We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterford Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Island, Ballinakill, Waterford, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Waterford Castle Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

846 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    528
    180
    75
    44
    19
See reviews for
223
361
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (846)
  • Mar-May only
    (235)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (260)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (220)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
There are newer reviews for Waterford Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a charming location this hotel is on a island that is serviced by a 24 hour ferry service at no charge to the visitor. We arrived about 5 pm ( would suggest downloading the directions from the internet --we didn't ) and was meet by a member of staff who made the process of checking in a breeze and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and give us such wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Castle dates back to the 16th century and is a very unique place situated on an Island. Dinner in the Munster Room is a great experience and never disappoints. Our Head... More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful place, terrible service. We stayed in the lodges, the only thing nearby is pizza and burgers. The restaurant is too small for the accommodations. We came from the U.S for special trip for my mom, disappointed to say the least. Stay in the city, don't get stuck there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I was very disappointed to read that your experience here at Waterford Castle Island Resort was so disappointing. The Lodges here are very popular offering spacious accommodation for families, groups of friends and golfers. The Lodges are a good alternative for those who do not want to stay... More 

United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't regret my stay because it is a castle after all, but there were some things about the room that perplexed me. First, there is no tea and coffee service in the room. Even the cheapest one-star hotel has that. Second, the bathrobes are thin, threadbare, and feel like sandpaper. The hotel should be ashamed to offer those dreadful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was very disappointed to read that you found some aspects of your room less than satisfactory and I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations. After a couple of years of uncertainty Waterford Castle was purchased recently. Our new owner is very passionate about the... More 

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped by for lunch on the Monday of a long weekend. The bar is very small, but we had the most delicious lunch there. A fantastic salad and a delicious vegetarian pasta with perfectly cooked vegetables - if only we'd had room for a desert. Coffee was ok, and they had a great local beer. Staff were very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and give us such wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed Lunch with us in the Fitzgerald Room. Our culinary team take great pride in their food always inventing and changing items that they hope our customers will enjoy. I look forward to sharing your comments with... More 

County Limerick, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I spent one night in waterford castle hotel in the wyes room on Friday 1st may. The room had a shabby look about it with a carpet that was wrinkled and five of the mullioned panes were cracked and looked horrible. We would however have coped with this but when we returned to our room following the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Waterford Castle. I was disappointed to read that some aspects of your visit to The Castle were disappointing and I would like to apologise for the shortfalls you experienced and the distress caused to you. The rooms here at The Castle are all... More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We actually stayed in the "lodges" on the grounds of Waterford Castle. There were 4 in our party and we stayed in on of the three bed roomed houses. The houses are very spacious and very well appointed and comfortable. The resort is on an island and you have to get a little ferry across to it. On our first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and give us such wonderful feedback. The Garden Lodges here at Waterford Castle are a home away from home and very spacious, easily accommodating up to six adults. I am glad to see you were able to enjoy all we have to offer here on the Island including... More 

County Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Waterford Castle is a truly unique, majestic and one of the most ( in not the ) most beautiful venue in Ireland. My husband and I got married there in March 2015, fairytale setting is an understatement! Everything was so fluent and professional from the outset. Both Mirka ( the wedding planner ) and Antonio ( Restaurant Manager ) are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs McKenna. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and give us such wonderful feedback following your wedding here with us in March. We all hope you are settling into married life. The Island is a truly unique place, especially for a wedding. From the short ferry ride on to The Island, to the beautiful tree... More 

Waterford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Sunday lunch was a wonderful experience. I have been to the Castle on numerous occasions but never for Sunday lunch. The ambience of the Munster Room is delightful. One friend had never been to the Castle before. He LOVED it. The staff are amazing!! Fiona King take a bow. Róisín was wonderful, and as for the Dining Room Manager(who's name... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and give us such wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed Sunday Lunch with us. The Munster Room is such a beautiful room and never disappoints on any occasion. I will share your comments with the team here especially Fiona, Roisin, and Antonio who you mention in... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Stayed with my wife in the lodges for 3 nights. Great accommodation, great food in hotel, very hospitable staff, lovely walks around island, fine golf course and if you happen to have young children lovely safe play areas. Also a great base for touring around Waterford and Wexford. Only minor qualm is that some of the lodges need a freshen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and give us such wonderful feedback. The Garden Lodges here at Waterford Castle are a home away from home suitable for all especially families. I am glad to see you were able to enjoy all we have to offer including Dining in the Castle and The Island walks.... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We decided to treat ourselves with a night in the castle and I am very glad we did. The castle and grounds are stunning, the staff extraordinary, the food is superb, and the room was beautiful, spacious, and comfortable. We had a cab drop us at the ferry dock (approx 10 EUR). The ferry runs often and is a quick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are always delighted when our guests have a wonderful and memorable experience here at Waterford Castle. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy all the Island has to offer. The staff are very proud of their place of work and I am delighted... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

730 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (348)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (92)
Viewed
Room/suite (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
3:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (365)
Viewed
Apartments (32)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (62)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (99)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay