We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Castlebar hotels

Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castlebar, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites to your Saves list
Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Castlebar
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
John M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (485)
  • Photos (126)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (107)
  • More
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    173
    74
    46
    32
See reviews for
187
150
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The good: bar food is nice but we were waiting 45mins to get the food!staff are fantastic in general, very nice and accommodating! Special mention of the kids club and crèche facility, the girls in there are fantastic!!it was great to drop the kids in there when we wanted a couple of hours to ourselves for dinner! The Bad: the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful setting with striking facade, but badly let down by worn and tasteless interior. The breakfast was excellent and staff friendly, however, dinner badly presented and under-flavoured. The leisure centre had good facilities although the jacuzzi was broken with no sense any repair was intended! Very old TV in bedroom, crumbling tiles and bizarrely placed mirror on the bedroom window?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am just back from a one night stay here with my mum and two children. We had a great time. Lots of things to keep the children entertained - crazy golf, astro turf, games room, swimming pool, kids club, disco in the evening, great outdoor space etc. All the staff from reception, housekeeping, bar, restaurant, dj were so pleasant,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked in for two nights for a family break in order to climb Croagh Patrick and cycle the Greenway. The base at Breaffy could not have been better. Great breakfast in the hotel and then an hour in the pool before we set out on our trips. 10 to 15 minute drive into Westport. Had a thoroughly enjoyable three days.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinlough, Leitrim, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in Breaffy House Hotel & Spa just recently as part of a little weekend getaway. We were greeted by very friendly staff at the beautiful castle-esque hotel and were more than happy with our huge double room which you could fit another bed in and still not be cramped! The rooms and the hotel itself is very well kept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel and I must say it was the most disappointing break away we have had with the kids. We stayed at the hotel 2 years ago on a similar break which we enjoyed very much, so we decided we would return. We were very happy with the family room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Walshi 2014, Firstly I would like to say that I appreciate your review and that I value all feedback I receive. Secondly I am deeply apologetic to hear you had a negative experience during your stay both with delays in the restaurant and noise from other rooms. As this is our peak time unfortunately we do anticipate delays at... More

Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We wanted a two night break away and this hotel was a convenient drive for us. This hotel has good aspects and a lot on offer for families but I feel this hotel could be better with a few small changes. The rooms are clean and spacious although the bed a little on the small side. Breakfast could be improved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Eimer32, I would like to thank you for taking the time out to give us your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities here at the Resort and appreciated the beautiful surroundings which we are very proud of. Here at Breaffy House Resort we appreciate all feedback from our guests that allows us to make the necessary... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights dbb and was totally let down by the food, I had ordered the lamb shank which came at best Luke warm on out side and chilled on the inside, this to me is totally unexceptable and dangerous as food standards goes, and if this wasn't bad enough I then saw a member of staff watering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites, responded to this review

Dear 664 Bob, Thank you for taking the time out to write this review. I am deeply apologetic that you had such a negative experience in our restaurant. Let me assure you I will be following your complaint up accordingly. With regard to our orange juice dispenser our restaurant staff needs to add water to this mixture as it is... More

Galway
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sticky tables in reception area along with sticky bar area. Outdated decor. Bad food at dinner... The tart was hard, the lamb was greasy and fatty, the veg was mushy and tasteless, and the dessert was dry. At breakfast the potatoes were mealy, eggs terrible, sausage was dry, coffee was poor. Poor service at reception, very poor, in fact they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kycatkentucky, I would like to say that I appreciate all of your feedback. Here at Breaffy House Resort my team and I strive to ensure our guests have a positive and enjoyable experience and because of this I am saddened to hear you did not experience this during your stay. I have taken all your points on board and... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in the Breaffy house hotel on our way back from Achill in June. The hotel is situated off the main road on fine grounds with walks, football pitch (astro), japanese garden and mini golf so there is lots to do for the kids. The swimming pool was good and not too packed when we were there. This hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Brian S, I am thrilled to hear you had a pleasant stay during your time in Breaffy House Resort and had a chance to explore our facilities. Many thanks for your kinds words about our staff, they work hard and it is always nice for them to know their hard work goes unnoticed. We hope to see you back... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites

Address: Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Breaffy House Resort, Spa and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
Breaffy Hotel Castlebar
Breaffy Hotel House

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country Hotel housed in imposing country mansion, surrounded by 100 parkland acres. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer