew (master of ceremonies) for the day was marvellous,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd not stayed at the Old Swan in years and it was starting to look tired,We stayed there for a romantic night away, the room was great, the decor was good and it didn't look tired at all (unlike me) the package was wonderful value for money, the restaurant was excellent, but we waited nearly an hour for breakfast. I'm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a lovely location close to the town and initially looked attractive. On entering the tiny lift to get to the third floor and we found a different world! Miles of corridor took us to our compact room with dirty walls, badly in need of decoration. The bathroom was one of the smallest I have ever seen,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we went as wedding guests to this hotel and found that although the venue and building were charming, the charm stopped there! Firstly, the bar service was over priced, poor quality beers and wines. Soda water served from a jug that was being decanted from the next door bar. One young member of staff who had little experience and kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I apologise that your visit was not satisfactory. I appreciate you highlighting the service issues as I was not aware of this and we had not had other similar reports but I will be investigating further. I am sorry we were below par. Our bar and wine... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Old Swan Hotel to attend the Jo Nesbo interview/book-signing event. I'd say the negative reviews I read on here beforehand were unfounded. This is a beautiful hotel, spotlessly clean with bags upon bags of character. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and the whole stay extremely good value. Its location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wales
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely old hotel that oozes Victorian character and charm In a fantastic location and with even more fantastic staff We didn't eat here this time but heard nice comments on the restaurant We will definitely use again And fully recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question