We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Woodlands Hotel

3.0 of 5 Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Woodlands Hotel
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    87
    49
    33
    33
See reviews for
94
87
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (296)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights. On the first night there was only availability on the second floor. The smoking floor. The room smelled strongly of smoke. I moved to the first floor on the second night and the room was good. If you don't like a room that smells of smoke then stay only on The first floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a family occasion. Check in was quick but cold and impersonal. Room was large but bed was tiny and sheets bobbled and cold- wedding was on which could be heard from all areas of hotel, and could hear noise from rooms next door and above us. Breakfast buffet was poorly stocked and we waited 30min for coffee.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry H, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am however disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would appreciate it if you would call me to discuss the above, and I apologise if you were not informed when you booked that we had a wedding at the hotel as is our policy. I look forward to hearing... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on Friday 28.11.2014 room 202,the room was big with an acrid smell.The Bathroom was in a terrible state, a state that does not befit anyones abode.the bathtub taps poured out dirty brown water and the white shower curtains were so filthy, we called the receptionist to have a look who then pulled them down and them down and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry H, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, however I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience, but I am unable to contact you on the telephone number provided. I would appreciate it if you would call me directly to discuss the above. I look... More 

Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Just had 3 days in this hotel and and the staff, food and surroundings were excellent. Our room was so comfortable, the staff so friendly we had 3 days of heaven came home so relaxed. hope to call back again some time. Highly recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry H, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Woodlands Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind regards Catherine More 

Limavady, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Just got a 4 rating as there are pros and cons for this hotel. Pros - as mentioned, the leisure centre; the bright and airy breakfast room; the friendly and helpful staff; the comfortable beds. Cons - the location (the hotel is very much on the outskirts of the city); the room lighting (do many hotels not realise that reading... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry H, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Woodlands Hotel. I apologise for the oversight with the wine opener, but I trust we dealt with this oversight to your satisfaction. I would like to thank you for your review and I have made a note of your comments re wall decorations. We look forward to... More 

kildare
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Stayed here on Friday 31st of October to attend a wedding in another hotel. Due to a wardrobe malfunction we didn't make the wedding (im sure ladies will understand) so usually we wouldn't stay as long in the hotel but in this case we did, after a spin to tramore and a long walk on the beach. The staff in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry H, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the reception staff, they will be delighted with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary. See you soon. Kind regards Catherine More 

Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Check in was quick and friendly. Our room was close to reception which was good as lift was very slow and a bit rickety. Bar was old worldly. Taxi to Dog racing was very reasonable at only €8. Taxi back in from city was not bad either at €14. Rooms were large but very warm. Beds lovely and soft. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry H, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future. Kind regards Catherine More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with wife and two kids in family room. From the moment we entered the reception we knew we would enjoy this place. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms warm and clean with all the usual mod cons ( iron,hairdryer etc). Food was tasty and reasonably priced with the bar area having character to it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry H, Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate you sharing your views. I will pass your comments onto our staff, and I will make a note of your improvement comment which will be added to proposals when we schedule refurbishments again. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Woodlands Hotel. Kind regards,... More 

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Stayed recently with a large party for 6 days in September as part of a special event taking part in the city of Waterford. Generally I found staff and management very polite and helpful. The breakfast here is excellent. The room and facilities a little ‘tired’ in places but ok. Free wifi was very useful, but older pc’s had problems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Would like to have written a review of the hotel. However they called me 2 hours before my arrival to say that the hotel was full and a yarn about a problem with my room - the longer the explanation went on, the more it lacked credibility and consistency. I was being bumped. I was farmed out to a "sister"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Address: Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Waterford

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay