We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverbank House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Bridge, Wexford, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Riverbank House Hotel
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have eaten here many times over the years and my most recent visit was no different from previous times. The menu is varied and extensive; the food is cooked to perfection and well presented; the staff are efficient and pleasant and the surroundings are wonderful. What more could you ask for !

Helpful?
1 Thank Philomena S
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here recently with a group of girl friends. Nice lobby and bar, rooms especially bathrooms dated. We could forgive all this as the hotel suited our purpose for a quick girlie night away if it wasn't for the cruel breakfast! Never order scrambled eggs here they were like damp sawdust in both texture & taste. We asked for them... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Edel C
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a lovely family evening in the big bar. Food excellent value for money and top drawer. Even though the bar and restaurant area are very big we still enjoyed a sense of cosiness on cold wintry evening. Service level was perfect and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Tereza S
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Third time we've stayed here and we will stay again. Rooms are clean and quiet and are traditionally decorated, but do come with flat screen TV's and good showers. The welcome is second to none as is the lovely touch of providing you with free mineral water for you onward journey when you check out. The attached bar provides excellent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1MJB
Wexford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed only for night. rooms were immaculate & we were welcomed by the lovely Sheila . On entering there is a blazing open fire to warm you. giving another warm feel to this hotel. had room service for breakfast & it was so fresh . fruit was beautiful as was the full irish. thank you Sheila for the birthday plate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MargeWexford k
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very pretty reception and entrance. We had a nice large room -very clean, comfy bed -perfectly adequate. We ate in the restaurant -the decor was a bit drab -but the food was very nice -hot, tasty and plentiful. breakfast is served in another dining room -more welcoming-overlooking the river, and it was excellent -cooked to order. Staff came up trumps,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chellG
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Another hotel that had an wheelchair accessible room that wasn't. I complained and I felt the staff did listen, still I wasn't able to have a shower and that was annoying. The food was really great and although I was with a crowd each plate was really cared for. I had fish which was tasty, potato and pea mash. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 805Jerry
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 085Jerry, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Riverbank. Firstly apologies for misrepresenting ourselves in saying we had wheelchair accessible rooms, the fact of the matter being an old hotel, we don't, regrettably you had to find this out the hard way and do apologise most sincerely. I am pleased my colleagues reacted to your... More 

Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Stayed for two nights at the Riverbank. On the night before the wedding we arrived and was very warmly welcomed by Rebecca at reception. Visited the lovely bar looking out on the River and lights of Wexford. Had really lovely food and a few drinks.Breakfast the next morning as well was lovely. On arrival from the church we had food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank trish g
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear trish G, thank you for your recent review of the Riverbank house Hotel. You painted a lovely picture of our little hotel, one which I'm sure many travelers will appreciate when deciding where to book. I am so pleased you have taken the time to share your experiences and a special thank you from Rebecca for mentioning her, she... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

This place needs a complete overall,very shabby especially the bar.Rooms were comfortable but very tired.As for breakfast My mother got the wrong omlette and it wasn't cooked my sisters was overcooked and my nieces sausages were not cooked enough.We ordered a taxi for 5.30 when we came down it hadn't been ordered and we had to wait 25mins for one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary M, thank you for your recent review of the Riverbank House Hotel. I am very disappointed to read of your experience, unacceptable by any hotels standards. I can only ask as my initial inquiries with my colleagues on duty today about such occurrences have drawn a blank, I am unsure of how long ago you stayed and the... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

The Riverbank Hotel is well situated and has a good atmosphere. The rooms are adequate and flexible if travelling with a family. The Wi fi is excellent and particularly good when you have two sons who like to have good connectivity when away from home - No need to go into the details if you have teenage boys who base... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Alan M
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan M, thank you for your recent review of the Riverbank House Hotel. Your recognition of my colleagues and their customer service is so very much appreciated. To say such nice things and take the time to write I can't thank you enough for. Your review will fuel us for a long time to come, it is nice to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.0 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.0 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
0.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Ballindinas
3.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay