We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Athenaeum House Hotel

4.0 of 5 Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athenaeum House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Athenaeum House Hotel
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    84
    38
    22
    14
See reviews for
40
177
14
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (328)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Kentstown
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and two young daughters. We had a large double room with the addition of two camp beds for the girls. Yet there was still plenty of space in the room. The staff were very friendly and professional. The food was lovely. Location wise you are a little out of the town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scarletbee Thanks for your very kind review - my team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday weekend and your family were well looked after. We would love to build a leisure centre and pool, however with only 29 bedrooms I think we may have to wait until we win the lotto:-) Was it your daughter that... More 

Livingston Manor, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice, homey hotel in a quiet residential area just a few minutes drive from central Waterford. The grounds, architecture, and decor were very pleasant. I particularly liked the library with comfortable chairs and view. Staff was very friendly, too. We didn't have the extra cost breakfast, but the restaurant menu looked great, which is good because there aren't a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John G Thank you for your very kind review. Glad you enjoyed the library and your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again some time. Kindest regards Mailo Mailo Power Director Athenaeum House Hotel More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband for our wedding anniversary. Stayed in an artist themed room. Rooms are a good size, beds very comfortable. It did get a bit too warm on the room but an open window sorted that. Excellent showers. The restaurant was amazing. We had dinner included in a Friday night package, it wasn't explained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen M Thanks for your very nice review. Apologies regarding the mix up regarding menus by our restaurant staff, I have discussed this with our Food & Beverage Manager Noel, I am very glad that our reception team looked after you on check out, good to hear. Good to hear that you are looking forward to returning to us,... More 

Waterford Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located on the northside river bank opposite Reginalds Tower and Waterford city in a sylvian setting. This Hotel at night has stunning views of the city quays and streets giving the impression you could walk out onto the quays yet you still experience the counrtyside location of peace and tranquility and no city traffic noise. Less than 5 minutes drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LDoyle Wow!! Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I have shared your post with my husband Stan, daughter Kelly and all our team, all delighted with your lovely descriptive review, very much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards Mailo Mailo Power Director Athenaeum House... More 

Tramore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had never even heard of this place when searching for a local hotel for an overnight stay with my wife. They do a great "Athenaeum does Friday" package including B&B (with breakfast in room), dinner and drinks on arrival. Upgraded to an Executive Superior room which gave us a view over the gardens and river. Nice spacious room. Couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynxbct Thank you for your very kind review. Glad you enjoyed your room and your stay with us. Appreciate your recommendation regarding our 'Athenaeum does Friday' package, good to hear you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest regards Mailo Mailo Power Director Athenaeum House Hotel More 

Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Never stayed in this hotel before and didn't know what to expect. On arrival the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Found the drawing room very relaxing and the evening meal was of great quality and an excellent price. Another litmus test of a good hotel is the breakfast and this passed easily. Great range and the homemade breads were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ben T Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and even more so that you will be returning. Glad you enjoyed our selection of our homemade breads. Also good to hear that we passed the 'litmus test' (was a Science student, so enjoyed the memory trigger from my University... More 

Provence
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been visitors to Waterford for 30 years and never knew this hidden gem of a Boutique hotel existed. We booked special offer weekend, standard room etc. at extremely good value and didn't know what to expect. I don't know if we were upgraded but we had a fine room befitting any 4/5 star hotel. Only downside, very small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fuinseog We appreciate the feedback, regarding the TV size you will be happy to hear that larger TV's are included among other upgrades in our 2015 capital program. On menu choice, we do offer daily specials, however we also have our a la carte, table d'hote and bar menus available so there are lots of options to choose from.... More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paid premium rate for premium room. Was very disappointing. in general no atmosphere, no open fires, there were fireplaces but they were filled by ornaments. small bar but not relaxing. Was expecting Castle Durrow standard but nowhere close. On the plus side breakfast was good. By the way it is only a kilometer from the city centre if you actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ohaimh Thank you for taking the time to post review. I know Castle Durrow, its a beautiful Castle, we on the other hand are a Georgian House, big difference and a lot smaller. We have real logs in the piano lounge fireplace which we do not light due to the proximity of the baby grand piano, though would not... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a 2 night stay in the Anthenaeum House Hotel last weekend with my partner and we can't wait to go back again! Had never heard of this wonderful hotel before but got a really good deal so headed down for the weekend. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. Our room was nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gemma Thank you for your very kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Great to hear Michelle brought you a special treat at breakfast, she is a treasure, she looks after us all. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards Mailo Mailo Power Director Athenaeum House Hotel More 

Kilkenny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for one overnight with family. Lovely evening meal and breakfast the following morning. Cosy atmosphere, so much so we did not leave the hotel for the evening. Rooms spacious and comfortable and good power shower also. Will recommend and would return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eileen Thank you for posting review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found atmosphere cosy. Appreciate your recommendation, thanks for that. Look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Mailo Mailo Power Director Athenaeum House Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#4 Business Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay