We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Peterborough hotels

Great Northern Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Approach, Peterborough PE1 1QL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Great Northern Hotel to your Saves list
Great Northern Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
71%
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Peterborough
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
RFDEA Kettering, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (225)
  • Photos (65)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (52)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    61
    24
    25
    18
See reviews for
21
62
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really beautiful building with well thought out furniture to fit the age of the property without being to theme based. Great service and pretty good food judging by the little we had. Surprisingly little noise from the station opposite which did surprise me. Overall a gem of a hotel in Peterborough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hull, england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were pleasantly surprised by the high standards of this hotel, as it was so reasonably priced and well located for the shops and cathedral. Our room was huge with a separate bath and shower and a fridge. The bar area was cosy and we enjoyed our food here. With free parking and wifi, what more could you ask for?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were excellent, very polite, and called me quickly when my mum left her iPad on the bed after she left. Got a better rate by booking in person at the front desk. Room was lovely, slightly dated but that's part of the Victorian charm I guess! Good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Gareth Your review and comments are much appreciated..I will pass them on to all the team concerned. We are in the process of refurbishments and are trying to have a balance of old and new, without losing our Victorian charm. I do hope that we will see you again at the hotel, where I can meet you personally. Regards Shaun... More

Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on 2 occasions recently on a bed and breakfast basis. This hotel is superbly located a mere road width from railway station and 5 minute walk over the footbridge to shopping centre and bus station. Breakfast was good but a tad small for a full English. the staff were friendly and helpful. Only real complaint is lack of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Allyloon Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.. It always nice to receive positive feedback. We do not have AC, however, there are fans available on request, so I will make sure this facility is made aware to future guests.. Please feel free at breakfast, to mix and match items as we like our guests to have... More

Winnersh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a conference room here and the room was nice as was the building. The staff were helpful. There was a wedding here the same day and they were all busy. They laid on nice tea and biscuits. The weak points were: upstairs toilet not working so had to go downstairs. The wifi was included but intermittent with too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Alan R Thank you for your review, we have just refurbished and upgraded these conference rooms, so I am please that you felt they were good. We are also making the wifi stronger in these rooms, and I apologise for the intermittent access. I do hope that you will use us again and look forward to welcoming you back to... More

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met a former colleague here for lunch recently. Being a hot day we opted for the Ploiughmans lunch which included Pate. The lunch arrived and the Pate looked very pale. It smelled of rotten fish so I was immediately wary. A small taste l;eft me in no doubt that this was off and indeed rancid. My colleague bravely tasted it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

HimfromDelmonte Thank you for taking the time to write your review.. It is unfortunate that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations. .I can assure you that our parfait is made 'in house' and is always fresh. However, I will be discussing your comments with my team to make sure incidents are handled more professionally in the... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Managed to get a groupon voucher here so went along on a Friday night. Had all 3 courses and the food was very nice. The dining room is a little plain and could do with a revamp, but the food was nice. We sat in the bar before eating and I liked the bar area, very modern and comfortable. All... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Nicola D Thank you for your kind review on our Carriages restaurant. I am pleased you enjoyed the food and the service met with your expectation. We will be refurbishing the restaurant in the next two months and the refurbishment of the bar will be completed by September, so please do visit us again and see the changes that we... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for three nights at the Great Northen Hotel in Peterborough on my way back from a Conference in Cambridge to my home in Manchester. The hotel is situated opposite the entrance to Peterborough Railway Station and only a few minutes walk via a footbridge to the Bus Station, shopping centre and Cathedral, My room - the Parisian Suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Davelannon I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Great Northern Hotel..and that we me may see you back here again. I will pass on your comments to all the team, in all the areas you have highlighted so that they know their hard work is effective. Thank you again for your review. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a night recently . The staff were very friendly nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were nice. clean and spacious and the food was very good. Close to the station and the city. Would return .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Robert H Thank you very much for your kind review.. It is so nice to hear that the staff, and the hotel met with your expectations. The hotel has lots of history and oozes character which we hope stands us apart from the branded, lifeless properties. My team always strive to give the best service and I do hope that... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I've stayed here for a couple of days in June 2014 on Business. The good: * Location is great (city centre & train station close by) * Staff was (with one exception but everyone has a bad day) very friendly and helpful * Room itself was always very clean * WiFi worked great the whole time (but requires a one-time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Konra_Holger It is much appreciated that you have taken the time to write your review. I am pleased that we met your expectations in certain areas, and your points have been noted about the areas where you feel we need to improve. We are constantly updating and refurbishing public areas, as well as bedrooms, but this is only started in... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Great Northern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: Station Approach, Peterborough PE1 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Northern Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Peterborough with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iconic Victorian Railway Hotel, recently refurbished to enhance the elegance of this stunning hotel at the heart of the city centre. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
42

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Great Northern Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer