We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

#13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
839mari Limerick, Ireland
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    170
    94
    35
    16
See reviews for
64
207
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (455)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we stayed for two nights midweek as we had business in Kilkenny .Over all it is ok - basic rooms . As we checked in after 8 pm we were asked have we eaten as the restaurant just closed. Gentleman who check us in was very pleasant. We were rather disappointed with the cleanliness of our room (rm165).I have pulled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review

Thank you for your genuine feedback. I have just had a meeting with my accommodation team to discuss the content of your feedback. I do apologise for the lack of attention to detail during your stay but I can assure you that the points raise are all been addressed today. We value genuine feedback and depend on the honesty of... More 

Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel offered great value for money. Room was big and spacious. very clean surroundings, staff were helpful and friendly. Restaurant had a good choice for dinner and the breakfast was very tasty. the staff were good catering for coeliacs. the only negative was the comfort of the pillows! an enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review

Thank you for your genuine feed back it is very much appreciated. We do value the feedback from genuine customers who actually stay and experience what we have to offer. It is very difficult for someone to decide upon the genuine feedback and the feedback that is fabricated. Thank you for your valued business and the Team at Aspect Hotel... More 

County Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is quite a distance from city centre, not the easiest place to find either. Room facilities reasonable, clean, well appointed. Breakfast was disappointing, service at breakfast was poor. Overall, OK.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you found the service at breakfast to be poor given that it is a self service breakfast but if we could find out what aspects fell down it would be great. Thanking you for your valued business. Clement... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would definitely stay again, the hotel room was comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a good selection for breakfast of hot and cold food, and if I was to criticise anything the baked beans were very sweet and the black pudding wasn't very tasty (and I normally really like black pudding). If I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review

Thank you for your genuine feedback. I am sorry that you found our beans to be sweet but we do buy them in and I can assure you we do not add sugar to them. We use Bachelors Beans which are one of the markets leading brands. Delighted to read that you will be happy to return again in the... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not very group friendly as they make u pay a big deposit and full price of the rooms on arrival and no residents bar, and not as close to the city as they make out so wouldn't bother staying there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review

Thank you for your genuine feedback and I am sorry that you don't like the Hotel policies but we do have them in place for very good reasons. We do charge a group security deposit this is to ensure that your group does not disturb other hotel users during your stay at the Hotel. This deposit is a great way... More 

Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night at what was described as"the last room we have" Very basic.Heating system out of date making a lot of funny noises. Shower a bit smelly. Breakfast was basic but varied.Location by shopping center 2 km out of town witch in Kilkenny at Saturday evening was a big benefit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and as I mentioned earlier genuine feedback is welcome. Kind regards, Clement Gleeson General Manager More 

Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is about one mile from Kilkenny Castle. It has a restaurant and a bar, Internet, public use computer and printer. It reminded me on Rada chain. We had a double room with old soft matrasses and uncomfortable pillows . The carpet was old and hall way had a cigarette smell. Bathrooms were clean but had no toiletries except... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback. I am surprised to read that you found the mattress to be of poor quality as we use a King Koil Mattress which are market leaders, we have checked all the beds again and we can't identify the mattress as we do carry spare stock and it could be replaced immediately. Delighted to read... More 

Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in the aspect hotel and booked a superior room, there was nothing superior about the room. I was left feeling very disappointed. I don't get away for the night often and I was looking forward to it. The bed was the main issue. It was dipped in the middle and I couldn't sleep properly in it as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do value genuine feedback. I am surprised had someone stayed and had the experience you describe why you mentioned nothing whilst at the Hotel! As I said we do value genuine reviews and not those posted by other Hotels in the area who may be upset at the level of business that we actually... More 

Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited here on a National holidays trip. the rooms were large (unlike the towels!) and the restaurant very tidy. Food could be a little more adventurous, chicken cooked 3 ways over 3 nights and there are other veg that are cheap other than carrots and turnip, but then we hadn't paid very much for the whole holiday. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we do apologise for the lack of variety of food during your stay. This is something that we do not do however a number of the suppliers decided to make a long weekend of Easter and took Good Friday as a Bank Holiday and failed to make deliveries. As a result of this... More 

Rock Hill, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the first stop on our tour of Ireland and overall it was a good experience. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the location is fine if you have a car for the short drive into town (there is a nice public lot right in the middle of everything). I loved Kilkenny and wish we had spent more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspect_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and your feedback. Yes washcloths are not an item that is used in general in Irish Hotels any longer, they used to be used years ago but since then the Hotels governing body have removed them from hotel requirements. Glad to read that you found the staff to be excellent and that you found the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question