We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Peterborough hotels

Great Northern Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Approach, Peterborough PE1 1QL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Great Northern Hotel to your Saves list
Great Northern Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
71%
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Peterborough
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Mason510 Gosford, Australia
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    61
    25
    25
    18
See reviews for
21
64
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A two night stay in a fabulously refurbished hotel. Reception staff were polite and helpful. Room was large, spotlessly clean and had all things necessary for a short stay. Bathroom was huge, spotlessly clean with beautiful large bath towels and a range of toiletries. We were advised before our stay commenced that there was a major gas leak and therefore... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a weekend break. Our first time in the hotel and what an impression it makes! Lots of wood panelling, lovely spacious room with a six foot bed. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice, hot and a cold buffet. No lift or ground floor rooms, quite a long corridor on the first floor to our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

YFHoggarth Thank you for your kind review.. we do appreciate your positive comments and I will make sure all the team are aware. I do look forward to meeting with you next time you are passing the Great Northern Hotel Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More

Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really beautiful building with well thought out furniture to fit the age of the property without being to theme based. Great service and pretty good food judging by the little we had. Surprisingly little noise from the station opposite which did surprise me. Overall a gem of a hotel in Peterborough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

RFDEA Wow, thank you for writing such a positive review..It is so nice for us all at the hotel to hear that we are making our guest welcome and looking after them well. we are refurbishing and we are trying to do it sympathetically...the restaurant is next.. I do look forward to meeting you next time you pass by the... More

Hull, england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised by the high standards of this hotel, as it was so reasonably priced and well located for the shops and cathedral. Our room was huge with a separate bath and shower and a fridge. The bar area was cosy and we enjoyed our food here. With free parking and wifi, what more could you ask for?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

HelenjHull I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be using us again for any future visits to the area.. we are in the process of refurbishing at the moment, but very sympathetically so we keep our 'Victorian Charm' I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.. Kind regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Staff were excellent, very polite, and called me quickly when my mum left her iPad on the bed after she left. Got a better rate by booking in person at the front desk. Room was lovely, slightly dated but that's part of the Victorian charm I guess! Good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Gareth Your review and comments are much appreciated..I will pass them on to all the team concerned. We are in the process of refurbishments and are trying to have a balance of old and new, without losing our Victorian charm. I do hope that we will see you again at the hotel, where I can meet you personally. Regards Shaun... More

Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here on 2 occasions recently on a bed and breakfast basis. This hotel is superbly located a mere road width from railway station and 5 minute walk over the footbridge to shopping centre and bus station. Breakfast was good but a tad small for a full English. the staff were friendly and helpful. Only real complaint is lack of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Allyloon Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.. It always nice to receive positive feedback. We do not have AC, however, there are fans available on request, so I will make sure this facility is made aware to future guests.. Please feel free at breakfast, to mix and match items as we like our guests to have... More

Winnersh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I booked a conference room here and the room was nice as was the building. The staff were helpful. There was a wedding here the same day and they were all busy. They laid on nice tea and biscuits. The weak points were: upstairs toilet not working so had to go downstairs. The wifi was included but intermittent with too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Alan R Thank you for your review, we have just refurbished and upgraded these conference rooms, so I am please that you felt they were good. We are also making the wifi stronger in these rooms, and I apologise for the intermittent access. I do hope that you will use us again and look forward to welcoming you back to... More

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Met a former colleague here for lunch recently. Being a hot day we opted for the Ploiughmans lunch which included Pate. The lunch arrived and the Pate looked very pale. It smelled of rotten fish so I was immediately wary. A small taste l;eft me in no doubt that this was off and indeed rancid. My colleague bravely tasted it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

HimfromDelmonte Thank you for taking the time to write your review.. It is unfortunate that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations. .I can assure you that our parfait is made 'in house' and is always fresh. However, I will be discussing your comments with my team to make sure incidents are handled more professionally in the... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Managed to get a groupon voucher here so went along on a Friday night. Had all 3 courses and the food was very nice. The dining room is a little plain and could do with a revamp, but the food was nice. We sat in the bar before eating and I liked the bar area, very modern and comfortable. All... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Nicola D Thank you for your kind review on our Carriages restaurant. I am pleased you enjoyed the food and the service met with your expectation. We will be refurbishing the restaurant in the next two months and the refurbishment of the bar will be completed by September, so please do visit us again and see the changes that we... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed for three nights at the Great Northen Hotel in Peterborough on my way back from a Conference in Cambridge to my home in Manchester. The hotel is situated opposite the entrance to Peterborough Railway Station and only a few minutes walk via a footbridge to the Bus Station, shopping centre and Cathedral, My room - the Parisian Suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun R, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Davelannon I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Great Northern Hotel..and that we me may see you back here again. I will pass on your comments to all the team, in all the areas you have highlighted so that they know their hard work is effective. Thank you again for your review. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Great Northern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: Station Approach, Peterborough PE1 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Northern Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Peterborough with
any amenities