We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    170
    56
    33
    25
See reviews for
239
244
20
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (821)
  • Mar-May only
    (214)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (247)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (170)
All months
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed in the hotel with a small group of friends on Saturday night. It was great, easy to find and walking distance into the town.We were able to use the pool -remember to bring your swim caps! Saturday night we didn't leave the hotel- lively bar, food was fantastic and the gentleman singing was great- he definitely had everyone up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the hotel for food todaky with a friend. Hoped to get dinner in the restaurant but unfortunately it closed at 3 (we arrived at 3.30) so we settled for bar food. We were placed into a dingy corner with a filthy table - which was then quickly wiped by the waiter- and given menus. 20 minutes passed before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Annie9326 I was very sorry to read your recent review, however, I realise that without knowing our downfalls we cannot strive to improve. Our Seated & Served Sunday lunch is on from 12.30-3pm every Sunday. Bar food is served on a Sunday from 2.30pm to 9pm. I am sorry that you did not like where you were seated. The... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My colleagues and I came to celebrate our dear ex colleague's wedding in this well furnished hotel.It feels like you're in Alice in wonderland.Staff is well organised and the food is very tasty..The layout of the hotel is amazingly well..and most of all friendly and happy staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pebbles2427 Thank you so much for your recent review, we are delighted you loved our quirky decor. I will certainly pass on you lovely comments to all the staff and management. Kind regards Sharon McMahon Sales & Marketing More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the reasons I say ryanair of hotels is it looks ok, the staff are fine and it serves a purpose, the main reason I say this is the hidden charges for basic things you expect from hotels. I checked in today at 3, got settled and checked the corridor for an ice machine(common facility in a hotel) no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pmatty1986 I am sorry to read your recent review and your comments. Our facilities and any extras are clearly stated on our website for any potential guest to read before arrival. We are not required to provide bathrobes and slippers for guests and I am certain that this is not the norm in most 4 Star Hotels, not just... More 

dublin,ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this wonderful hotel over the Easter 2015 Hotel was very busy over this holiday weekend but friendly experienced staff handled it all in a calm and professional manner, hotel room was bright and clean and had a large bathroom with low access shower tray ideal for anyone with any physical mobility problems The hotel has one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took our three daughters to stay for two nights over the Easter holidays. We had a brilliant time.Our room was spacious, clean and the decor was lovely.All the staff were really friendly and helpful.The food was delicious and the staff were really efficient and made the children feel welcome.Loved the hotel and the kids club was super.Our oldest two daughters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I had a brilliant weekend in the Hillgrove Hotel.Monaghan.From the time we entered the hotel we were met by kind and courteous staff during our stay.Food excellent Outdoor hot tub was excellent.I was at the hotel just before Xmas with a group of women for Murder Mystery Theme 13 of us in total and everyone of them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I were lucky to stay in the Hillgrove for the second time over the Easter Break. From my initial contact with the hotel and all through our stay, the staff were a pleasure to deal with. Travelling with young children is never easy but the Hillgrove made it easy. My 6 yr old loved the Kids Club... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was there with my girlfriend and my friends for a night , i thought it was ok but im not sure i would be able to stay there for a week . The Room was nice and very clean The wi-fi was .... ok Service very good (breakfast was a bit slow , queued for a good 10 min)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review

Dear EmyDavid2000 Many thanks for your recent review. Thank you also for your lovely comments about the bedrooms and hotel atmosphere. I am sorry service was a bit slow for breakfast. It’s really difficult when all our guests try and leave eating until close to finish time. There is plenty to do in the hotel for a longer break as... More 

Lurgan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights last week with my family! Loved it! Cannot fault the place at all. Very well run - lots of activities for the kids ( 2 younger brothers with us). Staff were extremely helpful, and nothing was too much bother. Special mention to Keely(I think that's what her name was) She went out of her way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question