We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Sligo hotels

BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
53%
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Sligo
A recent review
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    104
    76
    47
    43
See reviews for
41
158
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here two nights recently and was pleasantly surprised as I had read reviews which were not very good . I will definitely visit this hotel again. The breakfast and dinner was very good. The room was adequate and clean. The hotel have a large area near reception which is just fabulous for relaxing with very comfortable settees and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I don't enjoy writing a bad hotel review because it ends up reflecting badly on a great many hard-working people who were definitely NOT responsible for their hotel's failure. A classic example of this came last Friday night at the Best Western in Sligo. This was our last stop before heading home from a really wonderful break in Connemara. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DERRY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had read reviews on this hotel and was a little apprenensive about trip. However we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is not marble and glass but it has a very warm,comfortable ambience with warm fires in the expansive foyer area. At reception we were warmly greeted and as we were early our bags were left in our room while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TYRONE-7 Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre, we appreciate your kind comments as all our team of staff take pride in providing our guests with an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Kindest regards T.Henry More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The bed was very uncomfortable and the noise was unbearable. Stayed here for two nights on business so needed rest for meetings in the morning but didn't get any rest at all. Loud parties and music outside and people talking extremely loud outside our door at 5am. Had ear plugs in for second night and still woke with the noise.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cungfu We are very concerned to read your review and we are very sorry that your stay was so disappointing. I am surprised that you found the bed uncomfortable, and are looking into this matter. As the reviews are anonymous, we have no way of contacting you to discuss this further. If you would like to have an opportunity... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Avoid the rooms beside the lift , ideally it should be a broom cupboard, no running hot water in the shower in morning, is the reason I will not be back. Over priced for the quality. Food was excellent in the bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AishlingMcAteer, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We did have problems with the water pressure on one day, due to our renovations on the first floor and we apoligise for this, but at no time was the... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights recently at this hotel which is conveniently situated within easy walking distance of the centre of Sligo. It is a large, imposing building, with an impressive entrance hall complete with marble fire places, open fires and comfortable sofas.The foyer leads on to an extensive lounge, again furnished with well grouped sofas and easy chairs. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cedor, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate you kind feedback. We are currently looking into the heating and adjusting the thermostats in the rooms over the leisure centre. We hope you got the incident your experienced at Drumcliffe resolved, as this is not a true reflection of Sligo, Sligo is... More

Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Another quaint hotel on our coach tour of Ireland. The decor and the public sittings are delightful. The staff are all friendly and courteous. A unique check-in experience to get your key and the TV controller. The three course dinner was excellent: mushroom vol-au-vent, roast turkey, apple pie. The rooms are large and the water hot. Clean and comfy is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oldngrey Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate you kind feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kindest regards T Henry More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay was o.k. , food was to standard but the staff operating the leisure centre were very rude and inconaiderate, didnt refill the water or cleaning agent and one particular member of staff( a middle aged woman) made me feel very unwelcome with dirty looks , wont be staying again due to management being very unwelcoming !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at this hotel. We had what seemed like a great Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal deal. The first room we were given was smelly. The second room was quite good. We were given dirty glasses at the bar and the meal was very poor. The staff are generally nice but not nice enough to compensate for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craic94 Thank you for your feedback, we have addressed the issues and have set procedures in place to rectify the points you have outlined Once again thank you for your feedback Kindest regards T.Henry More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a groupon deal for our wedding anniversary and I reallly enjoyed getting away. Very quick book in with very polite staff all round. The dinner was included and I have to say it was yummy, it came out piping hot as my hubby loves. I had the vegetarian option and it was the same. The breakfast the next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear popeye1975 Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us, we are currently renovating a number of our bedrooms including the bathrooms. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future Kindest regards T.Henry More

Been to BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel
Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre offer a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.