We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sacrewell Camping and Caravanning

Great North Road | Thornhaugh, Peterborough PE8 6HJ, England (Formerly Sacrewell Farm and Country Centre)
Sacrewell Camping and Caravanning
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    9
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
22
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here as a base for a family wedding recently. Having previously thought that Ferry Meadows was the only camping option in the area, I was pleased to find Sacrewell. We arrived really late on a Thursday evening but had been emailed the access code for the barrier and our pitch number so had no problems setting up. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We spent two nights camping with our two daughters and had a lovely time. The pitches are in a picturesque location with some beautiful trees to look at and the facilities are good and clean. What makes it special is access to the farm - a great playbarn for younger kids and cute animals. The groundsman looking after the site... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell Camping and Caravanning, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, Thank you very much for your review. I will pass your feedback onto Dave, who I am sure will be delighted. Hope to see you again very soon. The watermill reopens in July. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

We camped at Sacrewell over the late May bank holiday weekend with a group of friends. This is the 4th year we've done this. This year 12 families & 21 kids from 8 years to 9 months old. The kids love it in the farm & play barn but also riding their bikes and running around the campsite. Peacocks can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell Camping and Caravanning, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoy your stays with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and it's something we will look into. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

After hours of sitting in a traffic jam due to an accident on the A1 we finally arrived at Sacrewell at 8pm. I had however been told at booking that there would be no problem in me arriving after 5pm (which is when the office closes) as there would be a night watchman who would be there to greet me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell Camping and Caravanning, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Obviously being so close to the A1 has its benefits but there can be accidents which are out of our control. We have checked our system and the e-mail was sent to you on the day of your booking but we think it... More 

Travelers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Hi my first trip back to sacrewell with the grand kids my it has changed, some confusion over entry costs on site to web page on my part perhaps was not offered the non donation price just told it would be x amount well I don't pay tax so should not have paid it, they don't offer just the play... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We haven't stayed at the farm accommodation but did have the pleasure of spending a few hours at the Pumpkin Day/Event on October 26th. It is an annual event run by Riverford Farms, the veggie box people, and was fantastic. We didn't know what to expect, thinking we would just get a pumpkin for Halloween straight from the farm, however,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

When we checked in we went to the check in at the reception as requested on the info sent when booking and were quite rudely told to join the back of the general queue for farm entry, which we had already been waiting in but moved when we noticed the camping reception, so went to the back of the long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SacrewellMeg, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell Camping and Caravanning, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thanks very much for your review and sorry about the confusion about where the pitches are at the start of your visit. We are currently reviewing all information for campers so will ensure it's much clearer in our new information. We hope to see you back at Sacrewell again soon, Megan More 

england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we chose to visit on a very wet August Sunday but was pleasantly suprised to find a brand new,large indoor play area.if kept my 8 and 4 year old happy for two hours.the farm was as lovely and well kept as ever and hope to return soon on a drier day

Was this review helpful? Yes
SacrewellMeg, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell Camping and Caravanning, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you ever so much for your review and we're sorry about the weather-it's one of the few things we cannot control here at Sacrewell. We're glad to hear you made good use of the playbarn though and let off some steam. Hope to see you again very soon. Megan More 

Leicester
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were fortunate with great weather and chose a day when there were sheep-shearing demonstrations. Our toddler company loved the animals, the tractor rides and the indoor play area. There's a nice cafeteria with a healthy lunch package for the kids and plenty of seating and buggy space. Lots of animals running freely and a little park to burn off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SacrewellMeg, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell Camping and Caravanning, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review-it's lovely to hear you had such a good day and enjoyed the sheep shearing. Megan More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

we recently spent the bank holiday weekend at the campsite, and had a great time. Lovely setting, and great facilities (especially as it was raining!) Not the cheapest campsite, but well priced if you make use of the free entry to the farm park, which is an amazing attraction for adults and kids. The only down side were the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SacrewellMeg, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell Camping and Caravanning, responded to this review

Hello-thank you very much for your lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your feedback to the general manager. We are currently reviewing our campers' information sheet and are including details of the nearest shops on it, but in future if you ever have any issues please contact our warden (who lives in the caravan... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
0.9 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#16 of 31 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#12 of 31 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#10 of 31 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 31 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#15 of 31 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
11.7 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities