We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Limerick City Hotel

Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Limerick City Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Limerick City Hotel
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    45
    43
    16
    11
See reviews for
21
52
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
87 hotel reviews
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First off parking –you park in the high-rise just opposite the hotel, have your ticket validated on leaving and you pay €7.50 when you pick up your car after an overnight stay. There is free WiFi in this hotel but we didn’t try it out. Check in was a bit messy, with confusion over an error by the hotel in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm not sure where to start, I'm struggling to find a single positive. I have never before left a hotel feeling like I needed to go straight home and wash all my clothes and belongings for fear they were contaminated from the room I had just stayed in. The room was in a word, filthy. The carpets were stained, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susand 9433, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The Hotel is in the middle of a refurbishment investment and admittedly some of our rooms are still in need of updating. Obviously we are concerned when guests are unhappy and we appreciate it when they complain directly to the Front Desk so as the issues can... More 

Danville, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in dire need of an update. The TV did not work and the walls were a bit thin. The staff was great and the view from or room was spectacular. Close to the castle and an easy walk to most attractions in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rafael P, Thank you for your review and your comments. We value all our guests comments, both positive and negative. We are investing in modernising the Hotel, but have already invested in great staff which you kindly commented on. Hope you enjoyed your stay in the City of Limerick. Kind regards, Anthony Hutchins Guest Relations Manager More 

Henderson, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in Limerick early one morning and even though our rooms were not ready they found us ones that were. It was great to get some sleep before heading out to explore. We stayed in the old section which was still very nice, I can only guess what the renovated rooms look like! We also had a beautiful view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shannon L, Thank you for posting a review on this website. Delighted we were able to facilitate you with an early check-in. It is always the aim of our staff to make every guests stay as pleasurable as possible. When you return please ask for one of our Premier Rooms...I don't think you will be disappointed. Look forward to... More 

saint augustine
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on an independent prepaid package; this was our first stop. It was dark, gloomy and in a rough looking spot. Admittedly, we were tired and probably a little too critical. In retrospect though, it was the least desirable of the 5 hotels we stayed in. The staff was very very nice, and the breakfast delicious. We approached from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olhao, Portugal
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Passing through on a cold wet night, looking for a central affordable hotel near a parking. Coming from the parking garage we went through a strange backdoor. Under repairs and it well needs it. Staff was friendly and the room was OK. The years haven't been kind to the place, but even so the stay was pretty much in line... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joao L Unfortunately the Limerick weather was unkind to you and your family. However, I trust that your stay with us was enjoyable and as you noticed the new Owners are modernising the Hotel and we now have Premier Executive Rooms available. Another feature now is the open-air dining area attached to McGettigans Bar. Kind regards, Anthony Hutchins Guest... More 

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in last minute absolutely no problem, very helpful and friendly team, rooms were spacious and very clean, reasonably priced. The hotel is under refurbishment at present and this did not have any affect on our stay. Good atmosphere in the bar. Tea and coffee facilities in room, shop across the road for everything you may have forgot. Great location,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear heidim, Thank you for your positive comments. It is always our aim to provide well-priced accommodation without effecting quality or standards. The Management and Staff are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction during your stay.Hopefully, as you mention in your review you would stay with us again, therefore we look forward to welcoming you back in the near... More 

Limerick
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

This hotel is in the middle of refurbishment and they state this very clearly throughout the hotel. There is a small bit of disruption and the old decor isn't pleasant but overall we had a very enjoyable stay here. Our room still in the old decor was spotless and spacious. Plenty of good quality towels and basic toiletries, what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EHMKm, we appreciate the review of your recent stay at our Hotel. We are delighted that you appear delighted with the service and standards in both the hotel and McGettigans Bar. As you mentioned, the first phase of refurbishing the bedrooms is almost complete. Our New Premium rooms are available to be reserved from 21st April. Great offers can... More 

Galway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I would like to thank the staff at Limerick City hotel both on reception and in the restaurant. I found all the staff we dealt with very helpful and the fact we got a bargain always a bonus. Room was clean and it was in a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily C sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review. The Management and Staff are delighted that you were impressed by the service you received whilst staying here. We are very fortunate to have a good team who do their utmost to provide each customer with good service and hospitality.Our location beside the River Shannon and a... More 

Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The room was clean and well worth the stay. I really enjoyed the view that I had of the river. Unfortunately the bath was a little out dated but hopefully you won't spend all of your time there. I did enjoy the breakfast spread that was available in the morning and the bar was definitely worth the while of having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MichaelC, Thank you for your very kind comments. A number of our rooms do have wonderful views of the River Shannon and King Johns Castle. We are delighted that you were impressed with our buffet breakfast and enjoyed McGettigans Bar. Should you return to Limerick, it would give us great pleasure to welcome you again. Kind regards, Anthony Hutchins... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question