We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Sligo hotels

BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel to your Saves list
54%
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Sligo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Kathy071 Portarlington, Co. Laois
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    118
    91
    50
    44
See reviews for
48
178
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (383)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Portarlington, Co. Laois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff were very friendly, the room was ok (117) looked out onto a roof....My biggest complaint was that there was only enough room between the end of the bed & the wall to get the case through. As a result my husband was concentrating so much that he smashed his head off the corner of the T.V on the wall.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night, The staff were friendly, My room was spacious, clean and my bed was a very comfortable, Breakfast was included and I decided to eat at the restaurant inside the Hotel which was not badly priced. I would stay here again !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glenn Y, Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest regards T. Henry More

Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed recently for a weekend i do not understand some of the other reviews people are so fussy you get what you pay for i could not fault the hotel the food was very good both breakfast and dinner the staff were friendly and helpful our room was a good size with one of the most comfy beds ive ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stephen19689, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with fellow trip advisor readers. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future Kindest regards T. Henry More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on a business trip during the week. €70 for single room. No breakfast. Receptionist was very nice. Room was old. Ordered food and it came out cold except for the potatoes. Desert was a triple chocolate cake and had a consistency that suggests that it was there for a few days. I was woken at 5:10 am by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Review1234567, Thank you for your review, we are sorry you didnt enjoy your meal with us and I have passed your feedback onto our head chef. We are sorry you were disturbed by a delivery truck, if you had rang reception we would have changed your room or asked the delivery service to turn off their engine We would... More

Carlow, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights in early September. It is an impressive looking building with lots of free parking. There are steps up to the main door, but an entrance without steps exists next to the bus station. This was locked when I tried it. The lobby area has lots of comfortable seating. The bar/ lounge is large and pleasant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wearb, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, on receiving your feedback on departure the issues with the toilet and extractor fan were dealt with immediately. I have passed your comments onto our restaurant manager, as your request for a window seat at breakfast should have been accommodated if at all possible Thank you once again... More

Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If only the lady in the bar was running the hotel! She was very nice but the food you could tell was store bought.The room 421, called fourth floor oddly, was hot and stuffy. The window wouldn't open properly. When it was open there was the awful smell of cigarette smoke. The beds were uncomfortable and the pull out sofa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yasmin W, We are sorry you didnt enjoy your stay at the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre, we are a non smoking hotel and we have a number of signs both in our public areas and the bedrooms stating same. On occasion some guests choice to ignore these signs and we have a fine policy in... More

Newcastle, NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was nice and stood out on the road frontage. Great parking.. Lots of stairs at impressive front of hotel, which just gives you a workout. Hotel very old fashioned but that's not a bad thing. Rooms very colourful, old fashioned again with purple wall paper. Very good distance to main shopping centres and all within walking distance of pubs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JillNewcastle_NSW, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and we are delighted you like the character of the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre Come visit us again when you are back in the part of the world Kindest regards T. Henry More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This old home is quirky, clean, has great staff and is a bit like the tardis. Our room was smallish with a soft bed which doesn't suite us at all but great pillows did help. We overlooked a street with a bright light that shone late into the night outside our room. Dinner was delicious, breakfast the usual! Wifi downstairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane K, Thank you for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, your stay coincided with Fleadh Cheoil which is a major event in the Irish Festival calendar which Sligo was privilaged to host this year and are lucky enough to do it all again next year. Hopefully you might make it back to Sligo... More

Kildare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is situated beside both Sligo railway station and Sligo bus station and teherfore if you are travelling without your own transport it is ideal. The hotel itself is rather dated by modern standards but is both clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly. The bedrooms are quite large but the decor is very dark and hence make the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hopperheadKildare, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you found our location ideal for those using public transport. We try and keep our decor in keeping with the character of the hotel as it was originally a Southern Railway Hotel We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kindest regards T. Henry More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful hotel. staff very friendly. Good food. Nice and central. Very clean. Rooms nice and spacious. Nice view of the town. Lovely couches in lounge area to relax. Beautiful hotel. staff very friendly. Good food. Nice and central. Very clean. Rooms nice and spacious. Nice view of the town. Lovely couches in lounge area to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael B, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future Kindest regards T. Henry More

Do you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby