We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Peterborough hotels

Great Northern Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Approach, Peterborough PE1 1QL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Great Northern Hotel to your Saves list
Great Northern Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Peterborough
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Angela P
  • Overview
  • Reviews (214)
  • Photos (65)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (49)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    57
    23
    24
    17
See reviews for
20
58
15
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have just returned from a weekend away at this hotel, the food was lovely, the staff we're very friendly and couldn't do enough to help, the room we had was amazing we were upgraded to a suite and can honestly say was huge and very clean, we would definitely be staying again, we had a excellent deal from groupon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I were overwhelmed by the warm welcome of Amanda on reception and the friendly attentive staff in the dining room. The quality and presentation of the food was excellent and everyone certainly made my birthday celebration one to remember.The bed was huge and comfortable and the room was spacious. We would not hesitate to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dave K I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the great Northern Hotel, and that you felt the staff were attentive and professional. Your comments will be passed on to all the team, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not exactly ideal for business-trippers or anyone who values a quiet night. But the location is really good. It was all very vanilla...but minus any discernible flavour. The place has some character...like that of the member of reception who wrapped up my checkout by flinging a copy of the receipt across the desk and was 'greeting' the next guest before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

WeizenbierTreacle Thank you for your review, and my sincere apologies that we did not meet with your expectations. It is unusual that we fall so short on our customer service, and this will be addressed with all the team. Being a city centre hotel we do have the odd occasion where outside noise occurs, and although out of our control... More

hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had two night stay at this hotel. Considering this trip was booked using a wowcher, we were treated as if we paid full price. Excellent service with very friendly staff, spotless room and excellent choice of food. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Chubbly The wowcher deal that you stayed on turned out to be extremely popular, so keep your eyes open we will probably be doing this again... We do try to give the highest standard of service at all times and I am pleased that you felt we achieved this during your stay.. Your comments will be passed around to all... More

Durham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked to stay here on Friday night, was pleasantly surprised when I got of the train it was literally there, ideal as being on my own in a place I didn't know I didn't fancy a trek to anywhere looking like I didn't belong. I was greeted by a bit of an abrupt receptionist, who demanded payment before I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Natalieananashman Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I appreciate your candid and constructive comments...Without feedback like yours we can never improve on the offerings that we give to our guests. It is our policy to take payment on check in and I am sorry if this offended you, it was not meant too at all...I... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice old hotel that has been refurbished to a high standard including walk in power shower & superb towels. Arrived off the train at 9-30pm no food. No lift. Two flights to 1st.floor key does not work back to reception back up stairs. Second night music starts somewhere below Room 131 I am in, loud music enough to rattle the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Sousse Thank you for your review, and my apologies that you were disturbed on your second nights stay..There was a function on and it did finish at 11.15pm We do not have a lift at the Great Northern Hotel, and it has been pointed out several times on tripadvisor , but we do try to offer help with luggage etc... More

Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I needed somewhere close to the station so the location was perfect for me. Despite being so close to the station, there was no train noise. They stop serving food quite early, so my arrival at 9.30pm was too late to get anything to eat. And I had to leave at 7 before breakfast started! The room itself was fine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

DollyDimpleAbroad Thank you for your comments regarding our lack of customer service..it is highly unusual for me not to respond to any comments, so please accept my apologies for not replying sooner. I shall endeavour to investigate this matter further and contact you directly.. My apologies again for the delay. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the very few such hotels to have retained the original 'feel' and atmosphere of a Victorian era railway hotel, with dark wood and brass fittings adding to the sense of quality one would expect as a travelling lady or gentleman from that era, and certainly much more attractive than you may have come to expect from contemporary mid-budget... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

McTain I do hope that we see you at the Great Northern Hotel again...It is so nice of you to take the time to write the review and with such positive comments. We are constantly upgrading the hotel but we do try to retain its original character in some small part. The hotel is so beautiful and steeped in history... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in staff was lovely. We had to check in quite early in the morning. She was extremely helpful and got us checked in as fast as she could. House keeping was great (had our room cleaned super quick so we could check in). The room was very clean. Theres a bit of noise coming from the train station but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Aksa M I am pleased that my reception team were so efficient and also that our Housekeeping standards are up to our normal high standards. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I do hope that we will see you at the Great Northern Hotel again. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More

Monroe, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Older hotel impeccably kept up. Luxury at its finest. If you sign up for the B&B and I think you should unless you hate food, the breakfasts are unbelievable. Eggs Benedict 2 ways, vegetarian breakfast choices hot and cold! Smoke Haddock topped with mustard Hollandaise, and the list goes on and on. The food in the pub/dining room were a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Gary Thank you for such a positive review..We do receive quite a few compliments regarding our breakfasts, but I am also pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and understand what we have to offer. Without feedback we cannot identify areas for improvement and your understanding on our location and the fact we have no lift is much appreciated. I... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Great Northern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: Station Approach, Peterborough PE1 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Northern Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iconic Victorian Railway Hotel, recently refurbished to enhance the elegance of this stunning hotel at the heart of the city centre. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
42

See which rooms travelers prefer