We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel Sligo

Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    198
    129
    50
    35
See reviews for
194
177
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (620)
  • Mar-May only
    (189)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
Falcarragh, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We (5) stayed here in May and had a really lovely stay. Beautiful building. The staff at reception & bar are really friendly. Priced reasonably. We stayed in one bed studio / apartments and was perfect for our group (pity the kitchen area did not have a fridge). Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. Our room was quiet,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Sharon W, Thank you for your review and I am delighted you and you friends enjoyed their stay with ue. We hope to see you back again. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Our first night was a disaster due to a wedding reception where the music went on into the early hours of the morning. We complained about our disturbed night sleep and we were given a voucher for drinks at the bar. Our second evening was fine and undisturbed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear TFW-2008 Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologise for the disturbance you experienced on the first night but glad that this was sorted as soon as it was brought to our attention. We hope to see you back again. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manger. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A few pointers for the hotel staff:- 1. When you say you are going to ring us when our room is ready, then please do it. We gave up wandering around in the rain and found the room was ready. If you forget to do this, please at least apologise. 2. If you have a rule forcing all swimmers to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Simon H. Thank you for your review. I do apologise that you were not called when your room was ready and I have spoken with reception staff to ensure waiting guests get a priority. All of this information is on our website under the leisure centre page and is highlighted also in the lesiure centre. *Swimming hats are compulsory,... More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is great hotel for family break away if u just want to kick back and relax and do very little aprat from a bit of swimming in the hotel pool and some retail thearpy shopping in sligo town .then sit down in their fine dinning room for a love meal to end the evening

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Katebig40, Tank you for sharing your comments wth us and for your recommendations. We look forward to hearing from you again. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Belfast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Okay. So we stayed her for 2 nights on one of the discount website deals. the hotel is average. the rooms were pretty average, all a bit tired and could do with a bit of a spruce up. The bar didn't serve food on the Thursday evening instead everyone was encouraged to book into the restaurant and I suspect this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Jackand arthur, Thank you for your review and I take on board all you commnets. I am delighted that you would choose The Clarion for a return visit to Sligo. I am confident a future stay will restore your faith in us. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Cardiff
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was the old Sligo Asylum, but now functions as a quality hotel at an affordable price. Such a spacious accommodation you feel like relaxing as soon as you walk in through the front door. Be ready for a long hike if you are in one of the end rooms, but it is a well restored and decorated building. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Stevemorgan57, Thank you for your review and I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your business trip. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
30 hotel reviews
413 helpful votes 413 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Clarion Hotel in Sligo has been redeveloped from a huge Victorian hospital start in 1848. It has been cleverly adapted into a hotel with over 160 rooms and there is a lovely detached 'chapel' for weddings and conferences. We were upgraded to a junior suite and it was spacious, well equipped and clean. A mini-kitchen with sink, microwave and fridge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Eximious Traveller, Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here mid week and wasn't overally impressed with the hotel. Yeah it was nice but not by any means a 4*. The room was fairly standard and not overally big. The bed was hard and lumpy and it took me a while to get to sleep. Hardly any pressure in the shower and the bathroom could have done with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Michaelgal, Thank you for your feedback and its a pity we didnt know of your dissapointment during you stay so that we could address them. I do hope that we will see you again to give us the opportunity of restoring your faith in us. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Co galway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely hotel spacious rooms .we had a suite fab food dinner was lovely . Staff were friendly courteous zany first class 20 metre pool good gym lovely bar lovely grounds it even has a church . Would be a super weddin venue

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear cmurphy5790, Thank you for your review and recommendation. I am delighted you enjoyed the conference. Best Regards Sheila Sheila Gray General Manager More 

Rathfarnham, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room we stayed in was definitely not 4 stars since it showed many obvious signs that it was old and was not refurbished for a long time. There were stains on the floor, the furniture looked outdated and used, some corners at the walls were dirty and the wall paint peeled off in some corners. The beds were good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Juergen_bayer, Thank you for your review. The hotel is continually refurbishing and updating the decor, you seem to have got one of the older schemes but a larger room than booked. The Breakfast would be the usual for a four star and we have 3 types of bread plus croissants on the buffet. Our guest range in all ages,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay