We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Wicklow B&Bs / inns

Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ashtown Lane | Marlton Road, Wicklow, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
96%
Ranked #3 of 13 Wicklow B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Dan F Norman, Oklahoma
  • Reviews (32)
  • Photos (4)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (3)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fiona is so friendly and helpful. The ambience of the property is just so inspiring. The room was spacious and spotless. And, what a delicious breakfast. We loved everything about this facility and would certainly stay here again. Fiona, we hope you enjoy the Garth Brooks concert in July...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband I stayed here during our vacation. I HIGHLY recommend anyone considering booking to go for it. You won’t be disappointed. Breakfast was top notch and Fiona made us feel right at home. She also gave us great suggestions on what to do and where to eat. Located just a short drive from town, Glendalough, and Powerscourt.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I wouldn't have enough words to describe how amazed we are. I have stayed in a couple of B&B's and I can surelly say that it is teh best B&B I have stayed at. Location is great. It is located in 4 min by car from the city center. The interior design is just amazing. Everything was decorated with love.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cleobyrne, Owner at Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Anya for such a very positive review - it is much appreciated. Hopefully the next time you come to stay at my bed and breakfast you will have better weather and will be able to get out to see the beautiful countryside. Your glowing review means so much when you have seen so many other beautiful places both here... More

Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to get out of Dublin after an early evening arrival. This was a great b & b. It was an easy 50 min drive from the airport. The room is great. Comfy beds and pillows. Breafast is first rate. The owner is lovely and very helpful. As an Aussie it was a joy to have Vegemite for breafast!!!! Highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cleobyrne, Owner at Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay here and if you are ever back this way again you will be more than welcome at Glen na Smole. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Fiona. More

Bowen, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fiona is a lovely host. Although I'm late with the review, it's certainly needed as this is a great little place. 3 night stay with sister. Fiona picked us up from the bus stop in Wicklow 7:30pm after our flight from Edinburgh and bus from Dublin airport. She also dropped us to the train station the afternoon we left. Comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverell, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

For any Aussies wanting their vegemite fix this is the place to go! Have been on the go for 7 weeks and it was the first place to have it. I know it isn't that important but I was excited. The b&b was clean and tidy and we had a good nights rest. You need a car to get to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cleobyrne, Owner at Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Delighted you were able to get your Vegimite fix at Glen na Smole. I imagine I will have every Aussie in the northern hemisphere now flocking to my door in search of their Vegimite too! Definitely an acquired taste! Still can't understand why, if this was invented as a food supplement for soldiers in the First World War, do we... More

Ratoath, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stay here for one night with teenage son. Loved the place and it was mainly down to the landlady who clearly took a lot of pride in her B&B. The place was spotless and a great breakfast was laid on. Unfortunately we are fussy and plain eaters and I liked that our requests were dealt in a very efficient (no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booked two nights due to the high rating on tripadvisor: I don't usually write reviews, because I never had a bad experience and it's usually 4/5 stars for me, especially in Ireland. But in this case we (couple + child) didn't feel welcome at all. Breakfast is great, (except for salted porridge for a one year old), room was ok... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cleobyrne, Owner at Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

While I was not surprised to receive this review, or its content, I cannot understand why it has taken from the 7th September until the 26th October to post it. Unfortunately you have only given some of the details. You have stated that you booked two nights but you omitted to explain that you went to visit friends who lived... More

Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great breakfast and Fiona gave us tea and cake on arrival and we had a lovely chat. The room is very clean. The bathroom is compact (in the triple at least tho I did peer through a couple of open doors and the double rooms seemed to have larger bathroom areas). This is situated just a little out of town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I sadly only got to stay with Fiona in her wonderful B&B for one night but I have to say it was such a real pleasure. The house itself is tucked away from the road so its lovely and quiet, Fiona is incredibly welcoming, my en-suite room was spotlessly clean and cosy (had an amazing sleep!!) and to top it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast

Address: Ashtown Lane | Marlton Road, Wicklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Wicklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com Travelocity

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
11

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.