We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Waterford hotels

Viking Hotel Waterford

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cork Rd | 3* Star Accomodation, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Viking Hotel Waterford to your Saves list
Viking Hotel Waterford
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
sarah_hogan cork
  • Reviews (251)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    91
    55
    15
    14
See reviews for
45
97
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ridiculous painting going on in the hotel during peak season. Very disturbing especially with young children and the smell of paint. Sheer madness. It's not fair in guests, painting should be done during off peak season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Sarah_Hogan, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Viking Hotel. As you mentioned we completed a refurbishment programme in the hotel, which included the lobby and the restaurant area. We do use odourless paint and try as much as possible to carry out any refurbishment out of season, and during times where guests... More

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel with my son as he was running in the all irelands the next day. check in was fine ,nice frendly staff. Everthing looked lovely from the foyer to the rooms to the restaurant. But my problem occured at night. Myself & my son were trying to go to sleep early (10:00) but there was alot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear John B thank you for taking the time to review your stay during February. Throughout each winter we carry out a refurbishment programme, and you'll be glad to hear that your room was upgraded since you last stayed. A further refurbishment programme is planned for the coming winter. I hope your son got the result he was looking for... More

Sligo, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at Viking hotel with a visitor from India and we had an excellent stay on all counts. We were very busy getting ready for a major presentation and the hotel went out of their way to help us any way they could. We stayed at some hotels on our way after that in both Ireland and Brussels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear James C, thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at the Viking Hotel. We're glad that we were able to assist in making your business trip as comfortable as possible. We hope to welcome you back to Waterford again the next time you are in Waterford. Kind regards Aideen Murphy Sales Manager More

Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If, like me, you're a petrolhead, then this is the hotel for you as it's based in the centre of Waterford's car showrooms. Look in any direction and you'll see showrooms for Audi, Ford, Dacia, Renault, Honda, Volvo etc. The hotel is quite spacious and the rooms are large and clean. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Jamesie67, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Viking Hotel. Your comments have been passed to the departments concerned and in particular, the Kitchen Brigade have taken on board your comments regarding breakfast. The hotel as you stated, is situated on the Cork Road, close to the industrial estates, WIT, Whitfield... More

Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived 8:30pm and was met at reception by a lovely girl. No problems checking in and we had a room on the ground floor. It was a triple room but we only booked at double, was a pleasant surprise. Only complaint would be the bar was open but we felt unwelcome when going in to get a drink well before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear LeaneE, thank you for taking the time to review your recently stay at the Viking Hotel. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments, including the fact that you were refused drinks in the bar. This should never have happened. It is certainly not our policy to close the bar early. I can only apologise for this. I... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband a friend and myself stayed in this lovely on 10th June 2014. We were greeted with a lovely welcome from the very friendly lady on reception. We had very comfortable spacious rooms with really big beds. The evening meal and breakfast were delicious, could not fault this hotel at all

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Margaret D thank you for your review of your stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. We're glad to hear we made your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again in Waterford. Kind regards Aideen Murphy More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Only stayed 1 night, room was spacious clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast the following morning was a buffet, husband was delighted had 2nd and 3rd helpings☺ staff were friendly and helpful, it is a few miles out of the town but location for me was ideal

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Melissa M thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm glad you both enjoyed your time here and it's good to hear the breakfast buffet was enjoyed by your husband. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Aideen Murphy More

Tweed Heads, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed 1 night at this hotel and were more than happy with the facilities. We didn't mind that it wasn't walking distance to the centre of town as we were driving anyway. Parking was easy although not under cover. We are dinner in the restaurant and it was good food at a reasonable price. The best experience though was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear DJWT Tweed Heads thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Viking Hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you were unwell during your stay, but glad to hear AnnMarie was able to assist. I'll pass on your comments to her. We hope that you are on the mend again and look forward... More

Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

i stayed 2 nights at this hotel,Unfortunately i was feeling bit unwell before we went to the viking and as we had voucher which was almost expired we decided to chance it and hope everything would be ok the rooms were lovely the showers were brilliant and their was a great choice for breakfast .However instead of improving i got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Nuala F Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Viking Hotel. I'm sorry that you were unwell while you were at the hotel, but glad to hear that Danny came to your rescue. I hope you'll come back again during the summer when you are feeling better and can enjoy all that Waterford has to... More

Kilmacthomas, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I hadn't had lunch in this hotel for about a year.When my partner and I arrived on a rainy Sunday we were delighted to see the place was busy but there was still some seating available.Service from the chefs was very efficient and although not an extensive selection the carvery food looked lovely.Unfortunately our dinners were left on the counter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear JacqDee thank you for your recent review of your lunch at the Viking Hotel. I have passed your comments onto the food and beverage department. As you have said, cold food is not acceptable. We pride ourselves on the quality and service of our food, and will endeavour to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you Aideen Murphy More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Viking Hotel Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Rd | 3* Star Accomodation, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
100

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer