We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Peterborough hotels

Bull Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westgate, Peterborough PE1 1RB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bull Hotel to your Saves list
Bull Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
75%
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
JulienneCS Texas
  • Reviews (379)
  • Photos (43)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (83)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    134
    48
    26
    18
See reviews for
38
138
22
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at reception were very kind and helpful. My room was pleasantly purple decorated and was perfect for me, and it overlooked the main street. Had dinner in the restaurant area for my birthday, the waiters weren't very attentive, however, the dinner itself was nice. I decided to just get room service instead of eating down there again by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for several nights on business. Great Executive double room quiet and comfortable. It was just a shame about the Breakfast experience. Staff were pleasant, but not very efficient, kept having to chase the coffee and toast on each day. The selection of the Full English Breakfast was good however this was let down by the fact that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review

hunterj 1957, Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding the hotel. however the comments that you have made regarding breakfast are a great surprise as your description differs greatly from the more typical comments made on this site. Perhaps it was the price that you had some difficulty with, we source local sausages, bacon, and eggs, and... More

Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not the usual type of hotel I would choose, but was very convenient to where I needed to be. Has its own car park which is free to use, and was allowed to stay there for a couple of hours after checking out whilst I was on business in the town. Hotel has a very rustic and old fashioned feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChrisW178, Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on some future occasion. Kind regards, Alan Price More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Bull Hotel is an excellent hotel in the centre of Peterborough. It's not like other hotels in Peterborough from the usual chains. It has character and charm. The staff are friendly and extremely efficient. I stay at this hotel regularly and I am rarely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review

John , Thank you for your kind review, and we are delighted that you enjoy staying with us. We do try to be different from the rest, and thank you for acknowledging this. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Kind regards, Alan M Price More

Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice hotel. Good parking and nice to be in the city centre. Room was very nice and clean, great to have aircon! The only one slight issue was that we couldn't get through to anyone at reception for room service so ended up walking down. But that was really no big deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review

cece 520, Thank you for your review, I am really pleased that you had a good stay with us, however sorry that you had a problem attempting to get through to our room service department, we have had problems with our switchboard, and this will be replaced soon, thereby eliminating this problem. I am glad that this will not deter... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night in room 162 the room was clean but so hot as was the corridor the staff who were working up the were dripping in sweat we couldn't sleep just laid on the bed with a fan on us at £72 we expected more

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Gillmacbryde, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, following your recent stay, which has been duly noted. It was exceptionally hot weather that we were experiencing at the time of your stay, perhaps with the benefit of hindsight, it may have been worthwhile for you to have upgraded to one of our rooms equipped with full air conditioning. I... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked afternoon tea at the Bull hotel for my wife and I to mark our 5th wedding anniversary. Being a Peterborough native I am very familiar with the Bull and have been there several times for meals and celebrations. We arrived 15 minutes early and greeted by a smiling receptionist who invited us to sit on the sumptuously comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review

GeekZilla, Thank you very much for your lovely review, praise indeed. We are all very pleased with your comments and very grateful to you for posting your thoughts which are greatly appreciated. Thank you again. Alan Price More

Peterborough
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A group of us went for afternoon tea and it was beauitful, the staff was polite and very helpful and went out of their way to provide excellent service! Would recommend it to everyone I know! I will be returning for a meal with my partner very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cooke 1984, Thank you for your review, and we are all really pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us recently. We hope to see you again very soon. Regards, Alan Price More

Sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Asked for manager re above , ( also had bath with shower inside it , mum in her 80's unable due to age. & disability to climb into a bath ) he said we should have asked for a ramp ! Explained didn't know they had them he said you should have asked,I further explained we specified disabled room he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karenbirch, Thanks for your review,and also for telling us in advance that you would be sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. It was unfortunate that initially your mum was allocated a room which did not meet her specific needs. I understand that you were offered the opportunity to move to a ground floor room, specifically designed to accommodate her, which... More

Kent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night as a couple after usual Tripadvisor research. It deserves its good ratings for reasons stated by others. £99 for an executive rear of hotel room was well worth it. Room was spacious and well equipped, excellent bathroom - and very quiet (top floor). Staff were friendly and efficient throughout. Breakfast was fine and you could ask for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Mundaykent, Thank you for your review, and I am delighted that in most respects, you had a good time with us. I shall certainly bear in mind your comments regarding the firmness of the mattress, and sincerely hope that this will not deter you from staying with us on some future occasion. Kind regards, Alan Price More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Address: Westgate, Peterborough PE1 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bull Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Peterborough

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Peterborough with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough #3 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
118

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bull Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer