We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Westport hotels

Clew Bay Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   James Street, Westport, Ireland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer 2BB & 1 dinner
Save Saved
You added Clew Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Clew Bay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Westport
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
inez f Belfast, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (446)
  • Photos (54)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (66)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    135
    28
    22
    11
See reviews for
71
184
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I arrived at the clew bay hotel for 3 nights stay on the 12 th July. On arrival the staff at reception couldn't do enough for us. Our room was great and overlooked the river. The breakfast was awesome ( cooked breakfast done per order not buffet great ) .We had an evening meal in maddens bistro... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

my mother and myself enjoyed a break in the clew bay hotel last week,we also enjoyed the swimming pool which is beside the hotel and while at the hotel we could use it, the staff were very kind and we enjoyed having a chat,we look forward to having a break later on in the year, thank you for your kindness.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just back from an over night stay at this hotel. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Our bikes were accommodated as we were cycling the Greenway today as was a late checkout. The late checkout was very important, as we needed showers after the fabulous cycle. We were impressed and grateful that the hotel staff were so accommodating. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patricia F, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We were pleased to serve you, and to give you the option of the late check-out so you could fully enjoy our wonderful Greenway by bicycle. We were sorry that your sleep was disturbed, but glad that we quietened down... More

Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of us friends stayed in Clewbay Hotel for a special reunion. From the minute we arrived the staff were so friendly. This is a smallish Hotel in the middle of the town in a great location. The beds were very comfortable and the food in Maddens Restaurant which is part of the hotel is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MMRIreland, Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed all parts of the hotel, and had a fun yet relaxing stay. We are well renowned for the quality of our hotel food and dining offer in Madden's Bistro. Thank you for the endorsement! We... More

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a few days at Clew Bay Hotel, at the beginning of July, the hotel is smart without being over the top' comfortable surroundings, good staff, nice room for breakfast and a very good adjoining bistro. Also nice to have the opportunity to view the artwork in the reception area. This is our second stay at this hotel, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne H, Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you had an enjoyable mini-break on this your second visit to us, and we do hope you will come back for more third time around! Our hotel art gallery is our distinctive feature: we show different art... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay at The Clew Bay hotel in July, the Hotel rooms were modern, Comfy beds, very clean, great showers and bright rooms, The staff were all so nice and accommodating and I found them quite helpful. The area is perfect for a Westport stay you are in the think of everything, The food at the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AmieM, Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, especially our gorgeous new cocktail menu! We look forward to having you join us again in the near future for your next stay at the Clew Bay Hotel. With very best... More

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Clew Bay for the weekend of the Westport Festival, so the town and the hotel were busy. The hotel was exactly what you would expect, its a good clean hotel, rooms were very nice. Had a delay at breakfast, but I know that was very busy at the last minute. However, I do believe that its when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jay1312014, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We always seek to try our best at making our guests feel comfortable in their stay with us: we were glad to be of assistance to you. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel to others, and we do look forward to you... More

Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as our based for our cycling trip on the Great Western Greenway, and for our tour around Westport. The hotel is convenient, just down the block from the town square, so close to the action but not right on top of it. The front desk staff is helpful and warm; they showed us all the places we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JSD57, Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful town, and your cycling on the Great Western Greenway. We appreciate your comments about your room, your breakfast, and our highly efficient, yet very friendly staff team. We always encourage guests to feedback to their server... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel sounded great and is in a good central location to the town. I went to Clew Bay in early July, and was placed in a family room that had one small window overlooking the roof, meaning it was dark and not a pleasant sight. I was then moved to another room, but could hear maintainence work all day above... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We were sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience with us, and that we were not able to resolve any of your issues during your stay. We would encourage you to ring our hotel on 098 28088, and to speak to our... More

uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had no idea where to stay when we visited Westport at the end of June. A relative who lives in Canada recommended Clew Bay - and I'm glad he did. I would agree with some of the other comments about a bit of noise but we stayed on a Sunday evening and it was okay. We had spent the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Molly082, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We were pleased to read that your Canadian friend recommended our hotel to you. Unfortunately we were sorry to read that noise disturbed your sleep..we always encourage all guests to contact reception during their stay should they have any queries...we are always... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clew Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: James Street, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport #2 Business Hotel in Westport #8 Romantic Hotel in Westport #9 Family Hotel in Westport
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer