We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland
Hotel amenities
BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jeremiah G Redlands, California
Add Photo

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    90
    137
    117
    54
    51
See reviews for
60
208
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (449)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is a bit out of town and dated. Also, whenever someone opened or closed their door, ours would slam (solved this by putting one of our suitcases up against it). Bed was comfortable, though shower head had two options--narrow stream that removes skin or wide stream that floods the bathroom. Breakfast options are also a tad limited. Had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

the hotel was suited for older. people felt disappointed with room found cigarette butt on floor in a non smoking room and a pin of a man skirt, on floor under bed found one shoe full of dust so its been there for a while, Had food in bar food was middle of the road for the price would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night for work, it is a nice hotel and at €70 as I say you get what you pay for. No breakfast was included in that price which is ok. The room was lovely looked like it was newly decorated, and very clean. I was going to eat in the bar but didn't like the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night with friends. We were lucky to get two modernised rooms on the first floor. Decor in our rooms was very nice and the bathrooms was very modern. I was a little cautious considering some of the reviews on here as my friend had booked it. The only two points as previously raised is the heat in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This would have had a perfect score if not for the over heating of the hotel. It's an absolutely beautiful hotel and in such a lovely town, but it was so uncomfortable to be in this hotel, let alone sleeping, we were exhausted. On a positive note, the staff and food was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Qiryat Bialik, Heifa, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the 3rd time I've stayed in this hotel. Though staying in a simpler room than the ones from my previous visits, I've enjoyed it nonetheless, particularly due to the utter charm and welcoming feeling the hotel provides right at the entrance, a beautifully decorated lobby with comfortable armchairs and a fireplace, providing you with that feeling of calm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every year we stay in the southern hotel we fall a little more in love with it, from its old worldy charm to warm and friendly welcome from the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. Nice leisure facilities and comfy bedrooms. Rooms can be too hot at times but on the laus side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 33bex33, Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback with fellow tripadvisor users, we are delighted you enjoy your stay with us, as a team we take pride in offering a friendly and efficient service in our beautiful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kindest regards Tara Henry More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had requested in advance a nice room as it was our wedding anniversary but we got a very old room facing the tracks to Sligo Train station! Very noisy! The front door of our room felt like it was opening every time other guests next to our room will open their doors! Channels on the TV were not tune in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Antxoilla, Thank you for offering your feedback, if you had informed us at the time that you were experiencing difficulties with your tv, we would have rectified immediately, we have had issues in the past were previous guests mistakenly untuned them. We are located beside the train and bus station which is extremely convenient for guests and the trains... More 

Coquiltam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An elegant old hotel from the days of travel by rail. Fortunately it has to meet the current standards of its Best Western branding. Our room was comfortable and clean. Hard to find a plug to recharge my laptop. The bathroom fixtures were old. The shower simply did not work. Had to have a tub bath. The halls and passage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oluf, Thank you for your feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed our location and the old world feel of the hotel. If you had contacted reception we would have investigated the shower for you, but in general we do not have any adverse feedback with regard to our showers. Our restaurant is accessed by both an elevator and... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

i stayed in this hotel last weekend found the staff very friendly check in was good they had the room ready the lady was very nice .good place s to eat around the bar food was very good and not a bad price on checkout the lady called emily was lovely and friendly the room was a bit small but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tazz02, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre, and you sampled some of our extensive bar menu which is served from 12pm each day. We look forward to greeting you again soon in the near future Kindest regards T. Henry More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay