We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Riccarton hotels

BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch, Riccarton 8041, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Riccarton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
happym0nkey Auckland, New Zealand
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
13
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a fantastic experience at this motel. The couple running the place were wonderful and would give their shirt off their back to help you out. The place was in great shape, and everything was tidy! Free Wifi was awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear happym0nkey, many thanks for your kind feedback. My wife and I take great pride in making our guests feel welcome and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, services and hospitality. We would love to have you stay again on your next visit to Christchurch. All the best. More 

claremont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Great experience at this motel. Room was in gret shape, everything was clean and working, Staff was helpful with their suggestions. Candy at reception was good. Location convient to town, central Christchurch, and the Botanical garden.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Raymond G, it was great to have you stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thank you so much for the excellent score and feedback! Our team works hard to maintain the highest standard of quality and cleanliness so hearing positive feedback is very rewarding. It’s good to hear that you found... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We forgot to tell them about our late arrival, but they left our room ready and a note at the reception - it was good to arrive and have a place to rest. But the bed sheets were not clean and towels very old and with a bad appearance. Free wi-fi available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Christiane Z, thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your compliments regarding our handling of your unexpected late arrival and also our free WiFi. We do our very best to ensure every guest has a great experience while staying with us but are disappointed to hear that you were not fully satisfied. Please note that... More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We stayed a night recently to break our drive home. Our booking was mucked up but the owners did everything in their power to rectify this. The units were ok, a little dated and could do with a spruce up. The bathroom needed a good spring clean, little things like grey linen instead of white, dirty window frames and skirting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Love2create, thank you for booking with us and leaving a review of your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback and are pleased to receive your compliments concerning our hospitality, quality beds and central location. We have also noted the specific issues you have raised and have included these as part of our ingoing commitment to improving our product and... More 

Haderslev
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We came straight from Denmark after 40 hours of traveling. We were received with kindness and smiles and had a wonderful start in New Zealand with two days on Best Western in Christchurch. I like to use the same hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear 30moses, it was lovely to have you stay with us and thanks so much for the kind feedback. Glad to hear you would stay with us again and we do hope to see you in Christchurch again soon. Safe travels back to Denmark. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The rooms were very clean and tidy, though a little dated. The manageress was very friendly and helpful. In a good location around 10 mins drive from the airport and is on main bus routes so its easy to get into the CBD by bus. I walked into the CBD and it took me around 45 mins, with a flat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear john683, it was great to meet you and thanks for reviewing your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us while working in Christchurch. Many business travellers find our hotel the ideal place to base themselves while on business in Christchurch. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

While the decor may be dated, the rooms are warm, clean, very quiet, wonderfully located and the beds extremely comfortable. Excellent professional, good humoured, helpful staff. Would definitely stay at again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Golden bay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you want a clean comfy place Central to everything at a good price then this is the place for you we took two units for 8 of us for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, large rooms two tv's spar bath shower separate loo full kitchen lounge and two bedrooms. If you want fancy soap shower cap etc... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Good Location close to airport. Clean room, but could do with a good scrub, spacious overall. Staff good, Had problems with Wi fi but did sort it out. Close to shopping centre. Kitchen it doesn't hurt to put more than 2 knifes, 2 forks etc. into draws!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Staff were very friendly on check in. The room was spacious and clean and had everything necessary. The location is handy, being a short drive to town, close to the Westfield shopping centre & university. It's close to the main road to the airport which is an easy 15 min drive. The only downside is the 'kitchen', no oven and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton

Address: 280 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch, Riccarton 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Riccarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Christchurch
Christchurch Best Western

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay