We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel Sligo

4.0 of 5 Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    179
    108
    43
    30
See reviews for
174
152
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (548)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
Cavan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the clarion last weekend two nights. On arrival there was a problem with our reservation which was very promptly sorted out by a very efficient friendly receptionist. Arriving at our room we were very pleasantly surprised by its size it was huge. Room and bathroom were spotless. Bed was beautifully comfortable. Lovely to have a fridge in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed on 21st February 15 for one night. Outside of hotel was really nice with all the old stonework. The sitting area just inside entrance looked nice, but was very cold. Reception consisted of three small raised desk areas for check in which was quite slow. Went straight to room after check in and the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Myself and my now Fianceé stayed hear for two nights from 13th-15th February 2015. It was 100% one of the most accommodating and nicest places to stay. I emailed beforehand as I was planning to propose and they upgraded us free of charge to the suite, I found out later that it was the bridal suite, really nice touch! Beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Conchubar!, Thank you for sharing your feedback and Congratulations on your engagement. We wish you both happiness for the furure. We hope to see you back again. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Livingston Manor, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Enormous, conventional, poor value (€105 for a small, uninspiring double without breakfast), far from town center -- everything I find annoying about a place to sleep. The day I was there, the grounds were crawling with Irish politicians and bureaucrats counting election votes. I recognized the breed just by watching them walk and talk, and only later found out who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear John C, It's a pity our beautiful listed building was not to your taste. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Dublin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We are a family of five, with the youngest being 8 months. Booked a late getaway for the school mid terms. Warm welcome from reception set the tone for a wonderful short break. Family room is enormous with a separate kitchen area and lounge with a separate bed room with a double and single bed. The sofa in the lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Notuslimited, Thank you for your review and recommendation. We look forward to seeing the family back again in the Summer. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Where do I start, firstly had a great weekend in Sligo due to great company and plenty of laughs. The clarion did not contribute to the great weekend except for providing a clean room and bed!. Rooms basic but clean. Dinner included in our package was terrible. Reheated potatoes and veg, gristly steak and desert was also poor. 2 cocktails... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Anemcd001, Thank you for your feedback. Its a pity that your meal and cocktail would put you off what was an otherise enjoyable stay in Sligo. Please feel fress to contace me when returning to Sligo. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Armagh
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good hotel wih great pool and spacious rooms. The staff were particularly good and my wife in particular very impressed. Comfortable beds and good central location to town centre. Note this is a large building and appears to be a former institution so has a slightly gothic vibe on arrival but once in it has all the feel of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Steve M, Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just spent two days in this hotel and we really enjoyed ourselves. Accommodation was spotless and more than sufficient for a family of 5. Kids loved the pool. Breakfast was lovely and the lobby was more than big enough to sit in the evening so the kids could play a game or watch their tablets without being confined... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Jed3kids, Thank you for your review and recommendation and we look forward to seeing the family again. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was really looking forward to staying here with the hubby on a much needed break and was very disappointed. Pulled up outside ..impressive ... Lovely staff at check in at reception... And that's it! The rest went downhill after that. Arrived very late as we travelled from the other end of the country and was " upgraded" to a freezing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Niamh O, Its a pity your didnt let us know of the issues you had at the time as we would have been happy to make up for them in some way. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

County Donegal, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night on Valentine's night. Room was average (and we were in a suite). We opted for the set Valentines menu to which we were both really disappointed. Went into Kudos bar afterwards to have an absolutely terrible man singing along with his guitar...luckily he ended at 12:05 but there was no music or any other entertainment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear kfood81, I apologise that you were not happy with your food and the bar entertainment. We would have been happy to replace any items that you were unhappy with. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarion Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay